Metacritic Reports: 2016 Preview

  1. 12+ Films to See in December

    12+ Films to See in December Image
    Published: November 29, 2016
    Our editors select a dozen of the most promising films opening in theaters in December.
  2. 15 Films to See in November

    15 Films to See in November Image
    Published: November 1, 2016
    We pick out the most promising films headed to theaters this month, from potential Oscar nominees like Manchester by the Sea and Arrival to crowd-pleasers like Moana and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.
  3. 13 Films to See in October

    13 Films to See in October Image
    Published: October 4, 2016
    Our editors select the month's most promising releases, including 2016's highest-scoring movie plus new films from Ava DuVernay, Park Chan-wook, Kelly Reichardt, and Terrence Malick.
  4. Which of These New Fall TV Shows Will Fail First?

    Which of These New Fall TV Shows Will Fail First? Image
    Published: September 20, 2016
    Not every new fall show will be a winner, and one will eventually be the first to go. Check out the case for and against each of the 20 new broadcast series debuting this month and next.
  5. Fall Games Preview: 20 Most-Anticipated Videogames

    Fall Games Preview: 20 Most-Anticipated Videogames Image
    Published: September 12, 2016
    We profile the most noteworthy videogames scheduled for release between now and the end of the year.
  6. Fall Music Preview: The 35 Most Anticipated New Albums

    Fall Music Preview: The 35 Most Anticipated New Albums Image
    Published: September 8, 2016
    Get details and listen to tracks from fall's most noteworthy upcoming albums, including new releases from Bon Iver, Danny Brown, Green Day, Metallica, Beck, Banks, Pixies, and more.
  7. Fall TV Preview: 30 Notable Shows

    Fall TV Preview: 30 Notable Shows Image
    Published: September 7, 2016
    Here are the 30 most noteworthy TV shows (both new and returning series) set to launch this fall.
  8. 12 Films to See in September

    12 Films to See in September Image
    Published: August 30, 2016
    Our editors select the month's most promising releases, including a Blair Witch revival and new films from Clint Eastwood, Andrea Arnold, Oliver Stone, Ron Howard, and more.
  9. 10 Films to See in August

    10 Films to See in August Image
    Published: August 2, 2016
    Our editors select the most promising movies headed to theaters this month, including several of this year's top Sundance entries.
  10. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
Follow Metacritic on

What Our Users Are Talking About

  1. /feature/tv-renew-cancel-scorecard Image
    2021-22 TV Season Scorecard
    June 1, 2021 - 2 comments
    1. NicoleTheVol : Wanted to share a massive THANK YOU to whoever is in charge of updating this list. I check it multiple times a week... Read »
    2. 1wifwaf : under HBO: Beartown already aired earlier this year (Feb-Mar 2021). no word yet on a 2nd season Read »
  2. /feature/new-free-games-playstation-xbox-pc-switch Image
    Free (& Subscription) Games for All Platforms: New & Upcoming
    May 26, 2021 - 19 comments
    1. ni554n : Epic Games has updated their free game page URL to https://www.epicgames.com/store/en-US/free-games Read »
  3. /feature/major-upcoming-video-game-release-dates-xbox-ps4-pc-switch Image
    Notable Video Game Releases: New and Upcoming
    June 7, 2021 - 16 comments
    1. rvurs_eli_fb : Good stuff Read »
    2. eli_fjr : Resident Evil 7. Read »
  4. /feature/tv-premiere-dates Image
    Summer/Fall 2021 TV Premiere Calendar
    May 5, 2021 - 278 comments
    1. asmanraj : Riverdale is listed twice above. It returns on Wednesday, August 11th, not Wednesday, July 7th. Read »
    2. asmanraj : It appears that HBO Max has moved up the release date for In the Heights to Thursday, June 10th. Read »
    3. asmanraj : For the first time ever, this year's entire Eurovision Song Contest will be available to stream live and on demand in... Read »
    4. 1wifwaf : "Moves to a new time. The previous sentence is now available as an NFT! Interested buyers should contact their local... Read »
    5. asmanraj : The 2021 CMT Music Awards will air on Wednesday, June 9th at 8/7c on CMT. Read »