• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 23, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Wilfred Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Elijah Wood is Adam, who is the only person who sees his girlfriend's dog Wilfred as a man in a dog suit in this remake of an Australian comedy series.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 1, 2011
    100
    Stuffed with absurd situations and piles of bad taste, Wilfred is the strangest new show on TV. And the funniest.
  2. Some viewers will delight in the edgy humor, while others undoubtedly will want to slap an extra-tight muzzle on Wilfred.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jun 23, 2011
    80
    By not belaboring the point--Ryan is not crazy, there is nothing supernatural afoot--the show stays fresh, the gimmick fades. The humor is frequently scatological or sexual, but a mitigating sweetness enfolds it all.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 22, 2011
    70
    The show has a nice sense of innocence, thanks to Wood's gentle performance and the theme of personal transformation; but it is also filled with uneven sexual and scatological jokes, delivered with a dog-like lack of modesty, so viewer be warned. For some, that level of humor is a deal breaker.
  5. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Jun 23, 2011
    70
    It's crude and hilarious and clearly aimed at a young male audience.
  6. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Jun 22, 2011
    63
    While squirrel-eating jokes are all well and good for now, if Wilfred is going to make it, Wood and Gann will have to develop some real chemistry and comic rhythm, especially if the show's writers continue to be so reliant on the inherent novelty of their premise.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 17, 2011
    25
    The show is The Odd Couple redefined by psychosis and whimsy. I'm not wagging my tail. [27 Jun 2011, p.46]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 45
  2. Negative: 7 out of 45
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Funniest show I've seen in years. It was almost hard to believe I was watching American television. It's bizarre, sharply written and insanely funny. Almost died at the closing credits scene with the teddy bear. Probably helps that the Oz actor playing the "dog" played the same role on Australian TV. Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    Great stuff, and so good to have the slick USA production but with the OZ slant, which is a so much closer to our UK take on things. We all love it at our place-from undergrads to old ex- hippie birds. Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Wilfred is a hilarious, yet thought provoking comedy, if you can get past the whole man-in-a-dog-suit thing. Elijah Wood does a great job in, I believe, his first TV role. And his buddy chemistry with Jason Gann, Wilfred, is fantastic. There are plenty of dog jokes in Wilfred, but past the dog humor, the raunchy humor, and the buddy chemistry, there is a dark, subversive heart to the show, critiquing the human experience and redefining what it is for the show's main character to be alive. You see, Wilfred isn't gag driven, it isn't obsessed with it's main pitch (AKA a guy imagines i=his neighbor's dog as a guy in a dog suit). It's obsessed with it's characters and developing them into believable people. Wilfred is character driven, which is more than I can say for most other comedies out there! Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2012
    8
    Before Wilfred, I was beginning to lose hope in television. It's the same old stuff every time. But then, when the trailers showing Elijah Wood being licked by a dude in a dog suit came on, I was hypnotized. I wanted to see it badly. Then when it aired, I was hooked. It's dry comedy at its finest, full of innuendo, extreme pot-use, and some absurdest surrealism I've ever seen on FX, or if I could be more blunt, television in general, grasping the same lurid appeal as some cartoon shows. But this is way more mature than some bloody cartoon. Finally we Americans finally remade something worth watching. And when season 2 comes, I'll be waiting with my tail wagging like it never wagged before. Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    Wilfred is like a bottle of wine- the first few sips can be challenging. Then, after a glass or two, you really begin to enjoy it. And finally, you start thinking about opening another bottle! Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2013
    7
    Absolutely hilarious, but most importantly, Wilfred is smart. Its humor is channeled brilliantly by Jason Gann who is great as the title role. Elijah Wood is perfect as his companion; the combo makes for a great experience, solidifying Wilfred as one of the better comedies on the air right now. Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2011
    0
    I honestly cannot see how people find this show clever in anyway. The jokes suck, the acting isn't there, and the story lines are boring as hell. Hopefully this show gets cancelled soon. Luckily the second season of Louie started up. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews