• Publisher: Nicalis
  • Release Date: Oct 4, 2012
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Oct 5, 2012
    95
    This new release has just as much content as any other version of the game, if not more. Overall, it stands right alongside Cave Story+ as one of the best, if not the best, version of Cave Story to date.
  2. 95
    Even without any additions, Cave Story is still the same amazing game people have raved about for eight years. It's one of the best 2D platformers in recent memory, and this version is worthwhile if you've never played it before or are itching for a reason to play it again.
  3. Oct 3, 2012
    91
    Minor complaints aside, it's great to see an enhanced version of Cave Story available on eShop. The stereoscopic 3D adds a little depth, which is nice, and the game controls as wonderfully as ever. But once again, choosing the best version depends on personal preference.
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    90
    It is a well-designed, challenging, fun, evocative experience that rewards multiple play-throughs.
  5. Oct 3, 2012
    90
    Cave Story may come from humble PC beginnings but it feels most in its element in this slick portable package. Nicalis has put together the definitive Cave Story compilation, but without any earth-shattering changes or additions it's ultimately just another way to play an all-time classic on familiar hardware. Granted, that's still a rather excellent thing, as the game is so pleasing to play that we're more than happy to delve into it yet again, and again.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 132
  1. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest games ever, now for download on the eShop, this great title looks even better with the 3D effect that make the spritesOne of the greatest games ever, now for download on the eShop, this great title looks even better with the 3D effect that make the sprites come to life even more. One of the jewels in the indie department. Get it now! Full Review »
  2. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    Him - "Cave Story is better than Metroid"

    Me ( die-hard Metroid fan ) - *cocks gun* "whadju say?" *shows me game* I beat it in a casual
    Him - "Cave Story is better than Metroid"

    Me ( die-hard Metroid fan ) - *cocks gun* "whadju say?"

    *shows me game* I beat it in a casual week.

    *head explodes. mind blown*

    Him - "You actually made this vague crappy dialogue a full review?"

    Me - *still dead*
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 30, 2014
    9
    Awesome game! Though I only ever beat it on easy...... ONCE I have gotten to the end on normal mode, but I can never get past Misery, and evenAwesome game! Though I only ever beat it on easy...... ONCE I have gotten to the end on normal mode, but I can never get past Misery, and even IF I beat her, I will most defiantly die on the Doctor. I even made it through the hard cave.... thing (whatever its called) to get here! Full Review »