Workaholics Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Three friends land jobs as telemarketers after graduation from college and discover that the real world requires real work.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Apr 5, 2011
    80
    It's witty, irreverent, and joyously juvenile.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 5, 2011
    75
    The material works more often than not because the guys are completely shameless, which makes them difficult to dislike.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 6, 2011
    70
    Trios of twentysomething slackers are hardly a new construct--see "It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia," among recent examples--but there's always room for more when the group is as brazen, funny and drug-addled as the gang in Workaholics.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 5, 2011
    60
    I can't say I found much of Workaholics especially funny, but neither do I have it in my heart to hate it. On a craft level, it's very nicely made, the actors are weirdly appealing, and its spirit is not mean, but sweet.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Apr 5, 2011
    50
    The pilot's simple conceit--avoid the dreaded office drug test--is padded with an almost endless amount of jokes involving bodily waste, genitalia, and more bodily waste. Which is fine by me, if only they didn't commit an unforgivable sin for a show about potheads: trying too hard.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 6, 2011
    30
    Weirdly, both the pilots of Breaking In and Comedy Central's execrable new time-waster Workaholics include multiple references to urine.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 6, 2011
    0
    Workaholics is crude, dumb lowbrow comedy, which means it's doing fine right up until the last requirement of the genre, which is that it should be funny. Workaholics is not.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    "Workaholics" is undoubtedly crude; there's simply no getting around that. If a steady diet of penis/poop/vomit/etc. jokes and drug references are sure to put you off, then this one isn't for you -- and in lesser hands, a show like "Workaholics" could easily be worth skipping even for those of us who have a deeper appreciation of the off-color. But this one works, and often to hilarious results. "Workaholics" succeeds, largely due to the likability of the three main characters. Those characters are equal parts drunken, stoned, horny and lazy, but the actors play them with such dunderheaded sweetness that it is hard not to be charmed by them. Don't get me wrong: despite their repeated actions to the contrary in each episode, I don't think the protagonists are meant to be seen as irredeemably stupid. Instead, they appear to be reasonably bright, immature and deeply irreverent, hanging on to that last year in college (which is likely a couple years gone) and reveling in their aimlessness as they just kinda float through their early twenties and crappy, entry-level jobs. Raise your hand if the foregoing in any way resembles your own more youthful experience. The writing here is also worthy of praise. It takes a deft hand not to overdo it with such broad comedy. "Workaholics" definitely pushes the line with frequency, but is consistently sharp in its portrayal of its deeply goofy protagonists. This one makes me laugh out loud -- repeatedly and without guilt. Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    This show is a classic. Funniest show ever. Comedy Central almost didnt air this show but im glad they did I recommend this show for everybody!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Target audience is 16 - 30...with that in mind, it's incredibly funny. Because of the seemingly "simple-minded" premise of the show, it is easy to underappreciate the writing, which is pure comedy gold. Almost every line of dialogue stands alone as a funny one-liner. But it's the physical comedy in the show, which sets it apart. Adam DeVine steals every scene that he is in. His propensity for physical comedy is on par with that of Jim Carey (from his "In Living Color" days). I fully expect to take off, similarly to "It's Always Sunny..." Expand
  4. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Love this show. Very clever, (And sometimes, alternative) humor. People might think it's very simple and stupid humor, but those people obviously fail to see the humor behind it. They're all fantastic actors, they know how to play their character very well even though i think that's becaus they write the show, and because it also kind of represents how they are in real life. (Check out their old YouTube channel, "Mailordercomedy".) The jokes are played out very well, even though you might miss a few the first time you watch the episodes. I also just love how the characters respond to certain kind of situations, and how they deal with them. A must-watch for a comedy lover. Expand
  5. May 19, 2011
    9
    Mail Order Comedy were no-names to me a month ago, and now I'm a huge admirer. I first saw Blake on Traffic Light and Workaholics has really thrust these guys to the center of my attention Wednesday nights at 1030. I have been suggesting this show regularly. Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    This is one of the funniest shows I've ever seen. The characters are weirdly hilarious (Blake and Montez are my favorite characters) and there has not been an episode that didn't make me laugh. Expand
  7. Jul 1, 2012
    2
    In the manner not another teen movie made fun of the beat to death genre of a bunch of youths getting **** up with a **** underdeveloped story line, there should be a movie or show mocking this unoriginal series, and its many mediocre at best competitors, for its repetitive, corny, and adolescent comedy which features nothing, but a pattern of drug use, loss of clothing, and stupid idea which likely fails by the end of episode. The writers think drugs + young guys + failure = good TV, or ratings, no matter how half-baked the idea or actors are. Cast = nobodies. Funny at first until you realize the same exact recurring themes in every episode. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews