You're the Worst : Season 1

  • Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 17, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
You're the Worst Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Self-absorbed writer Jimmy Shive-Overly (Chris Geere) and cynical PR rep Gretchen Cutler (Aya Cash) meet at a wedding and try to be in a relationship with each other in this Stephen Falk comedy.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
You're The Worst
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 10, 2014
    90
    Gretchen and Jimmy's story, which acquires surprising emotional weight as the season progresses, is highly addictive on its own merits.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Jul 15, 2014
    80
    One of the reasons that You’re the Worst works so well is that we buy this relationship instantly. Geere and Cash have chemistry.
  3. Reviewed by: Jason Lynch
    Aug 22, 2014
    80
    The show grows ever more confident each week. As Jimmy and Gretchen grapple with their relationship, their conflicts seem authentic and not contrived.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jul 16, 2014
    70
    We know the end point for these two; they’re made for each other. But the writing makes the bumpy journey nonetheless entertaining.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jul 16, 2014
    63
    Cash and Geere make the most out of every cutting line and look. But too often, the show mistakes being unpleasant for being amusing.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jul 17, 2014
    50
    The notion of two superficial, emotionally stunted human beings struggling with the realization that they still have feelings is by far the most interesting premise of these four shows. But Cash is significantly more appealing than Geere (in fairness, her character is a bit less horrible than his), and the overall execution falls short of the idea.... This one, at least, has the potential to be something more than it is at the moment.
  7. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jul 17, 2014
    30
    Cash and Geere are two talented performers selling this mess as best they can, but mostly the show suffocates under its own feeling of brashness.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    This show definitely meets my sense of humour, and that doesn't happen very often. In my eyes it is the best discovery since "New Girl" and ifThis show definitely meets my sense of humour, and that doesn't happen very often. In my eyes it is the best discovery since "New Girl" and if this show can not make it, both leads (with their characters) should join the cast of "New Girl". Chris Geere's character as a love interest for Zooey Deschanels Jess - that would be fun. Anyway, I hope "You're the Worst" gets more seasons. Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    It's only vulgar to prudes and is only stupid to people who "just don't get it" who would probably be better off watching Little House on theIt's only vulgar to prudes and is only stupid to people who "just don't get it" who would probably be better off watching Little House on the Prairie or the gods forbid Big Bang Theory. *gag*
    The best romantic show on TV right now. The show captures the lifestyle and feelings of the age group. My husband and I really love this show and relate to it and the characters very well. We really relate to the emotions and story lines and have found it to be extensively hilarious. It's only vulgar to prudes and is only stupid to people who "just don't get it."
    Expand
  3. cll
    Sep 22, 2014
    10
    I have saved every episode of this show and have watched each at least three times. The quality of the main characters and supporting castI have saved every episode of this show and have watched each at least three times. The quality of the main characters and supporting cast all the way down is just terrific. Well written and unique. I hope that You're The Worst is around for a long time. Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2016
    8
    I wanted a "romantic" comedy in which the protagonists do not get together. I was really hoping You're the Worst would have been it, but nope,I wanted a "romantic" comedy in which the protagonists do not get together. I was really hoping You're the Worst would have been it, but nope, at the end of the 1st season they end up becoming girlfriend and boyfriend. Booo!!! Such a fantastically well written and well acted show otherwise, I just really really didn't want them together. I wanted them to stick by their convictions and not fall down the relationship trap. I hate relationships, I thought You're the Worst would have agreed, but I guess not. lol Expand
  5. May 3, 2017
    8
    You're The Worst deliberately puts an unbelievably uncomfortable near pornographic sex scene in its first episode to scare off the prudes andYou're The Worst deliberately puts an unbelievably uncomfortable near pornographic sex scene in its first episode to scare off the prudes and sit com ites. This isn't a show for the fainthearted...We get to observe horrible people being horrible to each other in strangely funny ways. It's odd but it works... Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2014
    6
    The leads are holes but it's played to be a strength, so it kind of makes you turn your head and go "huh?" And though they're unapologeticThe leads are holes but it's played to be a strength, so it kind of makes you turn your head and go "huh?" And though they're unapologetic holes there are glimpses of their desire to be "normal", so that's an interesting premise to follow. Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2014
    0
    What if Jerry and Elaine were revolting sex addicts?

    I couldn't make it through the first episode. Is this supposed to be a daring new
    What if Jerry and Elaine were revolting sex addicts?

    I couldn't make it through the first episode. Is this supposed to be a daring new comedy because some misfit jack-ass wanks himself under the blankets every five minutes? That Aya Cash even allows this creep to get near her is disconcerting enough. By signing on to this stinker, she has instantly typecast herself as a vulgar, sorry slag. If the jokes and off-the-cuff commentary could match their crass behaviour it might be marginally worth watching. Sorry, the Ferris Bueller pop-culture reference was dim and out-dated. Is this the best anecdotal humour they can muster to sweeten the crude and callous stench of this irredeemable muck? This could start a cable race for the lewdest common denominator.
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: 23 New & Returning Shows

    Summer TV Preview: 23 New & Returning Shows Image
    Published: May 11, 2016
    Find a guide to the most notable shows debuting this summer, including promising newcomers like Preacher and The Night Of and the returns of Mr. Robot, You're the Worst, Orange Is the New Black, and more.
  2. Fall TV Preview: Details on This Season's Top Returning Shows

    Fall TV Preview: Details on This Season's Top Returning Shows Image
    Published: September 2, 2015
    Get the latest details on your favorite TV shows returning this fall, including Fargo, Transparent, Empire, American Horror Story, The Leftovers, The Affair, The Returned, Arrow, and The Knick.
  3. Second Opinions: TV Critics Re-Evaluate the Summer Shows

    Second Opinions: TV Critics Re-Evaluate the Summer Shows Image
    Published: September 17, 2014
    With the summer TV season winding down, it's time to re-evaluate the summer shows. Find out why critics now love shows like FX's You're the Worst and The Bridge, read what they thought of BoJack Horseman, The Leftovers and Halt and Catch Fire, and see if The Strain and Masters of Sex are heading downhill.