• Network: FX , FXX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    The season opener is an edgy, weird ride that breaks hard from season 2 but then it goes back to some of the formula of season 1, albeit always peppered with some true laugh-out-louds. The dance recital of episode 7 is one of the friggin cutest things I've ever seen on TV. And this show does things we've never seen on TV before, almost every episode. The story arcs are similar from one episode to another but so what, that holds true for lots of great shows (Seinfeld, anyone). There is so much that is hilarious and original about this show and critics have it wrong. Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    I think most people watch this expecting comedy, and you do get comedy but there is also a dark side to this show that the comedy tends to make you forget until the question of "What is Wilfred?" is brought up. I think this is a great show and one of the more under rated ones at that.
  3. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Wilfred takes the cake in comedy and adventure. Even though it has it's bad moments which puts me off sometimes, it still delivers the needed amount of good writing and nice detail.
  4. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    I missed season 1 (but I'm planning on watching it ASAP) and the beginning of this season so I can't tell you if it's better or worse then the last season, or if this season has been good from the start. But what I can tell you is that it's a hilarious and unique show that's worthy of your time. I look forward to every episode, and enjoy seeing Elijah Wood (one of my personal favorite actors) on the show. It's hilarious, unique, downright weird, and completely enjoyable. Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    This show is my favorite comedy on FX. It has been a great show since the first season and continues to be super funny and I am not over exaggerating. In this season Elijah Woods' character Ryan is starting to find out more of who he is by taking in Wilfred's shenanigans and applying it to what he should be doing in his outside life aside from Wilfred. Vulgar, Hilarious, and Heartfelt are what I think of when I watch this show. Buy this show on DVD it is an awesome show even if the critics don't think so. Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Aug 27, 2012
    67
    Wilfred, the vulgarian talking dog, [is] beginning to feel like the same lame joke repeated ad nauseam.
  2. 50
    Wilfred is much more pleasant and consistently enjoyable than Falling Skies, but that might be because the stakes are much lower.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Jun 28, 2012
    50
    The strain that comes with continuing to care about Ryan's sad-sack existence, one that's a direct result of his own insecurities and poor decisions, vastly outweighs the amusement packed away within the incidental laughs the series intermittently provides.