Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Mirror of Fate Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 229 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set twenty-five years after the events of Castlevania: Lords of Shadow, Mirror of Fate recounts the story of Gabriel's descendants, as they battle their own destiny in each era only to discover their true, shocking fate.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Mirror of Fate - Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 68
  2. Negative: 2 out of 68
  1. It's a compromise between action and exploration, between the series' history and contemporary trends, between traditional presentation and modern technology. It's the best Castlevania game we've played in years and it might be the best action game we've ever played on a handheld console.
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    85
    I personally enjoy the 2D Castlevania titles, so I was skeptical to play Mirror of Fate. Of course, I was also skeptical of another developer taking over one of the most beloved franchises in gaming history, and that turned out pretty great. Now we see MercurySteam taking the same approach to the franchise in the handheld space, and again with decent results.
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    Mirror of Fate is almost a unique offer and that is what is essential when you immerse yourself in this crossed destiny of four characters.
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    70
    Three times the protagonists gives you three times the number of toys and an engaging, if thoroughly convoluted, story, but it’s not without cost. What Simon, Trevor and Alucard give to the mechanics and narrative they take from its flow: you still feel gated, even when you’ve got all the gear.
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    70
    All things considered, Mirror of Fate is still a decent game, one that is merely injured by some elements of poor design. It’s a unique approach to rebooting a franchise, one that doesn’t seek to reestablish the rules, but instead utilize them as a guide, thus allowing this new version to travel its own direction.
  6. Mar 8, 2013
    70
    Mirror of Fate is a good game. Take Lords of Shadow, cut the playing time in half, limit the third dimension to an optical illusion and what remains is an action adventure game that plays like a dream. The only real concession that was made is a story that hardly adds anything, which makes this feel more like a spin-off. That's a shame, because it was supposed to be the link between Lords of Shadow and LoS 2.
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    25
    Castlevania isn’t brutish — it is a test of your agility and your willingness to overcome nearly impossible odds. Mirror of Fate really wants to dazzle you with clever puzzles and name dropping fan-favorite characters, but it can’t emulate the soul of the series.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 61
  2. Negative: 6 out of 61
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game is AMAZING..
    One of the best looking 3DS game and its a very good mix of OLD eps like Castlevania 3 or 4 and LOS, with some
    This game is AMAZING..
    One of the best looking 3DS game and its a very good mix of OLD eps like Castlevania 3 or 4 and LOS, with some Metroidvania features.
    Its really challenging, you will die a lot before you learn how to beat the ennemies and the QTE are not over-intruisive. The story is ok, but there is a lips synch issue on the cut scene..
    If you ONLY played the Metroidvania, maybe you will not like it on first attempt(you will if you get over what you except of such an episode)

    Anyway, it's a shame to not at least try this Castlevania before judging it, you will probably miss on of the good exclusive title in 3DS.
    Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2014
    10
    This is the best 3DS game, i loved the story and music, game-play is also good, i re-played this game, and i still want to play the HDThis is the best 3DS game, i loved the story and music, game-play is also good, i re-played this game, and i still want to play the HD version, this was better than clos2 in my opnion Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    This is fun action/explore game. I am glad that it has classic gameplay where the players skills are more being tested then a level grindfestThis is fun action/explore game. I am glad that it has classic gameplay where the players skills are more being tested then a level grindfest of the action RPGs that followed Symphony of the Night. I feel like I am experiencing an adventure not just trying to make my character level up to overpower enemies. This game feels fresh and has nicely executed graphics that gives it a comic book feel. The controls are responsive and feel intuitive to the game play. Play at night in the dark for full effect. Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    The atmosphere in this game is fantastic. The implementation of 3d in this game is the best I've seen on the 3ds with lots of depth andThe atmosphere in this game is fantastic. The implementation of 3d in this game is the best I've seen on the 3ds with lots of depth and variety of artistic gothic background (better than luigis mansion which is applauded for its 3d also). This adds tremendously to the immersion along with the outstanding orchestral soundtrack which is one of the best soundtracks in gaming period. (A true delight when listened to with earphones). The combat is tight and has a hefty weight to it which makes the player feel more connected to the action as you can feel your whip hitting your enemy. The block, dodge, grab, and other variety of moves all add to the gameplay experience. Nothing feels just simply tacked on. Everything is useful for a certain situation. The pacing and longevity of the game also feel more balanced than previous ds castlevania games. The shorter, tighter quest helps prevent the game from becoming a tedious grind. The game simply feels epic from the very beginning. It helps that the story told in mirror of fate is an emotional and heartfelt one. This makes the combat and traversal feel very purposeful and not simply added to kill a bunch of monsters along the way. Theres a large variety of creatures you encounter and awesome boss fights. The quick time events are perfectly implemented and make you feel like a badass. The puzzles are fun and the platforming feels natural and easy to maneuver. The sound effects are also top notch. Mirror of Fate returns to the darker feel of the earlier Castlevanias and its very exciting. This is one of the best mature games for the 3ds. Its refreshing to see the developers create such a mature experience for a nintendo system. Overall, this game is amazing and one of the best castlevania games ever! Hopefully we will see this series continue as you can see the developers are very passionate about making a good castlevania game. Looking forward to Lord of Shadows 2!!! Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    Castlevania Mirror Of Fate is a good game but it's not without its flaws. In ways it does look like a portable Devil May Cry game with itsCastlevania Mirror Of Fate is a good game but it's not without its flaws. In ways it does look like a portable Devil May Cry game with its style and gameplay. But given that it is a 3DS game and not a PS3 or Xbox 360 game give it a break. Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2013
    7
    I should start with the fact that i never played a previous castlevania game in my life. But i thought it was pretty good overall, it feelsI should start with the fact that i never played a previous castlevania game in my life. But i thought it was pretty good overall, it feels like a side scrolling God of War game a little, and is a lot shorter than i was hoping for but i liked it. The combat was pretty fun, if not extremely entailed, and the different powers were fun to experiment with. Nowhere near as many secrets as i wanted, from what i've heard about castlevania there are usually lots. (Unless that boss at the very beginning that you're "supposed" to lose to has something behind him.... Hmm.). I had fun while it lasted but its not the epic game i was hoping for, so it gets a 7. Expand
  7. May 13, 2014
    0
    this is the crappies castlevania game i have ever played not even near how good super castlevania was on super nintendo, and castlevaniathis is the crappies castlevania game i have ever played not even near how good super castlevania was on super nintendo, and castlevania symphony of the night. hope mercury system stops doing god of war clones Expand

See all 61 User Reviews