• Network: Lifetime
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 6, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 7, 2013
    20
    No amount of magic could elevate the amateurish acting and shoddy, choppy, derivative writing. Whatever the opposite of spellbinding is, that's this show.
  2. Reviewed by: Lily Moayeri
    Oct 7, 2013
    40
    The clichés are too silly and obvious.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 7, 2013
    67
    Witches of East End is the campiest hot mess on TV.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 4, 2013
    70
    Though the show is a drama, it is served up with a droll comic sensibility that is a refreshing change.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 4, 2013
    60
    What the pilot lacks in smooth-flow niceties it makes up for in silly fun.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 4, 2013
    30
    A missable new supernatural series populated by wooden actors and feeble plotlines.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 4, 2013
    50
    The Witches of East End may not win a Peabody anytime soon, but to its mildly enjoyable credit, it doesn't take itself too seriously.
  8. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Oct 4, 2013
    50
    Even if the series plays it right down the middle--it’s not exactly good, but not terrible either--that might be all that’s needed to succeed.
  9. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Oct 4, 2013
    70
    Witches of East End doesn't overdo the mythology (like Sleepy Hollow) or make it all about the sex (like True Blood). Instead, it set up a complicated interpersonal world, a plausible (for this kind of show) backstory, and then populated the town with really good-looking people.
  10. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Oct 4, 2013
    42
    Witches Of East End has the curious distinction of feeling at once underpopulated and way, way too busy.
  11. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 4, 2013
    25
    Witches of East End is just not worth a viewer’s toils and troubles.
  12. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Oct 3, 2013
    75
    The starter hour picks up steam whenever loose-cannon Amick bops around--although Ormond does a nice job of grounding its shenanigans in a semblance of reality.
  13. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 3, 2013
    70
    While all the characters have boilerplate for bones--the brainy one, the pretty one, the smart aleck, the tortured hunk--crisp writing and buoyant performances keep the story from trending too trite or too "Twilight."
  14. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 1, 2013
    25
    [A] soapy, silly adaptation of Melissa de la Cruz’s best-seller.
  15. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 15, 2013
    50
    The show has a sincerity about its silliness and light spookiness; for a moment there, it’s almost as if 'True Blood' tried to conceive a demon baby with 'Bunheads.'
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    I was completely impressed by the Pilot of Witches of East End. It had everything you needed to keep you hooked on the show. The characters were each intriguing and well-casted as every storyline was juicy and I will definitely be watching it every week. Check out the show if you haven't already, it's seriously recommended. Full Review »
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    8
    I'm finally impressed by a new witch show. All these other ones are so sensationalized and all about sex and action. I guess that is good for the 21st century but I always like some drama. This is my new charmed. I missed charmed so much. If this show can retain all of charmed viewers then it will be a hit overnight. They just need to keep remembering to develop the characters and story lines. Don't tell us about the curse right away. Then you will run out of interesting things and will have to make up crap and then its the beginning of the end. I love that they all have curses. Let them unfold slowly. Full Review »
  3. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Amazing show, love it. I am hooked already. I simply love the characters, I love that it's an ongoing storyline (which is super interesting by the way) I love that it's funny, etc. The best show in a long while. I cannot wait to see the next episodes. THANKS to LIFETIME TV for bringing us this awesome show. I am glad I added Lifetime TV to my list of channels this year it's definetely worth it!! Full Review »