• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 6, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Witches of East End Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lifetime's original scripted drama series about a family of immortal witches living in a secluded seaside town is based on the novel by Melissa de la Cruz and stars Julia Ormond, Mädchen Amick, and Virginia Madsen.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Oct 3, 2013
    75
    The starter hour picks up steam whenever loose-cannon Amick bops around--although Ormond does a nice job of grounding its shenanigans in a semblance of reality.
  2. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Oct 4, 2013
    70
    Witches of East End doesn't overdo the mythology (like Sleepy Hollow) or make it all about the sex (like True Blood). Instead, it set up a complicated interpersonal world, a plausible (for this kind of show) backstory, and then populated the town with really good-looking people.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 4, 2013
    70
    Though the show is a drama, it is served up with a droll comic sensibility that is a refreshing change.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 15, 2013
    50
    The show has a sincerity about its silliness and light spookiness; for a moment there, it’s almost as if 'True Blood' tried to conceive a demon baby with 'Bunheads.'
  5. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Oct 4, 2013
    50
    Even if the series plays it right down the middle--it’s not exactly good, but not terrible either--that might be all that’s needed to succeed.
  6. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Oct 4, 2013
    42
    Witches Of East End has the curious distinction of feeling at once underpopulated and way, way too busy.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 7, 2013
    20
    No amount of magic could elevate the amateurish acting and shoddy, choppy, derivative writing. Whatever the opposite of spellbinding is, that's this show.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    I was completely impressed by the Pilot of Witches of East End. It had everything you needed to keep you hooked on the show. The characters were each intriguing and well-casted as every storyline was juicy and I will definitely be watching it every week. Check out the show if you haven't already, it's seriously recommended. Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Just watched the first episode of the first season absolutely fantastic. Fabulous story can't wait to see the next episode and the rest of the season. Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    This is my new Desperate Housewives!!! Absolutely love this show.. Not ready for the finale. It always leaves me wanting more!!! I absolutely love Wendy. Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    fun,entertaining and funny. you never know what is going to pop up next. The acting is good, and the characters are all unique in their own way, The element of magic used for good and evil, keeps you looking forward to the next show. Not heavy just pure entertainment. Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    This show is not perfect but at least it is very, very entertaining. It embodies many elements in a series in a good-hearted way. Just so people know, this is based on novels. This is actually a good adaptation! Expand
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    8
    I'm finally impressed by a new witch show. All these other ones are so sensationalized and all about sex and action. I guess that is good for the 21st century but I always like some drama. This is my new charmed. I missed charmed so much. If this show can retain all of charmed viewers then it will be a hit overnight. They just need to keep remembering to develop the characters and story lines. Don't tell us about the curse right away. Then you will run out of interesting things and will have to make up crap and then its the beginning of the end. I love that they all have curses. Let them unfold slowly. Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2013
    6
    Witches of East End is a new supernatural lifetime soap. It's essentially, exactly like Eastwick and The Gates with a different cast. If you've never seen either of those shows, It's basically about a bunch of attractive women who discover their witches, do witchy stuff and try to prevent their pasts from claiming their lives. This take on the premise is pretty well done. It's not too corny, the acting isn't too bad, the women aren't bad looking and It should be a fun watch before it gets canceled. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews