• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 14, 2013
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 30
  2. Negative: 13 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 12, 2013
    60
    Some viewers will no doubt find this intriguing, while others will be quick to dismiss it as overwrought poppycock. Fortunately, the show has Anthony Edwards at its center, bringing a much-needed Hitchcockian Everyman quality to his role as Hank Galliston.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 13, 2013
    60
    It takes a while for Hank and his assistants Rachel (Addison Timlin) and Arron (Scott Michael Foster) to grasp all this, even with the unwanted help of FBI agent Beck Riley (Carmen Ejogo). Once they have, and we have, the setup is solid.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Feb 14, 2013
    50
    For these stories to work, we have to invest in the everyman hero caught in the center, and while Edwards may be convincing as the "everyman" part of the equation, the "hero" eludes him.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 13, 2013
    50
    The problem is that Zero Hour is either unwilling or unable to be that crazy all the time.
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 12, 2013
    50
    Even within the fantasy context of the show, there are a few elements that don't ring completely true, but it's easy to overlook them, if only because you're not given much time to think about things before Scheuring hurls another engaging plot twist in your direction.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Feb 14, 2013
    50
    This is “The Da Vinci Code” crossed with “Indiana Jones” with dialogue courtesy of a Magic 8 Ball.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Feb 14, 2013
    40
    It does have a lot of characters and a hopelessly confusing plot.... But the show is not without its strengths, particularly the scenes in which the magazine editor (Anthony Edwards, ER) argues with young staffers disappointed by his refusal to run a story about werewolves running amok in Romania.
  8. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Feb 14, 2013
    50
    The first episode does explain the premise pretty clearly--if you pay close enough attention and aren't laughing too hard.
  9. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Feb 13, 2013
    40
    Zero Hour is entirely dispensable, its silliness matched by its comic-book solemnity.
  10. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Feb 8, 2013
    40
    Zero Hour wants to be as brilliant as "Lost" but, sorry to say, feels more akin to the misfire "FlashForward."
  11. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Feb 14, 2013
    40
    Just know going in that you'll be far better served by acknowledging the towering silliness of the plot, because it's just about impossible to take it seriously.
  12. Reviewed by: J.C. Macek III
    Feb 14, 2013
    60
    Zero Hour‘s first episode ends on one hell of a promising cliffhanger, including a shock that comes out of nowhere but still makes sense. If director Pierre Morel can ask for a few more takes (occasional scenes feel like actors are still rehearsing) and if the script turns as strange as that episode-ending shock suggests it might, Zero Hour may actually be more new than recycled.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 12 out of 29
  1. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    The Zero Hour is a cerebral thriller which requires background knowledge and an enjoyment of history. If you are under 50 then this willThe Zero Hour is a cerebral thriller which requires background knowledge and an enjoyment of history. If you are under 50 then this will probably not be a story line that you can relate. The premier is a good warm up and I hope like a lot of shows that once the cast works together for awhile and the writers get comfortable with the story line that both will improve. I liked the cliff hanger ending of the first one and hope that each week it leave me wanting more. Full Review »
  2. Feb 14, 2013
    3
    While watching the pilot, I couldn't help but roll my eyes. It's a poor man's "Da Vinci Code" with a completely outlandish premise, cardboardWhile watching the pilot, I couldn't help but roll my eyes. It's a poor man's "Da Vinci Code" with a completely outlandish premise, cardboard and uninspired acting, and hackneyed writing. The writing of this is eerily reminiscent of the poor writing of the last 5 episodes of Last Resort. This is another in ABC's line of "shows" that would have been better served as a mini-series rather than a serialized drama. Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    I feel like this show is a mix between Davinci Code and National Treasure, which as stated below intrigues alot of us with complex minds forI feel like this show is a mix between Davinci Code and National Treasure, which as stated below intrigues alot of us with complex minds for mystery and ancient concepts. Overall it seems as though the show will get cancelled since not many are giving it a chance but I think the concept of the show is amazing the casting and publicity may be at flaw but worth giving a few more episodes before negative judgement. Full Review »