• Network: FX , FXX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 26, 2012
    75
    The second season is to explore Ryan's character and the vulnerabilities that enable him to see Wilfred as a biped.
  2. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Aug 27, 2012
    67
    Wilfred, the vulgarian talking dog, [is] beginning to feel like the same lame joke repeated ad nauseam.
  3. 50
    Wilfred is much more pleasant and consistently enjoyable than Falling Skies, but that might be because the stakes are much lower.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Jun 28, 2012
    50
    The strain that comes with continuing to care about Ryan's sad-sack existence, one that's a direct result of his own insecurities and poor decisions, vastly outweighs the amusement packed away within the incidental laughs the series intermittently provides.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jun 21, 2012
    40
    On paper, it all appears to be functional. In reality, I find myself uninterested in Ryan's minuscule problems and Wilfred's repeated attempts to hector or nag Ryan into taking more chances with his narrow little life.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    I think most people watch this expecting comedy, and you do get comedy but there is also a dark side to this show that the comedy tends toI think most people watch this expecting comedy, and you do get comedy but there is also a dark side to this show that the comedy tends to make you forget until the question of "What is Wilfred?" is brought up. I think this is a great show and one of the more under rated ones at that. Full Review »
  2. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    The season opener is an edgy, weird ride that breaks hard from season 2 but then it goes back to some of the formula of season 1, albeitThe season opener is an edgy, weird ride that breaks hard from season 2 but then it goes back to some of the formula of season 1, albeit always peppered with some true laugh-out-louds. The dance recital of episode 7 is one of the friggin cutest things I've ever seen on TV. And this show does things we've never seen on TV before, almost every episode. The story arcs are similar from one episode to another but so what, that holds true for lots of great shows (Seinfeld, anyone). There is so much that is hilarious and original about this show and critics have it wrong. Full Review »
  3. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Wilfred takes the cake in comedy and adventure. Even though it has it's bad moments which puts me off sometimes, it still delivers the neededWilfred takes the cake in comedy and adventure. Even though it has it's bad moments which puts me off sometimes, it still delivers the needed amount of good writing and nice detail. Full Review »