• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 14, 2013
  • Season #: 1
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 57
  2. Negative: 18 out of 57

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    Despite obvious shortcomings in terms of unconvincing characters and stale dialogue, Zero Hour still manages to be entertaining and interesting with its compelling story. Overall, it's quite a decent show, but would definitely suit fans of the genre a lot more so than others...
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    Excellent show, one of the more interesting shows on TV, its something different from your every day crime and cop shows and soap operas, too bad the general public cannot handle anything that challenges their beliefs for fear it might instill a seed of doubt, would have loved to seen the series last longer than it did
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    Show is entertaining and engaging. A real shame that it is off the air. While it is not the best team of actors, the story is interesting and the suspense is there.
  4. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    I totally disagree with the mainstream critics, as I found Zero Hour engaging & fairly well-written. I say "fairly" because most TV writers always seem to include some moronic scenes. It's probably TOO good for network TV, whose writers tend to target a 12-15 year old mentality, which explains it's cancellation. I DO agree that maintaining the mystery beyond a single season would be difficult, if not impossible. Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    I do not understand all the negative reviews on this series. When my wife and I watched the first 3 episodes, we were glued to the screen from all the mystery and intrigue. I didn't mind the cast since naturally the characters will grow over time as with any show. It's been a long time since I felt this much craving to watch the next episode in a series.
  6. Apr 27, 2013
    2
    bad writing and bad acting. i normally a sucker for mysteries kind of tv show, but the writing is so bad that you can laugh on it. for example, ep3, the main char follows a lead from what he pick up from the ground. then the female detective call him on phone asked him where he is. he said 28th street. then the detective ran out of the police station looking nervous and shouting right away HANK" HANK".... omg, he just talk to you on the phone, u just cant wait until you get to 28th street and go nuts.. Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2013
    4
    It's hard to believe that this is the same actor anthony edwards that was from top gun and ER is in this mess, about hank who not only have to save his wife, but also save the world, there are some good moments, but the rest are just convoluted and predicable and contrived, this is not a good show at all.

    Wanna see a better show, Stick to Lost,

    this thing should be zero hour, zero
    hours to see this mess. Expand
  8. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    I do not agree with the negative reviews. I hope ABC reconsiders or better yet, these shows need to be on a cable channel who has the patience to let the show audience grow.
  9. Mar 9, 2013
    6
    Questa la migliore serie che abbia mai visto, non posso credere che venga interrotta. Mi piace l'ambientazione, gli attori, la storia poi veramente affascinante.
  10. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    Great Start, Keeps you interested and wanting more from this thriller TV Show. It's a TV version of the Da Vinci Code, The writing surely will improve and I am excited to see what's coming.
  11. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    It is sad that a show with with an interesting story line gets tossed aside because, people can't rap their heads around it. Honestly this was a great show that mixed religion with history and technology. It had a similar feel to the short series revelations. It involved an ancient society protecting religious secrets and the re-emergence of the devil trying to gain the secrets. Sadly between people either couldn't understand the show or expected it to be something it was not. Also it didn't help that ABC debuted the show on a Sunday put the next episode and a Thursday then canceled it because not enough people watched a Sunday show on a Thursday. I believe this show was set up to fail and that is so disappointing. Expand
  12. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Don't know why ABC cancelled the series. It's good story. Loved the adventure, intensity, and the drama of the story. Don't really care how the other critics think, but personally I enjoyed the plot so far, and I'd love to see how the story would turn out. (Ugh! If only I can access the Internet websites of the next months!) Hope those guys at ABC would continue to finish at least the first season and get it over with. Critics are not the only audience, regular viewers matters too! Expand
  13. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    I don't agree with all the negative reviews. Sure, the acting wasn't worthy of an academy award, but it was good. The premise is very intriguing, especially if you like mysteries and ancient artifacts. The historical part of the show was very interesting to me. And the plot itself, though complicated, offers the show many different paths to continue down. The pilot itself was interesting and set up the possibility for a good season. I thought the show was good and hope it continues. Expand
  14. Feb 27, 2013
    2
    I agree with the other negative comments. I was really looking forward to this "conspiracy" type show and it's really not. I can't get into the main character (Anthony Edwards), either he's wrongly cast or he's not as good of an actor as I thought (good ole ER days). Sad but true. But of course that's just my opinion at the end of the day. There are tons of better shows out there so I'm not going to waste my time on this one and I'll be surprised if it lasts. Hitler type stuff usually doesn't.... Unless your Indiana Jones! Expand
  15. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    After watching the first two episodes... how are people not interested? It combines history with religion and conspiracy, but makes you think. I guess that's what it is? The general tv audience wants mind numbing tv shows like The OC and Gossip Girl, that are so useless and irrelvant because they can't use their brains past 5pm or out of school. This has great potential, if people give it a chance to air before it's cancelled. Expand
  16. Feb 26, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Zero Hour certainly lives up to its name. You have been warned by the title it is an hour of absolutely 0 entertainment. The acting is 0, the dialogue is 0, the plot is 0. I would have thought this show would air on the SYFY channel, but even then that is asking too high a standard of it. It is by comparison to an infant in primary school doing ABC's and finding mild entertainment. The premise of a historical conspiracy action series held interest enough to watch a pilot. Don't bother as it is a Zero Hour. Expand
  17. Feb 25, 2013
    1
    Terrible. The plot is far-fetched, even for something with this kind of premise. The situations are unrealistic to say the least, the script is laughable; however the acting is passable. Only watch if you're looking for a laugh.
  18. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Don't see where all of the complaints are coming from. Anyone these days seem to criticize a drama that has too much story. Anthony Edwards is great, just like on ER. I know it will probably only last one season but if you don't take it too seriously then you should have a good time.
  19. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    I feel like this show is a mix between Davinci Code and National Treasure, which as stated below intrigues alot of us with complex minds for mystery and ancient concepts. Overall it seems as though the show will get cancelled since not many are giving it a chance but I think the concept of the show is amazing the casting and publicity may be at flaw but worth giving a few more episodes before negative judgement. Expand
  20. Feb 18, 2013
    0
    Wow, this was noticeably bad about 10 minutes in. I was prepared for the Dan Brown knock off storyline, but the overall package was borderline unwatchable. "Why is it I feel like I'm playing poker every time I talk to you?" An FBI agent asks, after literally speaking with Anthony Edwards once, for a total of maybe three or four sentences. I don't know, why do I feel like this show got less than a halfhearted effort from everyone involved? Was it the terrible writing? The flat acting? Maybe the bad filmography (there was a particularly nice shot of Edwards and his wife through an empty picture frame...)? I don't think I will be watching episode 2 of this show. I hope the cast and crew try a little harder next time, we already have enough reality filth on tv nowadays, we don't need to manufacture more. Expand
  21. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    I don't agree with the negative reviews. The acting was great, especially for a pilot episode. The cast is usually a little dry when series first begin. The story was intriguing even if the the premise is a bit outlandish. This show is promising. Many of my favorite shows started off a little awkward, but coalesced after a few episodes. However, this show started off strong for a pilot. I hope to see more. Collapse
  22. Feb 17, 2013
    1
    I had high hopes for this show, and I really tried to like the pilot episode, but I was mostly bored and confused. I hope that the series picks up steam, because the premise is interesting, though somewhat trite.
  23. Feb 16, 2013
    0
    Zero Hour is so atrocious in quality and acting that it makes me want to vomit. Anthony Edwards' acting is so wooden you could make a chair out of it. Think "National Treasure", only ten times worse.
  24. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    The Zero Hour is a cerebral thriller which requires background knowledge and an enjoyment of history. If you are under 50 then this will probably not be a story line that you can relate. The premier is a good warm up and I hope like a lot of shows that once the cast works together for awhile and the writers get comfortable with the story line that both will improve. I liked the cliff hanger ending of the first one and hope that each week it leave me wanting more. Expand
  25. Feb 15, 2013
    1
    From the creator of the far superior Prison Break, this turned out to be a colossal misfire awkward dialogue, bad acting, uninspired direction, and low production value make this show too horrible to watch again. Michael Nyqvist makes the most of his White Vincent character as an over-the-top bad guy, but woefully miscast Anthony Edwards phones it in with a nap-inducing performance and the rest of the cast is forgettable. Notable for containing quite possibly the worst foreign accents ever perpetrated on American television. Expand
  26. Feb 15, 2013
    2
    I'm okay with outlandish stories, I kind of like the story line, if a little crazy, The acting however is horrible, who did the casting, Anthony Edwards as a Nazi Commander, or Christ's Chosen, Come on.... its like William Shatner held an acting course, "The early years" Painful to watch. I found myself wincing through most of it., won't watch again. Sad Sad Sad
  27. Feb 14, 2013
    0
    Cheesy, over-dramatic, mediocre acting, and the typical type of series where the audience will be permanently kept on the hook without any actual plot progress or significant revelations.
  28. Feb 14, 2013
    3
    While watching the pilot, I couldn't help but roll my eyes. It's a poor man's "Da Vinci Code" with a completely outlandish premise, cardboard and uninspired acting, and hackneyed writing. The writing of this is eerily reminiscent of the poor writing of the last 5 episodes of Last Resort. This is another in ABC's line of "shows" that would have been better served as a mini-series rather than a serialized drama. Expand
  29. Feb 14, 2013
    3
    I was looking forward to a good conspiracy program and this is NOT it. The acting is terrible and the story line isn't great either. Even if you love the sort of "Da Vinci Code" stuff you would not enjoy this rubbish. I have to be honest and say this show have nothing redeeming apart from that it's not longer
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 30
  2. Negative: 13 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    10
    Zero Hour, like many of its fallen drama brethren, does the opposite, building layer after layer of false mystery around cardboard characters.
  2. 20
    Without Anthony Edwards's unpretentious intelligence anchoring Zero Hour, I doubt I could have gotten through ten minutes of the pilot without gnashing my teeth in annoyance.
  3. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Feb 14, 2013
    40
    Just know going in that you'll be far better served by acknowledging the towering silliness of the plot, because it's just about impossible to take it seriously.