Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Feb 12, 2014
    83
    Plays brilliantly, but is slightly hampered by its reliance on the original code. [Feb 2014, p.87]
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    80
    As a port of a game that is well-known by millions of players, there is nothing truly surprising in 3D Sonic the Hedgehog, but it has become the definitive version of the Mega Drive classic. An almost flawless adaptation, and definitely one of the best eShop games available, despite the obvious lack of a widescreen mode.
  3. Jan 9, 2014
    80
    This new 3D version offers the same experience, only improved upon by modern additions and made to look even more incredible thanks to the excellent implementation of stereoscopic 3D, which breathes new life into a great classic. SEGA fans should certainly appreciate the effort put into this one, although a true full screen option would have been most welcome.
  4. 80
    This 3D Sonic the Hedgehog may well be the definitive version that fans have waited twenty years just to play this classic again.
  5. 80
    Regardless, if you hold nostalgia for Sonic the Hedgehog, this 3DS version is excellent, as it is a stellar enhanced port of a fun game, game design rough edges and all. We can all hold out hope for Sega to bring the far superior Sonic 2 to the 3D Classics line in the future, but for now, the speedster’s debut is fine.
  6. Dec 9, 2013
    80
    This is highly recommended for fans and those looking for an enjoyable slice of retro Sega platforming, nevertheless.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 72
  2. Negative: 5 out of 72
  1. Dec 6, 2013
    7
    The game is Sonic 1, on your 3ds. That's great. What's new? There's a save/load feature (just one save state), you can use the spindash fromThe game is Sonic 1, on your 3ds. That's great. What's new? There's a save/load feature (just one save state), you can use the spindash from the later games if you want, and when you start the game from the title menu there's a stage select. The music is crisp and clear, it even allows you to emulate the sounds as they were on a Genesis or Genesis 2 (though I don't know what that sound difference is exactly, it seemed to be the same to me either way). The emulation is smooth, and accurate to the point where minor graphical hiccups such as with the Green Hill Zone waterfalls are replicated exactly. A completely faithful Sonic game, here's hoping that they give Sonic 2 the same treatment very soon. Full Review »
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    The graphics on this game are surprisingly good. The 3-D effect works well and breathes new life into a game that you probably have played aThe graphics on this game are surprisingly good. The 3-D effect works well and breathes new life into a game that you probably have played a million times on a number of different systems. There are a large number of options that you can tinker with such as playing the Japanese version or the international version, changing the screen size, and choosing the 3-D effect to display using the foreground or the background. There are a few graphical glitches and once in a while the frame rate dips a bit. Neither of these issues really affects game play however. In short, a highly recommended download. Nintendo can learn a thing or two from the quality of this 3-D classic. Full Review »
  3. Apr 24, 2015
    10
    Sonic The Hedgehog is in itself one of my favourite games of all time, and one I go back to for a run through every few months. The graphics,Sonic The Hedgehog is in itself one of my favourite games of all time, and one I go back to for a run through every few months. The graphics, music, and gameplay are all perfect examples of what made the early 90s the golden age of gaming.

    Adding 3D to the mix doesn't necessarily add anything to the experience, but here it is so well done that I usually find myself switching the 3D on for this game. The sense of depth with the parallax scrolling is better than many others, and it really feels like this game was made for it.

    Otherwise the game is exactly as you remember it, which is just fine with me.

    Some additions are welcome - you can select the version between Japanese and International, the game defaulting to the (some say) superior Japanese version, and I've felt no need to change it. You can also choose between the Megadrive or Megadrive 2 sound processing, which seems to affect the bass (MD2 having more). You can also turn on or off a level select screen and the spin dash as originally added to Sonic 2. Personally I have left both of these off - I get more pleasure from playing the game from the beginning and the spin dash doesn't add anything to the game. You are also able to change two aesthetic options - you can make the 3D effect "pop-out" of or "fall-in" to the screen, which work as they sound. I found pop-out to strain my eyes very quickly and to be more blurry than fall-in, which probably explains why most 3DS games tend to push the 3D into the screen rather than popping it out.

    All in all this is easily the best update I've experienced of the first Sonic game. So far beyond recommended.
    Full Review »