• Network: FX , FXX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 1, 2011
    100
    Stuffed with absurd situations and piles of bad taste, Wilfred is the strangest new show on TV. And the funniest.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 21, 2011
    100
    Wilfred works on many levels, something that may not become apparent until after you stop laughing.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 23, 2011
    83
    It fits the channel's larger brand (in both comedy and drama) about men existing on the edges of acceptable human behavior.
  4. Some viewers will delight in the edgy humor, while others undoubtedly will want to slap an extra-tight muzzle on Wilfred.
  5. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 22, 2011
    83
    Fair warning, dear reader: Wilfred is intensely vulgar, and only guys around the age of 28 whose ears, and sensibilities, are covered with scar tissue will find nothing offensive. Otherwise, it's very funny.
  6. Reviewed by: Mikey O'Connell
    Jun 24, 2011
    80
    It's up in the air as to how Wilfred will be perceived by viewers. The first three episodes are fantastic, but proudly off-color, like most of FX's comedy line-up.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jun 23, 2011
    80
    By not belaboring the point--Ryan is not crazy, there is nothing supernatural afoot--the show stays fresh, the gimmick fades. The humor is frequently scatological or sexual, but a mitigating sweetness enfolds it all.
  8. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jun 23, 2011
    80
    There's nothing at all subtle about the gloriously absurdist Wilfred.
  9. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 22, 2011
    80
    While all the philosophical, existential and surprisingly intimate moments of their friendship are the wonderfully surprising backbone to Wilfred, the hook is the absurdist situations and brilliant humor.
  10. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 22, 2011
    75
    Luckily, the last thing many of us need in summer is another show that demands our weekly attention. Entertainment we can dip in and out of will do. And if that's what you want, Wilfred is a good dog indeed.
  11. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 22, 2011
    75
    Wood's puppy-dog eyes and Gann's crazy dog persona--or is that dogsona?--are a few things that make Wilfred watchable, in an existential-Johnny Depp-meets-"Monty Python" kind of way, that is.
  12. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jun 27, 2011
    70
    It borrows indiscriminately from hazy magic realism, sketch-show Dada, and underground-comics allegory according to alternating whim. If you don't give a hoot about such logistical issues--and if you're willing to forgive the half-hearted crudity that fills the space between good crude jokes and the bizarro non-jokes-then you have come to the right place.
  13. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Jun 23, 2011
    70
    It's crude and hilarious and clearly aimed at a young male audience.
  14. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 23, 2011
    70
    It seems like the show will basically be a weekly dose of two-steps-forward-one-step-back for Ryan with Wilfred as his teacher/tormentor. Wilfred certainly has moments of high (and low) comedy but it's also hard to imagine the premise won't get stale pretty fast.
  15. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jun 23, 2011
    70
    I've now seen three episodes of Wilfred, however, and I think this bizarre, dark yet oddly good-hearted series has legs. Four of them, at least.
  16. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 22, 2011
    70
    The show has a nice sense of innocence, thanks to Wood's gentle performance and the theme of personal transformation; but it is also filled with uneven sexual and scatological jokes, delivered with a dog-like lack of modesty, so viewer be warned. For some, that level of humor is a deal breaker.
  17. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jun 22, 2011
    70
    Wilfred is still a work in progress; in the early stages, the relationship between the dog and the man feels a little claustrophobic, but as the episodes progress, Ryan's world begins to expand a bit, which is a good thing.
  18. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 22, 2011
    67
    In the end, all of this may amount to little more than a one-trick dog and pony show. But Gann can be irresistibly gross at times while Wood is good at being hapless. Together they sometimes make quite a comedy team. Almost as good as Turner & Hooch.
  19. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Jun 22, 2011
    63
    While squirrel-eating jokes are all well and good for now, if Wilfred is going to make it, Wood and Gann will have to develop some real chemistry and comic rhythm, especially if the show's writers continue to be so reliant on the inherent novelty of their premise.
  20. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 23, 2011
    50
    By the end of the third episode, I was tired of all the sodomy jokes. Wood is an appealing comedic lead, but he's working off scraps. Be charitable and chalk up Gann's appeal to cultural differences.
  21. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 23, 2011
    40
    While Wilfred will doubtless find cultish admirers, after previewing three episodes, the size of its pack should be limited.
  22. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 23, 2011
    40
    So it may develop a cult following, and whether it does or not, FX deserves continuing credit for trying different approaches to traditional TV shows. Too often, though, Wilfred makes us work a little too hard for the payout.
  23. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jun 22, 2011
    40
    Wilfred tries for a coarse sophistication that locates it somewhere between HBO's winsome "Flight of the Conchords" and FX's brutally honest "Louie" (which begins its second season on Thursday night). But it ends up muffled and not very funny.
  24. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 23, 2011
    30
    Wilfred would appear to be crafted from a can't-miss, indie-hipster aesthetic, which may be part of the problem: The show is cool to the point of being cold. The bark is all snark. It doesn't work.
  25. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 17, 2011
    25
    The show is The Odd Couple redefined by psychosis and whimsy. I'm not wagging my tail. [27 Jun 2011, p.46]
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 45
  2. Negative: 7 out of 45
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Funniest show I've seen in years. It was almost hard to believe I was watching American television. It's bizarre, sharply written and insanely funny. Almost died at the closing credits scene with the teddy bear. Probably helps that the Oz actor playing the "dog" played the same role on Australian TV. Full Review »
  2. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. A very interesting show. I love the fact that everyone sees Wilfred as a dog, while Ryan (Elijah Wood) sees him as a person in a dog suit. It is a little weird, but I will definitely have this be a show that I will try to tune into every week. Full Review »
  3. Aug 27, 2011
    2
    I didn't find it funny, nor did I enjoy it. I can't even remember what it's about, to be fair. I was more annoyed by Wood's performance to get the jokes. Full Review »