Mario Party: Island Tour Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game features seven different game boards, each with its own set of rules. The game offers 81 new mini-games that test speed, concentration and luck. In addition to the board game elements, players are be able to play mini-games exclusively or try their hands at a 30-floor tower climb,The game features seven different game boards, each with its own set of rules. The game offers 81 new mini-games that test speed, concentration and luck. In addition to the board game elements, players are be able to play mini-games exclusively or try their hands at a 30-floor tower climb, AR Card games and StreetPass battles. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 47
  2. Negative: 6 out of 47
  1. 85
    A fantastic addition for the 3DS. The graphics are crisp and utilize 3D well, while the music fits each game and board without becoming monotonous. Every mode and board is easy to pick up and play with anyone, anytime.. Island Tour is a perfect balance of old and new that keeps the game fresh with playing styles to meet every need.
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    70
    It was nice to have a brief but satisfying match while out and about.
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    65
    Nintendo is a master at finding a specific target audience and offer them exactly what they want, sometimes even with a little less quality than usual. Mario Party: Island Tour does just that, speaking to the more casual audience among the owners of Nintendo 3DS.
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    Board game enthusiasts will find themselves bored quickly, the average player will only break it out when there are friends around—which is the point, and I guess with friends the skill-based games aren’t too bad—and Party aficionados will be able to scratch that virtual itch.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    58
    This doesn’t hold up even compared to previous portable Mario Party titles, and it’s one of the few Nintendo published titles you can safely skip this holiday season.
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    50
    One Person doesn't make a party, and when trying to make my friends play this with me they all instantly wanna switch to Mario Party 9 instead.
  7. Nov 22, 2013
    40
    Unfortunately, no amount of options can overcome the inane gameplay. I’ve defended the series in the past as harmless, dumb fun, but Island Tour is wholly unenjoyable.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 57
  2. Negative: 19 out of 57
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mario Party: Island Tour isn't perfect, as is any Mario Party game, but I feel like it stands up to its console competitors. The minigames are fun, the boards are unique, and the multiplayer is amazing. The only downside is Bowser's Tower. It ultimately sullied my single-player experience as I found out that it doesn't really end. I have climbed the tower seven times now, and each time I find my character, Toad, being trolled by Bowser, saying that the Bowser I defeated was a decoy, and then punching me off the tower. It gets very annoying, and I have yet to see a definite storyline or a plausible ending. Maybe if I use a different character? If someone has a way to see a different ending, do tell me.

    Overall, Mario Party: Island Tour is charming, fun, and a very good time to be had. Too bad Bowser had to ruin it from being the best handheld installment. 8.75/10
    Expand
  2. Jan 6, 2015
    9
    This game is a lot better that what everyone is making it out to be, the minigames could be a bit longer but overall I am very pleasant withThis game is a lot better that what everyone is making it out to be, the minigames could be a bit longer but overall I am very pleasant with it.
    I don´t know how people can give it a 6.2/10, for me it´s a 9/10!
    Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    Mario Party: Island Tour is pretty good, but does have some issues. First, the single player mode is kinda boring. The boards on this game isMario Party: Island Tour is pretty good, but does have some issues. First, the single player mode is kinda boring. The boards on this game is fun, but the music is a little lack. Also, the minigames aren't that great unless your playing with a friend. I was looking forward to this game, but was sorda disappointed. Its an okay game, but doesn't have many flaws. With me, scoring a 7. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2014
    6
    Mario Party: Island Tour is an enjoyable game, but I find it based too much on luck. The minigames are somewhat short and are not NintendoMario Party: Island Tour is an enjoyable game, but I find it based too much on luck. The minigames are somewhat short and are not Nintendo quality. The boards are short and stray too far away from the classic Mario Party experience. I was hoping Nintendo would make Island Tour a classic Mario Party game where you collect stars and coins but they decided to change that again and make something totally different and in my opinion, not as good. For the next Mario Party game, Nintendo should go back and make a proper Mario Party game. I probably wouldn't mind if they released some DLC for Island Tour with a more classic Mario Party board. I would totally buy that! The sound effects and music are also the same ones from Mario Party 9 so if you've played that game before, you'll get tired of the same sound effects and music quickly. This Mario Party game also seems to give too many hints and tutorials (ex. Yellow Toad talks to you and gives you hints every turn). Overall, Mario Party: Island Tour is not a bad game but is not what I was expecting from a Nintendo Mario Party game. It is good for a good pick-up-and-play and does have some fun minigames. Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2016
    5
    Yet another Mario party game where everything's based on luck, the first time I played this was with download play with my friend, and I'llYet another Mario party game where everything's based on luck, the first time I played this was with download play with my friend, and I'll admit, it was actually kinda fun, so I decided to pick it up, and god was it boaring, I didn't feel any of the joy I felt when I was playing with my friend, instead I just wanted to stop and play something else, the only complement I can give this game is that it's better than Mario party 10 Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2015
    4
    Nintendo's getting Lazy, I saw it with Mario kart 7 now with this... This time they couldn't be bothered to do the extra bit of programming toNintendo's getting Lazy, I saw it with Mario kart 7 now with this... This time they couldn't be bothered to do the extra bit of programming to make this an online multiplayer, or maybe the 3DS can't keep up with the times then they should put out a better machine that can...It's all about Top multiplayer games... Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2017
    0
    I didn't know this but I guess there was a time where I almost thought this game was worth the money because I had this game rated at a nine.I didn't know this but I guess there was a time where I almost thought this game was worth the money because I had this game rated at a nine. No, it doesn't even deserve a 1. It deserves nothing because it feels like they just slapped mario party on the front of some garbage new game. I can't believe they ruined the series like this and I can assure anyone that I would never play this again or get any of the new mario parties. They ruined this Expand

See all 57 User Reviews