Workaholics : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Workaholics Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Three friends land jobs as telemarketers after graduation from college and discover that the real world requires real work.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Apr 5, 2011
    80
    It's witty, irreverent, and joyously juvenile.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 5, 2011
    75
    The material works more often than not because the guys are completely shameless, which makes them difficult to dislike.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 6, 2011
    70
    Trios of twentysomething slackers are hardly a new construct--see "It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia," among recent examples--but there's always room for more when the group is as brazen, funny and drug-addled as the gang in Workaholics.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 5, 2011
    60
    I can't say I found much of Workaholics especially funny, but neither do I have it in my heart to hate it. On a craft level, it's very nicely made, the actors are weirdly appealing, and its spirit is not mean, but sweet.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Apr 5, 2011
    50
    The pilot's simple conceit--avoid the dreaded office drug test--is padded with an almost endless amount of jokes involving bodily waste, genitalia, and more bodily waste. Which is fine by me, if only they didn't commit an unforgivable sin for a show about potheads: trying too hard.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 6, 2011
    30
    Weirdly, both the pilots of Breaking In and Comedy Central's execrable new time-waster Workaholics include multiple references to urine.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 6, 2011
    0
    Workaholics is crude, dumb lowbrow comedy, which means it's doing fine right up until the last requirement of the genre, which is that it should be funny. Workaholics is not.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 36
  2. Negative: 6 out of 36
  1. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    "Workaholics" is undoubtedly crude; there's simply no getting around that. If a steady diet of penis/poop/vomit/etc. jokes and drug"Workaholics" is undoubtedly crude; there's simply no getting around that. If a steady diet of penis/poop/vomit/etc. jokes and drug references are sure to put you off, then this one isn't for you -- and in lesser hands, a show like "Workaholics" could easily be worth skipping even for those of us who have a deeper appreciation of the off-color. But this one works, and often to hilarious results. "Workaholics" succeeds, largely due to the likability of the three main characters. Those characters are equal parts drunken, stoned, horny and lazy, but the actors play them with such dunderheaded sweetness that it is hard not to be charmed by them. Don't get me wrong: despite their repeated actions to the contrary in each episode, I don't think the protagonists are meant to be seen as irredeemably stupid. Instead, they appear to be reasonably bright, immature and deeply irreverent, hanging on to that last year in college (which is likely a couple years gone) and reveling in their aimlessness as they just kinda float through their early twenties and crappy, entry-level jobs. Raise your hand if the foregoing in any way resembles your own more youthful experience. The writing here is also worthy of praise. It takes a deft hand not to overdo it with such broad comedy. "Workaholics" definitely pushes the line with frequency, but is consistently sharp in its portrayal of its deeply goofy protagonists. This one makes me laugh out loud -- repeatedly and without guilt. Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    great show ... if comedy central cancels it ill probably pretend to commit suicide.... and one time my buddy crapped in this girls applesaucegreat show ... if comedy central cancels it ill probably pretend to commit suicide.... and one time my buddy crapped in this girls applesauce jar and put it back in her fridge it was weird but i dared him to do it so maybe it wasnt that weird Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    My favorite show fur sure. But to be honest i can see why its not for most older people like 35+ but its still funny!!! dont have anythingMy favorite show fur sure. But to be honest i can see why its not for most older people like 35+ but its still funny!!! dont have anything else to say its just awesome and im filling up space. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2011
    9
    This show started off very strong and hillarious. Its core fan attraction is of a younger generation, aprox. teens to people in theirThis show started off very strong and hillarious. Its core fan attraction is of a younger generation, aprox. teens to people in their thirties. The humor presented is very unique and each character has an emparative role in keeping the bond of the three muskajokers for its comedic originality. The first 3 episodes where priceless and got me involved with the show and eager to see the next. Some episodes were... "IGHT" and even a little bit dissapointing due to their randomness and out of the blue scenarios. its only a question of remaining consistent in its comic originality, which where perfectly illustrated in episodes 1,2,3,5, and 8. The begining stage of any show has its ups and downs but I hope that Workaholics stays consistentantly entertaining. Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    The oh-so weird and increasingly popular Workaholics just finished their fourth season. The many episodes of workaholics already aired shouldThe oh-so weird and increasingly popular Workaholics just finished their fourth season. The many episodes of workaholics already aired should be getting old, but the adventures and crazy stunts the three stoner roommates pull kept audiences glued to the television for thirty minutes every Wednesday at nine o’clock and thirsty for some more Workaholics to come. Workaholics transformed from a one camera show to one of television’s funniest, most popular shows. Workaholics stars Devine, Blake Anderson, and Anders Holm as three college dropout stoners who met in college and become roommates who work together as telemarketers. Workaholics is about these low-life’s living and loving the low-stakes of young adult hood. Every episode the three roommates go on adventures and never fail to make your sides hurt by their immature, stupid comedy. With episodes of them causing chaos at work or getting trashed on the roof of their bachelor pad, there is never a dull moment. You’d think after 40 episodes Adam, Blake, and Ders could stay out of trouble but instead these three roommates continuously slap you with surprises and gut busting jokes and continue to make us crave Workaholics.
    Me being a dedicated Workaholics fan, I can honestly say the fourth season was the worst season, I am not saying that it wasn’t good, but out of all the other seasons the fourth one was my least favorite. I feel as though Workaholics bit off more than they could chew this season, the show was overdone to say the least. Workaholics used to be a cool, small budget show but now with all the popularity comes money. Throughout the seasons you can clearly tell the improvement in their budget. The extra money somewhat takes away from the cool, broke college vibes the show gave off before, now a lot of the scenes are overdone or extremely ridiculous and just “too much”. For example, the first episode of the fourth season showed an orgasm-assisted water birth in a gym’s Jacuzzi. It is almost impossible to make a birth scene funny, I have yet to witness one. Some people may find these stunts hilarious, but they are a little too crazy for me. Another downfall to this show for some people may be the inappropriate terms and slang words. The three stoners use quotable phrases like “Tight Butthole” and “Loose Butthole” to describe something as bad or good, though I find that hilarious, I know many other people would disagree. Another deal breaker for some are the drug references and scenes, throughout the season the three roommates smoke and use other illegal substances, which I believe helps make this show increasingly popular. With things changing shows need to adapt as well even if it does involve inappropriate content, and I feel as though Workaholics nails it. Shows and movies are having to keep up with the continuously changing social norm and with marijuana now becoming legal in more areas, drugs are being exposed more in media. This show definitely caters to the young adult generation, and I definitely advise viewer discretion.
    Other than over-doing it in some episodes Workaholics never disappoints me. With Adam’s charm, Blake’s quirks, and Ders’s hilarious comments and facial expressions Workaholics definitely won the award as my favorite show. Workaholics is targeted to young adults who like to get weird and have a good time. I feel as though Workaholics is so popular among young people because we can relate to it. The three roommates are broke, lost, rowdy, and young just like the targeted audience is. Though we may not be doing the same things as the three stoners, we can still watch and laugh at the crude and inappropriate stunts and jokes. This show’s growing popularity is due to the crazy stunts they pull and the hilarious scenarios they find themselves in. If it weren’t for the supporting characters the show would be a dud. Characters like Alice, Carl, and Jillian make a huge difference and only add on to the hilarious, ridiculous comments made throughout the show. Alice’s rude, sharp comments at Adam always have me laughing. Carl, the three roommate’s drug dealer, is nothing short of an idiot. His dumb, strange comments usually always have you puzzled. And Jillian, possibly my favorite character always has me smiling or dying of painful laughter. Jillian plays Alice’s assistant and man does she know how to play dumb. Her strange actions and comments keep me cracking up. Her awkward vibe definitely steal the show for me. Workaholics would not be the same without Jillian.
    The only complaint I have for season four is the few episodes with awkward scenarios. The season mostly was your typical, chill, funny show but with the money coming in, their budget is booming and there are some episodes that got too weird too quick. But the few awkward moments is no deal breaker, Workaholics is hilarious and I advise anyone who enjoys stupid humor to catch up on this comedic goldmine. Even if partying it up, stealing go carts, or weed burritos aren’t your thing, Workaholics is good for anyone who could use a good laugh. With the increasing popularity there is no doubt that Workaholics will film more seasons. I suggest all young adults who enjoy a good laugh to give Workaholics a chance, you will not be disappointed. With audience relatable themes like, post-college, pre-real adulthood it makes it interesting and entertaining to watch these three lowlife, stoners do crazy things. As a diehard Workaholics fan there is no shame when I say I admit I will be adding the fourth season to my collection. Workaholics will continue to be the highlight to my Wednesday even if it does mean watching reruns. And as a fellow college student I give two thumb ups to the masterminds behind Workaholics, Blake Anderson, Adam DeVine, Anders Holm, and co-creator Kyle Newacheck, who also play the three roommates and their drug dealer. To say the least Workaholics is far from appropriate. With characters you can’t hate and raunchy, crude humor I understand how people don’t like it but I do believe you must try it before you judge.
    Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2014
    7
    Dark, bleak humour with a fruitful undertone. This show accomplishes exactly what it sets out. It is geared towards anyone who has sufferedDark, bleak humour with a fruitful undertone. This show accomplishes exactly what it sets out. It is geared towards anyone who has suffered from their own dysfunctional understanding of reality while supported by equally dysfunctional yet caring friends. Expand
  7. Aug 7, 2012
    2
    The show is truly a time waster. The stupid, drunken humor works for some people but honestly I find this show mind numbing. The charactersThe show is truly a time waster. The stupid, drunken humor works for some people but honestly I find this show mind numbing. The characters look funny and talk funny, but in the end nothing funny is being said or done. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews

Trailers