Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Apr 5, 2011
    80
    It's witty, irreverent, and joyously juvenile.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 5, 2011
    75
    The material works more often than not because the guys are completely shameless, which makes them difficult to dislike.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 6, 2011
    70
    Trios of twentysomething slackers are hardly a new construct--see "It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia," among recent examples--but there's always room for more when the group is as brazen, funny and drug-addled as the gang in Workaholics.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 5, 2011
    60
    I can't say I found much of Workaholics especially funny, but neither do I have it in my heart to hate it. On a craft level, it's very nicely made, the actors are weirdly appealing, and its spirit is not mean, but sweet.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Apr 5, 2011
    50
    The pilot's simple conceit--avoid the dreaded office drug test--is padded with an almost endless amount of jokes involving bodily waste, genitalia, and more bodily waste. Which is fine by me, if only they didn't commit an unforgivable sin for a show about potheads: trying too hard.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 6, 2011
    30
    Weirdly, both the pilots of Breaking In and Comedy Central's execrable new time-waster Workaholics include multiple references to urine.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 6, 2011
    0
    Workaholics is crude, dumb lowbrow comedy, which means it's doing fine right up until the last requirement of the genre, which is that it should be funny. Workaholics is not.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 5 out of 33
  1. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    "Workaholics" is undoubtedly crude; there's simply no getting around that. If a steady diet of penis/poop/vomit/etc. jokes and drug references are sure to put you off, then this one isn't for you -- and in lesser hands, a show like "Workaholics" could easily be worth skipping even for those of us who have a deeper appreciation of the off-color. But this one works, and often to hilarious results. "Workaholics" succeeds, largely due to the likability of the three main characters. Those characters are equal parts drunken, stoned, horny and lazy, but the actors play them with such dunderheaded sweetness that it is hard not to be charmed by them. Don't get me wrong: despite their repeated actions to the contrary in each episode, I don't think the protagonists are meant to be seen as irredeemably stupid. Instead, they appear to be reasonably bright, immature and deeply irreverent, hanging on to that last year in college (which is likely a couple years gone) and reveling in their aimlessness as they just kinda float through their early twenties and crappy, entry-level jobs. Raise your hand if the foregoing in any way resembles your own more youthful experience. The writing here is also worthy of praise. It takes a deft hand not to overdo it with such broad comedy. "Workaholics" definitely pushes the line with frequency, but is consistently sharp in its portrayal of its deeply goofy protagonists. This one makes me laugh out loud -- repeatedly and without guilt. Full Review »
  2. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    I enjoy the brand of comedy this show brings. It's making jokes most shows are afraid to make. It's clever as heck, and while I can't personally relate to these characters, with their drugs and all, I would definitely kick it with them, and I appreciate the heck out of their humor. Full Review »
  3. Jun 13, 2012
    3
    My first deterrent should have been the name. In a world of overplayed, overstated phrases anything â