Metacritic Reports: 2017 Preview

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: December 19, 2017
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical and VOD releases (including Downsizing, Pitch Perfect 3, Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle, The Greatest Showman, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. 14 Films to See in December

    14 Films to See in December Image
    Published: November 27, 2017
    Our editors select the most promising movies headed to theaters in the month of December, including new features from Steven Spielberg, Paul Thomas Anderson, Alexander Payne, Guillermo del Toro, Michael Haneke, and more.
  3. 15 Films to See in November

    15 Films to See in November Image
    Published: October 30, 2017
    Our editors select the most promising films headed to theaters in November, including Thor: Ragnarok and a handful of 2017's highest-scoring movies to date.
  4. 16 Films to See in October

    16 Films to See in October Image
    Published: October 2, 2017
    Our editors select the most promising theatrical releases (plus two Netflix streaming exclusives) coming this month.
  5. Fall Games Preview: 20 Most-Anticipated Videogames

    Fall Games Preview: 20 Most-Anticipated Videogames Image
    Published: September 11, 2017
    We pick out the most noteworthy videogame releases arriving between now and the end of the year.
  6. Fall Music Preview (2017): 40+ Key Albums

    Fall Music Preview (2017): 40+ Key Albums Image
    Published: September 7, 2017
    Get details on the most-anticipated albums arriving this fall (including new releases from St. Vincent, Taylor Swift, U2, Beck, and more), and listen to tracks from each one.
  7. Which of These New Fall TV Shows Will Fail First?

    Which of These New Fall TV Shows Will Fail First? Image
    Published: September 5, 2017
    Every year, at least one TV network will pull the plug on one of its new fall shows. Check out the case for and against each of 2017's new broadcast series debuting this month and next.
  8. 26 TV Shows to Watch This Fall

    26 TV Shows to Watch This Fall Image
    Published: September 1, 2017
    These are the most promising new and returning shows debuting this fall.
  9. 12 Films to See in September

    12 Films to See in September Image
    Published: August 28, 2017
    We pick out a dozen new movies (plus a few bonus picks) worth seeking out during the month of September.
  10. 15 Films to See in August

    15 Films to See in August Image
    Published: August 1, 2017
    Get details on the most promising films headed to theaters (and Netflix) in August, including new releases from Steven Soderbergh, Michael Winterbottom, and the Safdie brothers, plus the year's highest-scoring film to date.
Follow Metacritic on

What Our Users Are Talking About

  1. /feature/predict-the-2020-emmy-winners Image
    Predict the 2020 Emmy Award Winners
    August 24, 2020 - 3 comments
    1. Garendor : Unfortunate that you folks don't count animated program as a major category. :/ Read »
    2. JasonDietz : @DunMiff-sys: Fixed, thanks! (That's inevitably what happens when I copy over last year's poll.) Read »
    3. DunMiff-sys : Y'all have Andre Braugher listed for Veep... it's the criminally underrated Brooklyn Nine Nine Read »
  2. /feature/hulu-best-new-movies-and-shows Image
    What to Watch Now on Hulu
    September 18, 2020 - 3 comments
    1. asmanraj : The Wretched was added to Hulu on July 31st. Read »
  3. /feature/tv-premiere-dates Image
    2020 Fall TV Premiere Calendar
    August 18, 2020 - 247 comments
    1. paul_kolas : Charm City Kings, a Sundance standout, is coming to HBO Max on Thursday, October 8. Read »
    2. Sjberke : Variety is reporting that HBO just released a trailer for His Dark Materials Season 2 and it is coming in November.... Read »
    3. paul_kolas : Emily in Paris debuts on Netflix, Friday, October 2. Read »
    4. paul_kolas : Netflix's The Forty-Year-Old Version premiers Friday, October 2. Read »
    5. PD001 : Live Rescue 8/21 Read »
    6. paul_kolas : F/X is going to premiere the first two episodes of Season 4 of Fargo on Sunday, September 27. Read »