• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 3, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Work It  Image
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.1

Overwhelming dislike- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After they are laid off, Lee Standish (Ben Koldyke) and Angel Ortiz (Amaury Nolasco) dress up as women to get new jobs at a pharmaceutical company.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 22
  2. Negative: 18 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 3, 2012
    42
    The slight sitcom has all the heft of a powder puff.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 3, 2012
    42
    A couple of the lines are surprisingly offensive, and a couple others even surprisingly amusing.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 3, 2012
    38
    Much of what passes for humor in Work It is mined from the same, quickly depleted vein: men awkwardly trying to pass for women.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 3, 2012
    20
    The show lumbers like a 200-pound man trying to impersonate a 95-pound ballerina.
  5. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jan 3, 2012
    10
    Work It is bad dumb, memorably bad dumb, the kind of bad dumb show you will use in years to come as a benchmark for other bad sitcoms.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 3, 2012
    0
    ABC, you can do better than this drivel you call Work It.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 4, 2012
    0
    Work It is not so bad it's good. It's just terrible.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 9 out of 9
  1. Jan 5, 2012
    2
    I think ABC is suffering an identity crisis. Is this really the same network that has the truly excellent Modern Family and the charmingI think ABC is suffering an identity crisis. Is this really the same network that has the truly excellent Modern Family and the charming Suburgatory? For the record, I did like Man Up, the show this one replaced. Came into it fairly late, so I'm not sure if it got better as it went along. Was disappointed it didn't find an audience though. Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2012
    1
    There's really nothing to say about this. Just awful. The jokes are broad and unfunny, the story is flat. I hope this show meets a quick demise.
  3. Feb 10, 2012
    0
    Horrible nothing else toHorrible nothing else to say................................................................................................................................ Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2012
    0
    I have written 150+ reviews for Metacritic but this is the first time that I have ever given a 0. Work It is a painful and patronizingI have written 150+ reviews for Metacritic but this is the first time that I have ever given a 0. Work It is a painful and patronizing experience that just has nothing of value whatsoever. The writing, the acting, the plot, Work It fails on every level. There is no element of this show that rises above the low, low bar it has set for itself and the fact that this even got made is indicative of poor quality control at AMC. A spectacular failure. Collapse
  5. Jan 3, 2012
    0
    This is the beginning of the new year and an end for this boring cross-dressing crappy new series called Work It. I got an advice to theThis is the beginning of the new year and an end for this boring cross-dressing crappy new series called Work It. I got an advice to the morons at ABC, stop adding new shows and start making more soap operas. I hope this year will be the same mistake as last year's did with a lousy "Chew" and a reboot gone terrible "Charlie's Angels." Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2012
    0
    Did ABC actually think it was OK to rip off Bosom Buddies? It's just as worse as Bucky Larson: Born to be a Star. Here's the steps to get thisDid ABC actually think it was OK to rip off Bosom Buddies? It's just as worse as Bucky Larson: Born to be a Star. Here's the steps to get this off your mind. 1. Go rent Tootsie at your local Family Video or buy a DVD of Bosom Buddies. 2. Play both of them simultaneously. 3. Compare which is better, obviously Bosom Buddies/Tootsie.â Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2012
    0
    ABC's Work It is completely awful. It is offensive, not funny, badly acted, and shouldn't have been discussed even once. Work It gives ABC aABC's Work It is completely awful. It is offensive, not funny, badly acted, and shouldn't have been discussed even once. Work It gives ABC a bad reputation. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.