• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Feb 5, 2019
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
Buy On
  1. NF Magazine
    Aug 28, 2019
    85
    Raise a frothy mug with Etrian Odyssey Nexus. It's a worthy goodbye party. [Issue #39 – May/June 2019, p. 76]
  2. Mar 8, 2019
    85
    All in all, Etrian Odyssey Nexus is a solid entry in the series. It doesn't reinvent the wheel but is sort of a grab bag of everything that makes Etrian Odyssey work. It's very familiar, and longtime series fans may find that this outing played it too safe, but casual fans and newcomers should consider it a near-perfect place to start the series. All in all, Nexus is a fantastic end to the long handheld history of the franchise, and it provides a lot of hope for whatever comes next.
  3. Feb 26, 2019
    80
    Although I prefer Beyond the Myth by a slight margin, Etrian Odyssey Nexus offers a familiar and rewarding dungeon crawling adventure that retro RPG fans will surely appreciate. Now that the series is done on 3DS, here's hoping we can play the next one on Switch.
  4. Feb 26, 2019
    75
    The vast array of options in Etrian Odyssey Nexus could easily scare away players who are unfamiliar with or who dislike RPGs, but Etrian Odyssey Nexus is welcoming to all skill levels and would be a great starting point for players new to dungeon-crawling RPGs. It’s also an enjoyable and fitting send-off as the series’ last installment on the 3DS.
  5. Feb 21, 2019
    78
    It is the ultimate dungeon crawler and fans are going to love it, although we miss some additions and a more elaborate story.
  6. Feb 19, 2019
    80
    This really feels like the end of Etrian Odyssey. The series has felt indelibly linked to the 3DS (and Nintendo DS before it) by way of the dual screen mechanics. That, combined with the wonderful send-off of a game here that revisits so many aspects and elements of previous entries in the series, feels like Etrian Odyssey Nexus really is a farewell. Atlus has already hinted at a future for the series, and if it can reach anything close to what has come before, it will be something truly special. While this entry is clearly made for long-time fans, and they will get the most out of it, this is also completely viable for people to enter right here and find a new series to get obsessed over. This is wonderfully old-school, in all the right ways, insanely addictive, and a perfect swan song.
  7. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    The swang song for the Etrian Odyssey saga on the DS / 3DS Nintendo consoles is a very deep, engaging and satisfying dungeon crawler adventure. A must have for its loyal fans.
  8. Feb 8, 2019
    70
    Testo: Etrian Odyssey Nexus is the last installment of the series for Nintendo 3DS and the last one for the handheld. The game is a love letter to the fans and to old-school.
  9. 80
    Etrian Odyssey Nexus is the last Nintendo 3DS in the legendary dungeon crawling series, and the franchise goes out with a bang, by bringing old and new characters along for one epic, final journey.
  10. Feb 7, 2019
    80
    Etrian Odyssey Nexus is the most refined entry in the series and a perfect love letter to fans who have played the franchise through the years.
  11. Feb 6, 2019
    81
    A great lovable goodbye to 3DS. Etrian Odyssey Nexus is loyal to the series and to its fan.
  12. 80
    It's going to be hard seeing Etrian Odyssey go... but it needs to. Without that mapping component, it would lose its core and soul, and with Etrian Odyssey Nexus, we've got a near-complete realisation of everything Etrian Odyssey has stood for for so many years. This is a good place to finish what has become a beloved series for many. Perhaps there will even be another dual screen handheld down the track, but in the meantime, farewell, dear friend!
  13. Feb 5, 2019
    85
    Lovers of the dungeon crawler are lucky with the latest Etrian game for Nintendo 3DS. Although without technical improvements, the gameplay has been expanded thanks to the 19 available classes, a new story, an outstanding soundtrack and more than 40 hours of fun.
  14. 70
    An enjoyable reminder of one of the best ever portable role-playing series, although it’s really more a greatest hits compilation than a new game.
  15. Feb 5, 2019
    80
    Despite this, Etrian Odyssey Nexus is an excellent dungeon crawler, overland locations and all. It’s not only the perfect antidote to grimmer adventures but it’s an addictive, creative, appealing outing that will have you coming back for more and rarely regretting your return.
  16. Feb 5, 2019
    75
    Etrian Odyssey Nexus is a bittersweet farewell to the series as we know it. It does not add much content to the classic formula, but gives to the players the biggest Etrian Odyssey adventure to date.
  17. Feb 4, 2019
    80
    Despite a few small stumbles, the grandiose adventure Etrian Odyssey Nexus delivers is a rewarding, engaging journey you'll be glad to take.
  18. Feb 4, 2019
    90
    The ultimate love letter to fans of the Etrian Odyssey universe, Nexus serves as a bittersweet—and gargantuan—farewell to the 3DS for a series perfectly suited to the platform.
  19. Feb 4, 2019
    80
    There’s something incredibly satisfying about creating a map and feeling as though the exploration is just as important as the combat when every little thing matters.
  20. Feb 4, 2019
    80
    Etrian Odyssey Nexus embraces nearly everything that the series has established so far in one final farewell package. It doesn't do anything new or unexpected, but it's a nice nostalgic bow on what has been a standout series on the DS and 3DS, and the systems are as solid as ever.
  21. 90
    Like Wario’s 2018 escapade, Nexus delights and relishes in its history, putting together the biggest amount of raw content in series history. However, if you’re very well versed in that line of games, some of the callbacks might come off as repetitive. For me, Nexus’ references were joyful; my memory of the past games flooded back to me as I went through the onslaught of dungeons.
  22. Feb 4, 2019
    80
    Not rocking the boat is actually a great way to sum up Etrian Odyssey Nexus. Atlus didn't set out to create a new, series-defining game with this entry, but rather a recap of the everything that's come before it. Being able to replay my favorite classes from the past is a treat, but it's really that spirit of adventure percolating through the entire package that has me hooked. That excitement, that sense of wonder, is why I gravitated towards the series nearly a decade ago and it's why I'll be there day one when it finally makes the jump to Switch.
  23. Feb 4, 2019
    85
    With the series ending its run on the 3DS, Etrian Odyssey Nexus proves itself to be the strongest entry in the franchise yet.
  24. Feb 4, 2019
    90
    Etrian Odyssey Nexus is the perfect send off for the best DRPG franchise that honestly won't be the same without a dual screen system.
  25. Feb 4, 2019
    80
    Etrian Odyssey Nexus has a ton of things to do, but I’ve done them all before. While this shouldn’t shake off fans of the series from diving in to its last handheld entry, the love letter to the franchise can feel uninspired with its recreations of the past. Even for a series built on a classic and time-tested formula for dungeon crawling, Nexus relies too heavily on the substance of its predecessors.
  26. 80
    Basically, Etrian Odyssey Nexus perfectly satisfies its target audience, and it doesn’t try to do anything else.
  27. Feb 4, 2019
    90
    Given that the Etrian Odyssey series depends so heavily on the dual-screen design of Nintendo’s departing family of handhelds, it’s not entirely clear what form (if any) the series will take going forward. Even so, if Etrian Odyssey Nexus is to be the final entry in this much-beloved series, we can’t think of a better way for it to go out. Staggering amounts of character customization, a beautifully arranged soundtrack, dozens of hours of content, and excellent usage of stereoscopic 3D all combine to make this the definitive Etrian Odyssey experience. We’d recommend Etrian Odyssey Nexus to both longtime fans and newcomers looking to see what all the fuss is about; this is one of the deepest and most involved RPGs you’re likely to find on the 3DS, and it stands as a compelling reason to dust off Nintendo’s handheld once more.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 7 out of 25
  1. Feb 9, 2019
    9
    I like this game so much that I made an account to give it a positive review!

    Having only gotten into the series recently (played a bit of
    I like this game so much that I made an account to give it a positive review!

    Having only gotten into the series recently (played a bit of EOU1) I'm not coming into Nexus as a veteran who has seen it all. It's definitely a bit tough starting out because:

    A) there are so many classes to choose from; I ended up making one of every class and switching around a few times before I found a party I was happy with

    B) The game is rather difficult and has a different pace than most JRPGs I'm used to. You don't need to endlessly grind low-level mobs; better to get to the point where you can take out a FOE miniboss or two and do runs into the jungle farming them (reminds me of Monster Hunter). That said, even regular mobs are pretty challenging. This game is definitely harder than EOU1 on a similar difficulty! (Or I'm just bad at teambuilding)

    Some pros:

    - Large class selection
    - Great deal of customization of looks, skills, etc.
    - Good aesthetics; beautiful 3D visuals and music
    - Satisfying gameplay loop
    - Mapping mechanic is fun and a great use of the dual screens
    - Battle mechanics are deep and interesting

    Cons:

    - The game throws a lot at you and assumes you're pretty familiar with the classes. Most other things are explained well though.
    - I feel like the battle interface could have used the touchscreen better, and I don't see an option to configure the auto-battle or re-organize skills, both of which would speed things up
    - Class selection, though large at 19, doesn't feel terrible balanced. It seems like 3/4 of the classes want to be on the front line.
    - Early game can be very difficult if you don't choose "default" classes like Medic and Protector who are simple to choose the correct skills, battle location and equipment for.

    Overall, I'd highly recommend this game and it's my new obsession, but I caution you to try out a basic party setup or do a little research to avoid early-game frustration.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 9, 2019
    4
    I'd love to give this a green score, but I just can't... because it's cobbled together recycled content from previous games. Like not even anI'd love to give this a green score, but I just can't... because it's cobbled together recycled content from previous games. Like not even an homage to them, but *blatant* copy/pasting of previous games.

    While I am rather enjoying it for what it is, I'd much rather see NEW stuff.

    Edit: Class balance is a complete joke. Of 19 classes, there's one INT caster and one buffer. And balance between the remaining classes is very poor.

    The game has major pacing issues and is slower than previous EO games. Subclasses take forever to unlock. And it's just not as fun as previous EO games.

    I'm lowering the score because it basically requires people to buy the DLC to play, which is really slimy. Hopefully, the series will just die here.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 30, 2019
    9
    A great game to the series, however it’s fun but it doesn’t add something new which is fine for people but not me.