Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
Buy On
  1. Sep 13, 2016
    92
    If you seek classic Japanese RPG in its most traditional way, you'll be fully satisfied with this superb Dragon Quest VII remake. An incredibly long adventure, lots of secrets, charismatic characters and a good variety of vocational classes.
  2. CD-Action
    Dec 12, 2016
    90
    The best kind of remake – it show the game the way you remember it, not the way it really was. [12/2016, p.76]
  3. Oct 4, 2016
    90
    You don’t often play an 80+ hour game that earns every second of the time it demands.
  4. Sep 27, 2016
    90
    Dragon Quest VII Fragments of the Forgotten Past is an amazing remake of a great jRPG from the past. The new gameplay features grant a better and brand new experience for both old and new players.
  5. Sep 27, 2016
    90
    Dragon Quest VII: Fragments of the Forgotten Past takes a fragment of gaming’s forgotten past and breathes new life into it. Some of the more hardcore Dragon Quest fans may find the reduction in job grinding time and streamlining the intro a negative change that dumbs down the game, but I would argue that it also makes the title more accessible and more fun.
  6. Sep 23, 2016
    90
    A charmingly old-school and endlessly engrossing title that boasts over a hundred hours’ worth of content, Dragon Quest VII: Fragments of the Forgotten Past earns a slot in any JRPG lovers’ library.
  7. 90
    Thankfully, this is a remaster of one of Square Enix’s all time classics, and it’s not arrogance from the developers at all in crafting a game that will take over 100 hours to complete. It’s a simple, and entirely appropriate confidence in the quality of the work that led the developers to craft such a lengthy quest back in 2000, and it remains every bit as worthy today.
  8. Sep 22, 2016
    90
    If a traditional menu-based RPG that spans nearly 100 hours isn't your idea of a good time, run away from Dragon Quest VII: Fragments of the Forgotten Past. Run away *screaming*. On the other hand, if you want to tuck into a great RPG for months at a time, you couldn't ask for a better companion.
  9. Sep 13, 2016
    90
    Dragon Quest VII is a compelling, detailed and enriching work that is going to envelop players in its adventures and lure them to its passionate narrative. Throughout its worlds, Dragon Quest VII puts the player at the center of a beautifully-crafted story that stands out among other games of its time...and of all times as well. A truly unmissable opus which will only marvel anyone who puts their hands on it.
  10. Sep 13, 2016
    90
    Like an old magical book, the dust just needed to be wiped off carefully to reawaken Dragon Quest VII's huge power. And that's exactly what ArtePiazza did, illuminating this world remelted through the third dimension, while multiple gameplay adjustments provide a more fluid experience. Fragments of the Past also kept very conservative traditions, hence embarking on such a long journey with so ancient - though proven - equipment demands real commitment. But by taking its time to tell the story, this generous episode delivers a sense of freedom, mystery, then a deep feeling of accomplishment at the end, treasures that are still rare these days.
  11. Sep 13, 2016
    90
    Dragon Quest VII is a JRPG masterpiece. If you played the PlayStation version back in the day, this is as perfect a remake as you could ask for, with beautiful 3D graphics, a smartly streamlined opening, and lots of welcome quality-of-life updates. And if this is your first time in Estard, you're in for a wonderful surprise — great writing, a fun class system, lovely animations and a stellar soundtrack make for a fully engrossing adventure throughout. It's a massive game, but don't let that scare you off; with short story-style pacing and a huge variety of settings, speech patterns, and scenarios, it feels less like an epic tome and more like a shelfful of storybooks stuffed into a 3DS cart. This is an absolute pleasure, and a must-play for RPG fans.
  12. 90
    It’s certainly a long game, and that can be daunting to many who just want a pick -up -and -play adventure. It also doesn’t change or revolutionize the RPG formula, but I would argue that it didn’t need to -; its simplicity is one of its best attributes. If you can put the time and effort into it, you’ll find that Dragon Quest VII is a charming, wonderful game that is full of heart - something that, in many ways, only a Dragon Quest game can accomplish.
  13. Sep 13, 2016
    90
    It is long and it moves slowly with its story, with lots of things to see and do on the side, and levelling up being very slow; however, it never gets boring and manages to hook players with a loveable story and characters served masterfully through witty dialogue, good visuals (if not technically very impressive), and a fantastic soundtrack by maestro Sugiyama-san.
  14. Sep 13, 2016
    90
    Dragon Quest 7: Fragments of the Forgotten Past is a huge but extremely charming and endearing game and stands as one of the best JRPGs I’ve played on the 3DS.
  15. 90
    Dragon Quest VII was already a great game when it released on PS1 15 years ago, but the remade Dragon Quest VII: Fragments of the Forgotten Past takes that experience and improves on it twofold. The rebuilt visuals look great on the 3DS and pair well with the already exceptional story and gameplay to make Dragon Quest VII: Fragments of the Forgotten Past the definitive experience for the seventh entry in this long running franchise.
  16. Sep 19, 2016
    88
    An old classic revitalized and modernized in the right ways, preserving its core and best features while streamlining other elements to make it not only more enjoyable, but also more penetrable for the average player. Highly recommended.
  17. Oct 16, 2016
    85
    With a lengthy adventure full of memorable story moments, Dragon Quest VII deserves a spot in every 3DS owner's library.
  18. Sep 24, 2016
    85
    Visually remastered and with adjusted gameplay: Dragon Quest 7 has mastered the transition to the 3DS in an impressive way.
  19. Sep 16, 2016
    85
    Time travelling is not impossible. Dragon Quest VII shows the past that many of us never had, and it's both nostalgic and satisfying. A must for J-RPG fans.
  20. 85
    While some people may not like the older sort of play style, I think it works great in this game. Couple that with a good story, mostly solid graphics, and an excellent musical score, and Dragon Quest VII is yet another “must-own” JRPG on the Nintendo 3DS.
  21. Sep 13, 2016
    85
    Fragments of a Forgotten World is a great remastered title. The team managed to rejuvenate the screenplay, the graphics and the gameplay, thanks to a great variety of "tasty" additions.
  22. Sep 13, 2016
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  23. Sep 13, 2016
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  24. Sep 13, 2016
    85
    Nearly every Dragon Quest has added something unique to the gaming landscape as a whole, but Dragon Quest VII: Fragments of the Forgotten Past is one of the best of the lot. As an RPG, VII simply begs to be played, though not necessarily on 3DS if you can swing it (or dig it out of a box somewhere).
  25. Sep 13, 2016
    85
    Dragon Quest VII was a great PSX JRPG and now it's a more solid experience: the best graphics, an upgrade class system that is well-balanced and lot of content to discover.
  26. Sep 18, 2016
    82
    Sure, there is some grinding involved but once you get your characters to certain levels, things start falling into place, especially with all the items and bonuses the game throws at you, not to mention the customisation options! If you love Japanese RPG games, you really need to check out Dragon Quest VII: Fragments of the Forgotten Past.
  27. Sep 13, 2016
    82
    This is a great example of how to make a remake while keeping the essence of the original adventure. It's a game that needs time, but it's also very rewarding.
  28. Sep 22, 2016
    81
    RPG veterans will likely love this game, whereas some of the more contemporary RPG players might find the game to move slowly.
  29. Nov 23, 2016
    80
    One of the most beloved RPGs of all time receives a new skin and elements. Although we can find some things a little bit old DQ still is a really nice rpg which is now portable.
  30. NF Magazine
    Nov 7, 2016
    80
    If you're looking for a true value and have some patience, Dragon Quest VII is epic indeed. [Issue #24 – November/December 2016, p.16M]
  31. Oct 5, 2016
    80
    The pull of this game, the thing that kept me going even as the in-game counter ticked on and on, is found in its exploration, its simply drawn but satisfying characters and its short, tightly knit adventures.
  32. Sep 29, 2016
    80
    Maybe the game runs too long, but the characters and narrative are likeable. The truth is that Dragon Quest 7: Fragments of the Forgotten Past is an all around good game that does too much in terms of length and too little to mix things up. Simply put, it’s a revamped classic from the PlayStation era made mobile, and that’s quite something special for Dragon Quest and JRPG aficionados alike.
  33. Sep 29, 2016
    80
    Despite a long list of small gripes, it’s hard not to see the majesty in [Dragon Quest VII].
  34. Sep 28, 2016
    80
    Dragon Quest VII is a leisurely adventure full of memorable vignettes and and locations. While it is very much a classic turn-based RPG, the style and tone of the game's narrative is something not often seen within the genre, even 16 years after its original release. Despite a handful of problems, DQ7 is well worth a playthrough if you can set aside the time for it.
  35. Sep 22, 2016
    80
    It has the old school feel that made it a classic, but some of what was left in feels a bit too old for a modern take. The pacing is the biggest issue here, and I would say players wanting to understand the game going in need to realize it takes a good 12-15 hours before this game even begins to start, but if you can hold out until it actually begins, you looking at a decently structured, thought out, and fun JRPG. If you’re looking for a more instant gratification game, you may want to look elsewhere.
  36. Sep 20, 2016
    80
    If you're after a truly traditional RPG experience with some modern 3DS trimmings, Dragon Quest VII is a safe bet that'll keep you busy till Christmas.
  37. Sep 18, 2016
    80
    It’s a throwback to the way things were, perfectly recreated for today’s audience.
  38. Sep 17, 2016
    80
    As far as remakes go, Square Enix shows time and time again how to do it right, and Dragon Quest VII for 3DS might be their best DQ revamp yet—a massive adventure packed with stories and characters, traveling across time and magical realms to plunge through volcanoes, caves, and underground lairs.
  39. Sep 16, 2016
    80
    If you like old school JRPGS and don’t know the 16 year old original or if you want to jumpstart your memories, you can’t miss this time traveling adventure.
  40. Sep 13, 2016
    80
    The new Dragon Quest VII is a very good title, probably one of the best chapters in the saga, thanks to a new graphical engine and some well implemented old-school gameplay mechanics. The portable adventure from Square Enix will probably keep you entertained for hundreds of hours.
  41. Sep 13, 2016
    80
    With the big push that Nintendo has given to Dragon Quest VII: Fragments of the Forgotten Past, it’s a shame that this is the black sheep of the main series. It’s not that it’s bad, far from it, and ArtePiazza have exceeded the original version in every way. Yet as much as I love the work they’ve done, the plodding nature of the game makes this the longest game in the series, for not necessarily the most compelling of reasons. A lovingly crafted game, and a dramatic improvement on the original, but not the best entry point to the franchise.
  42. Sep 13, 2016
    80
    Accessible and incredibly deep, if you’re looking for a time-sink you won’t get much better than Dragon Quest VII.
  43. Sep 13, 2016
    80
    Dragon Quest 7 Fragments of the Forgotten Past for Nintendo 3DS is a great Turn-based RPG. The game doesn't set itself apart from other RPGs, but with the iconic art style, it doesn't have to.
  44. Sep 13, 2016
    77
    Despite the much-needed visual overhaul, if you spent 100+ hours with the PlayStation original there’s maybe not quite enough in this 3DS update to tempt you back. But if Dragon Quest VII doesn’t always justify the significant length of its journey, anyone looking for some good story content to last them well into the winter months will find a portable RPG that dwarfs most of its console counterparts.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 13, 2016
    A love letter to die-hard DQ fans. See if you like Dragon Quest VIII when it comes to the 3DS—if you do, circle back around for this one.
  2. Sep 13, 2016
    Almost 50 hours in, I finally feel like I'm playing Dragon Quest 7 proper; I have access to job classes, the main story is kicking into gear, and I've located a casino where I can try my luck at a few mini games while I continue my adventure. I'm wary after so many hours of repetitive questing and simple combat, but it's motivating to see signs of good things to come.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 141
  1. Sep 16, 2016
    10
    This is a remake of Dragon Quest VII on the PS1, one of the best in the series. For those unfamiliar with the series, Dragon Quest is one ofThis is a remake of Dragon Quest VII on the PS1, one of the best in the series. For those unfamiliar with the series, Dragon Quest is one of the "big two" JRPG series, alongside Final Fantasy, but never had much success outside of Japan. The original DQVII was released very late on the PS1 life, and had bad outdated graphics and trashy controls. This made people avoid the title in favour of other rpgs, and in general DQVII was ignored by most. And that is a pity.

    Fast forward to 2016, and we can play the remake in the West, at last. And it is totally worth it: Great graphics, both in terms of engine and in terms of art style, great music, control improvements, gameplay improvements. The way it was meant to be played.

    If you have played a DQ game before, you know what to expect: Great story, charming characters, a lighthearted mood, tons of playtime and some grinding. The battles are the typical archaic JRPG battles, but for some reason they feel fresh and fast paced on this remake, so they won't bother you that much.

    I understand that the lower ratings come from people who don't like those archaic elements, and believe me, i hate those too, but for some reason i am always making an exception for Dragon Quest games: The typical jrpg battles are part of their appeal.

    One of the true gems on the 3DS, and a reason to own the console (at least until they port the game on other platforms).

    I am surprised at the relative low metascore. This game deserves more. So i am giving it a 10, and a recommendation if you own a 3DS and like RPGs. Don't miss this.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 9, 2016
    3
    Played it recently, reached Falrod, but couldn't finish it. It just SOOO BORING. The story is boring. Cutscenes and dialogues are too long andPlayed it recently, reached Falrod, but couldn't finish it. It just SOOO BORING. The story is boring. Cutscenes and dialogues are too long and boring. Battles are boring and with the best available equipment and proper tactics set, they are just autobattles. Also the targeting system is just stupid. Monsters are randomly divided into groups, so often you won't even know which monster will be attacked. It's hard to use any strategies with this. The characters are awful. I've played a lot of RPGs and Prince Kiefer and Maribel are just the worst I've ever seen. I hated them and didn't want to have anything with them. I was so disappointed, when I was forced to include them in my team. Graphic is pretty good, but it looks that the devs didn't know how to use LODs or just couldn't so very often trees and other objects will just appear right before you eyes. For a remake made specifically for 3DS this looks bad. Also there are only several NPC models, so you will quickly see a lot of generic characters you won't even want to speak too. Dragon Quest VII was my first game of the series and I think it will be the last one. It's just too boring for me. I've read that the DQ VIII is much better so I will give it a chance, but I'm afraid I will be disappointed. Better think twice before buying this game. If you haven't play any DQ before and don't feel sentiment towards the series you can get to the point where you will think, that you just lost precious hours of your life for a game that's not entertaining at all. Don't make my mistake. Full Review »
  3. Sep 28, 2016
    5
    Dragon Quest VII is a game that greatly overstays it's welcome. There is so much padded back and forth questing it felt at times like I wasDragon Quest VII is a game that greatly overstays it's welcome. There is so much padded back and forth questing it felt at times like I was playing an MMO. There are cut-scenes and story bits that continue to hit you over the head with ideas that are just completely unnecessary. There have been far too many times where I am actually shouting at the game "I GET IT." at it's attempts to "hint" at plot developments. Even the popular RPG trope of grinding is padded out. Halfway through the game items start costing several thousand gold, but one is lucky to walk away from a fight with a hundred gold. But you can't spend TOO much time grinding for the gold, or else you will out level the area and no longer be able to rank up in vocations. The story is good, but it spends so much time getting around to it that it becomes tiresome. I never felt this worn down by an RPG in my life. Not even Bravely Default got this repetitive and I completed all of it's endings. It takes so long to get to major game mechanics (I am looking at YOU Monster Meadows) that they just feel like more work on an already full inbox. I wanted to love you DQ7, I really did. But I can't. But I can't hate you either. Full Review »