• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 3, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Work It  Image
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.1

Overwhelming dislike- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After they are laid off, Lee Standish (Ben Koldyke) and Angel Ortiz (Amaury Nolasco) dress up as women to get new jobs at a pharmaceutical company.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 22
  2. Negative: 18 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 3, 2012
    42
    The slight sitcom has all the heft of a powder puff.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 3, 2012
    42
    A couple of the lines are surprisingly offensive, and a couple others even surprisingly amusing.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 3, 2012
    38
    Much of what passes for humor in Work It is mined from the same, quickly depleted vein: men awkwardly trying to pass for women.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 3, 2012
    20
    The show lumbers like a 200-pound man trying to impersonate a 95-pound ballerina.
  5. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jan 3, 2012
    10
    Work It is bad dumb, memorably bad dumb, the kind of bad dumb show you will use in years to come as a benchmark for other bad sitcoms.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 3, 2012
    0
    ABC, you can do better than this drivel you call Work It.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 4, 2012
    0
    Work It is not so bad it's good. It's just terrible.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 9 out of 9
  1. Jan 5, 2012
    2
    I think ABC is suffering an identity crisis. Is this really the same network that has the truly excellent Modern Family and the charming Suburgatory? For the record, I did like Man Up, the show this one replaced. Came into it fairly late, so I'm not sure if it got better as it went along. Was disappointed it didn't find an audience though. Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2012
    1
    There's really nothing to say about this. Just awful. The jokes are broad and unfunny, the story is flat. I hope this show meets a quick demise.
  3. Jan 14, 2012
    0
    I wish I could just put "no rating" and not be forced give the show a zero, which is a few points higher than it deserves. Work It was so bad it doesn't even warrant a rating at all. The sheer lack of thought put into the show is so mind-boggling that a zero doesn't do it justice. The actors don't seem happy either, and as a result, even you yourself truly can feel the happiness being sucked out of your very soul as the pilot progresses. I had to stop watching during the cross-dressing scene set to My Humps. Suddenly Whitney looks brilliant and charming (it's that bad)-at least the actors seem to, you know, want to be there on that show. Yes, Work It offended me in a way, but not in the way you might think: this show is so unoriginal, clichéd, and flat-out IDIOTIC that it offends me. How this made it pas ONE episode, let alone to air at all, is a mystery that may never be solved. Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2012
    0
    ABC's Work It is completely awful. It is offensive, not funny, badly acted, and shouldn't have been discussed even once. Work It gives ABC a bad reputation. Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2012
    0
    This is the beginning of the new year and an end for this boring cross-dressing crappy new series called Work It. I got an advice to the morons at ABC, stop adding new shows and start making more soap operas. I hope this year will be the same mistake as last year's did with a lousy "Chew" and a reboot gone terrible "Charlie's Angels." Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2012
    0
    Did ABC actually think it was OK to rip off Bosom Buddies? It's just as worse as Bucky Larson: Born to be a Star. Here's the steps to get this off your mind. 1. Go rent Tootsie at your local Family Video or buy a DVD of Bosom Buddies. 2. Play both of them simultaneously. 3. Compare which is better, obviously Bosom Buddies/Tootsie.â Collapse
  7. Feb 10, 2012
    0
    Horrible nothing else to say................................................................................................................................ Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.