• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 6, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Eric Winter, Mädchen Amick, Rachel Boston
  • Summary: Lifetime's original scripted drama series about a family of immortal witches living in a secluded seaside town is based on the novel by Melissa de la Cruz and stars Julia Ormond, Mädchen Amick, and Virginia Madsen.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Oct 3, 2013
    75
    The starter hour picks up steam whenever loose-cannon Amick bops around--although Ormond does a nice job of grounding its shenanigans in a semblance of reality.
  2. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Oct 4, 2013
    70
    Witches of East End doesn't overdo the mythology (like Sleepy Hollow) or make it all about the sex (like True Blood). Instead, it set up a complicated interpersonal world, a plausible (for this kind of show) backstory, and then populated the town with really good-looking people.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 4, 2013
    70
    Though the show is a drama, it is served up with a droll comic sensibility that is a refreshing change.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 15, 2013
    50
    The show has a sincerity about its silliness and light spookiness; for a moment there, it’s almost as if 'True Blood' tried to conceive a demon baby with 'Bunheads.'
  5. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Oct 4, 2013
    50
    Even if the series plays it right down the middle--it’s not exactly good, but not terrible either--that might be all that’s needed to succeed.
  6. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Oct 4, 2013
    42
    Witches Of East End has the curious distinction of feeling at once underpopulated and way, way too busy.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 7, 2013
    20
    No amount of magic could elevate the amateurish acting and shoddy, choppy, derivative writing. Whatever the opposite of spellbinding is, that's this show.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    I was completely impressed by the Pilot of Witches of East End. It had everything you needed to keep you hooked on the show. The charactersI was completely impressed by the Pilot of Witches of East End. It had everything you needed to keep you hooked on the show. The characters were each intriguing and well-casted as every storyline was juicy and I will definitely be watching it every week. Check out the show if you haven't already, it's seriously recommended. Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    The acting is top notch and the show always keeps you on the edge of your seat. I love it so much and the characters are all so unique andThe acting is top notch and the show always keeps you on the edge of your seat. I love it so much and the characters are all so unique and have a great story. Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    This is my new Desperate Housewives!!! Absolutely love this show.. Not ready for the finale. It always leaves me wanting more!!! I absolutelyThis is my new Desperate Housewives!!! Absolutely love this show.. Not ready for the finale. It always leaves me wanting more!!! I absolutely love Wendy. Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Just watched the first episode of the first season absolutely fantastic. Fabulous story can't wait to see the next episode and the rest ofJust watched the first episode of the first season absolutely fantastic. Fabulous story can't wait to see the next episode and the rest of the season. Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    Great show! My wife and I both enjoy this very much. Feels a bit like "Charmed" as we watch it... same type of feel to the show but with aGreat show! My wife and I both enjoy this very much. Feels a bit like "Charmed" as we watch it... same type of feel to the show but with a slightly more 'grown up' storyline and dialogue. Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    8
    Love the story line, as well as the characters! My husband & I really enjoy the differences in each character, but how there is enough balanceLove the story line, as well as the characters! My husband & I really enjoy the differences in each character, but how there is enough balance to keep them "together"! Really hope this show continues! Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2014
    5
    Sadly, like many of today's good scripted TV shows, this show is full of subtle political agendas. National Geographic stated that the nextSadly, like many of today's good scripted TV shows, this show is full of subtle political agendas. National Geographic stated that the next race up for extinction are the white-Europeans due to dangerously low birthrates globally. Inter-racial couples make up 13% of America, and even less globally. So now those of us that are smart and caring are starting to ask why is it then necessary to constantly push this agenda in American TV shows? We don't have constant TV shows about Native Americans in interracial relationships. Probably because we know that would be cruel and insensitive. When a birthrate among any racial group is dying out, time to not be cruel and insensitive. We all come from ancient tribes, and we are all beautiful. Maybe 100 years from now, this kind of message won't matter if white-European birthrates start going up, but until then it's hateful and irresponsible media messages. I stop watching any show now when I see this message being pushed. Wake up world, not matter what race you are. Panda bears are worth saving, and any race can become the Panda bear. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers