• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 14, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Zero Hour Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Anthony Edwards, Jacinda Barrett, Carmen Ejogo
  • Summary: Hank (Anthony Edwards), runs the magazine Modern Skeptic with his friends, Rachel (Addison Timlir) and Arron (Scott Michael Foster). They finds themselves involved in a dangerous, centuries-long, worldwide conspiracy after Hank's wife (Jacinda Barrett) is kidnapped.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
  • Creator: Paul T. Scheuring
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Feb 14, 2013
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 08:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 30
  2. Negative: 13 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Feb 8, 2013
    80
    It's a measure of the skill brought to this script by Paul Scheuring that a first episode so awash in multiplying complications manages to maintain its coherence and even a significant measure of suspense.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 13, 2013
    67
    Ambitious and intermittently entertaining, Zero Hour--and its celebrated lead--don't quite hit all their marks. But at least the mystery's a hoot.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 13, 2013
    60
    It takes a while for Hank and his assistants Rachel (Addison Timlin) and Arron (Scott Michael Foster) to grasp all this, even with the unwanted help of FBI agent Beck Riley (Carmen Ejogo). Once they have, and we have, the setup is solid.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Feb 13, 2013
    40
    Zero Hour is entirely dispensable, its silliness matched by its comic-book solemnity.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Feb 13, 2013
    30
    Zero Hour, while initially tantalizing (priests, Nazis, Anthony Edwards, an unholy birth, a secret map--I'm in! I'm in!), is more than a little disappointing (flat-footed dialogue, absurd plot machinations, cardboard main characters, ludicrous historical leaps--I'm out! I'm out!).
  6. 20
    Without Anthony Edwards's unpretentious intelligence anchoring Zero Hour, I doubt I could have gotten through ten minutes of the pilot without gnashing my teeth in annoyance.
  7. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Feb 4, 2013
    0
    The first 12 minutes are enough to bury it, though given the shoddy acting, overwrought dialogue, and poor production values, it's easy to imagine that 12 full episodes would in fact bring about the end of time itself.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 12 out of 29
  1. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    It is sad that a show with with an interesting story line gets tossed aside because, people can't rap their heads around it. Honestly this wasIt is sad that a show with with an interesting story line gets tossed aside because, people can't rap their heads around it. Honestly this was a great show that mixed religion with history and technology. It had a similar feel to the short series revelations. It involved an ancient society protecting religious secrets and the re-emergence of the devil trying to gain the secrets. Sadly between people either couldn't understand the show or expected it to be something it was not. Also it didn't help that ABC debuted the show on a Sunday put the next episode and a Thursday then canceled it because not enough people watched a Sunday show on a Thursday. I believe this show was set up to fail and that is so disappointing. Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    I do not understand all the negative reviews on this series. When my wife and I watched the first 3 episodes, we were glued to the screen fromI do not understand all the negative reviews on this series. When my wife and I watched the first 3 episodes, we were glued to the screen from all the mystery and intrigue. I didn't mind the cast since naturally the characters will grow over time as with any show. It's been a long time since I felt this much craving to watch the next episode in a series. Collapse
  3. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    The Zero Hour is a cerebral thriller which requires background knowledge and an enjoyment of history. If you are under 50 then this willThe Zero Hour is a cerebral thriller which requires background knowledge and an enjoyment of history. If you are under 50 then this will probably not be a story line that you can relate. The premier is a good warm up and I hope like a lot of shows that once the cast works together for awhile and the writers get comfortable with the story line that both will improve. I liked the cliff hanger ending of the first one and hope that each week it leave me wanting more. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    6
    Despite obvious shortcomings in terms of unconvincing characters and stale dialogue, Zero Hour still manages to be entertaining andDespite obvious shortcomings in terms of unconvincing characters and stale dialogue, Zero Hour still manages to be entertaining and interesting with its compelling story. Overall, it's quite a decent show, but would definitely suit fans of the genre a lot more so than others... Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    3
    While watching the pilot, I couldn't help but roll my eyes. It's a poor man's "Da Vinci Code" with a completely outlandish premise, cardboardWhile watching the pilot, I couldn't help but roll my eyes. It's a poor man's "Da Vinci Code" with a completely outlandish premise, cardboard and uninspired acting, and hackneyed writing. The writing of this is eerily reminiscent of the poor writing of the last 5 episodes of Last Resort. This is another in ABC's line of "shows" that would have been better served as a mini-series rather than a serialized drama. Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2013
    2
    I'm okay with outlandish stories, I kind of like the story line, if a little crazy, The acting however is horrible, who did the casting,I'm okay with outlandish stories, I kind of like the story line, if a little crazy, The acting however is horrible, who did the casting, Anthony Edwards as a Nazi Commander, or Christ's Chosen, Come on.... its like William Shatner held an acting course, "The early years" Painful to watch. I found myself wincing through most of it., won't watch again. Sad Sad Sad Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2013
    0
    Cheesy, over-dramatic, mediocre acting, and the typical type of series where the audience will be permanently kept on the hook without anyCheesy, over-dramatic, mediocre acting, and the typical type of series where the audience will be permanently kept on the hook without any actual plot progress or significant revelations. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews