User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 297 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 297
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 10, 2014
    1
    The sheer step back from the next game is so daunting that I can't even begin to enjoy the gameplay. Also every 2 minutes the game stops to tell you how to do something EXACTLY as simple as jumping. There is an old movie saying that goes "show don't tell", and i feel like if that was applied to Dream Team the game would be much better. The constant unskippable help dialogues make this gameThe sheer step back from the next game is so daunting that I can't even begin to enjoy the gameplay. Also every 2 minutes the game stops to tell you how to do something EXACTLY as simple as jumping. There is an old movie saying that goes "show don't tell", and i feel like if that was applied to Dream Team the game would be much better. The constant unskippable help dialogues make this game insanely boring. Even 5 year olds would be able to figure out how to play the game just like the 5 year olds of the NES and SNES and N64 era without game breaking boring text dialogues.

    It is sad that the sequel to a masterpiece like Bowser's Inside Story could be so boring and mocking.
    Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    4
    "Mario & Luigi: Dream Team Bros."? More like "Tutorial Team" or "Hand-Holding: The Video Game"

    Of all the things this game does right, there is one important thing it gets completely wrong, and that is letting the playing access the actual game. The game constantly talks to you with unskippable dialogue, and as charming as funny as it can be the game is basically just one long tutorial.
    "Mario & Luigi: Dream Team Bros."? More like "Tutorial Team" or "Hand-Holding: The Video Game"

    Of all the things this game does right, there is one important thing it gets completely wrong, and that is letting the playing access the actual game. The game constantly talks to you with unskippable dialogue, and as charming as funny as it can be the game is basically just one long tutorial. 6 hours into the game and you won't even have seen half of the hand-holding in this game. It pauses, re-checks if you've got basic mechanics down, spoils puzzles ahead of time etc. and in the end you just stop enjoying it (if you're like me).

    Consider buying this game carefully. If you like freedom, exploration and sense of discovery you won't like this one. It keeps talking to you as if you're playing your first video game and there is no way to turn it off. There's a great little game in there someway, but the narrative elements of Dream Team insists on hindering your enjoyment of it.

    This is a big disappointment for someone who liked previous entries in the franchise, and it is definitely not worth all the praise it's gotten.
    Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2014
    2
    This is not a good game at all. I will not waste time on the amount of handholding and how slow it is to start, i have 15 hours in the game and i still have no way to port in different areas, and have to walk my way around the HUGE map. Every single gimmick is used to justify the 3ds hardware, so gyro controls that are bad and imprecise, stylus fight which are stupid and unfunny, enemiesThis is not a good game at all. I will not waste time on the amount of handholding and how slow it is to start, i have 15 hours in the game and i still have no way to port in different areas, and have to walk my way around the HUGE map. Every single gimmick is used to justify the 3ds hardware, so gyro controls that are bad and imprecise, stylus fight which are stupid and unfunny, enemies attacks that are only based on die and retry...but what kills it is the lack of a difficulty setting. THIS GAME IS BRUTALLY, DISHONESTLY, UNJUSTLY DIFFICULT AND PUNISHING but after destroying you in unfair battles it will allow you to fight the same battle in easy mode, where you do 4 times the damage and enemies do one fourth of the damage - some attacks are also in slow motion so they are easy to perform or dodge. This is frankly ridiculous, why not allow me to choose a difficulty at start instead of giving me something akin to godmode after unfairly destroying me? I hate this game with a passion, i am not having any fun, but i am plowing through just because 40 euros are a lot of money. Do not buy, not even rent, not even used. This game is a spit in the face of the customers. Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2017
    4
    Probably the worst out the "Mario & Luigi" franchise and the worst of the "Year of Luigi" games. Why you ask? Because of the lack of any actual puzzles, unfairly hard boss battles, and constant tutorials.

    Exploring around the real world is okay, simply just the same as every other entry in the series, but entering into Luigi's dreams is not as exciting as the commercials make them
    Probably the worst out the "Mario & Luigi" franchise and the worst of the "Year of Luigi" games. Why you ask? Because of the lack of any actual puzzles, unfairly hard boss battles, and constant tutorials.

    Exploring around the real world is okay, simply just the same as every other entry in the series, but entering into Luigi's dreams is not as exciting as the commercials make them appear to be. They are simply 2D platforming levels that can get almost too gimmicky, as the only way to pass through certain obstacles in your path is to poke around Luigi's face. These moments can seem fun at first, but they get old and tedious very soon.

    While the battle system is, again, completely normal in the real world, it's a whole 'nother ball game in the dream world. You play as just Mario, with Luigi's "dream power" in him. may not seem like it, but having one of the bros. gone is a huge deal. That means you only get one turn to attack. And if Mario dies, it's GAME OVER just like that! But don't get me started on the boss battles, they are unfairly difficult to dodge and have a crap ton of HP. And there's no Retry Clocks like in "Bowser's Inside Story", you either start over where you last save, or cheat the boss by selecting "Easy Mode".

    Then there's the constant tutorials. If you've played at least one of the "Mario & Luigi" titles, you've know basic things like moving and jumping right? Well this game feeds you these unskippable tutorials like you're a 2 year old. And the same goes for every piece of dialogue the NPCs have to say: long, boring and unfunny.

    You can't say Nintendo didn't try to make another title in the series as good as "Bowser's Inside Story", the graphics are beautiful, and so is the music, but they just needed to work on the concept a little more and forget about the constant tutorials.
    Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2019
    0
    This game is so bad that I created an account just to say how bad it is. Not only is it the worst mario rpg game, it's also one of the worst rpg games. It's basically the "super mario maker" of the series, not because you can create things, but because it's so bad it's what you'd expect out of a super mario maker user level. at no point in playing through the entire game was fun had.
    You
    This game is so bad that I created an account just to say how bad it is. Not only is it the worst mario rpg game, it's also one of the worst rpg games. It's basically the "super mario maker" of the series, not because you can create things, but because it's so bad it's what you'd expect out of a super mario maker user level. at no point in playing through the entire game was fun had.
    You have these attacks that go on for 4 hours, and after you play the entire sequence of dance dance revolution, you're rewarded by dealing the enemy almost double digit damage, but it's more like 6, but if you mess up the 4 hour sequence of dodging you take 99999999999999 damage. awful game, do not play even if you get it for free. even if you're paid to play it.
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 7, 2013
    90
    A dreamy adventure in a dreamy world. Thankfully Mario's vacations always end in crisis, since they seem to make excellent games. Dream Team Bros is both funny and sympathetic at the same time. [Aug 2013]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 19, 2013
    80
    Mario along with Luigi mash their competition by far with their new ideas, and they also manage to entertain both the young and the old ones. [Issue#232]
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    90
    The battles prove your skill, the humor will make you laugh and the design of La Dormita and its dream-pendant are gorgeous.