• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jul 15, 2016
Monster Hunter Generations Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Monster Hunter Generations is the most customizable Monster Hunter experience to date, and serves as a fitting tribute to the last decade of the series with a blend of brand new areas and monsters, and returning fan-favorites that have been updated and adapted to the newest generation ofMonster Hunter Generations is the most customizable Monster Hunter experience to date, and serves as a fitting tribute to the last decade of the series with a blend of brand new areas and monsters, and returning fan-favorites that have been updated and adapted to the newest generation of gameplay. Monster Hunter Generations introduces new gameplay mechanics including Styles and Hunter Arts that can further refine a very personalized playstyle. Mount monsters from mid-air using the Aerial style or make the most out of the advantageous Hunter Arts abilities with the Striker style. Hunter Arts are visually striking, indispensable combat skills and power-ups that hunters using any style or weapon can equip. Along the hunter's journey, players must defend each of the game's four villages from new major threats—the Fated Four. With hundreds of quests in store, there are tons of challenges to tackle in a solo adventure, and also via local or online play with up to three other hunters. [Nintendo] Expand
Watch Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Monster Hunter Generations - Okami Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. Jul 15, 2016
    100
    The sheer volume of quests and weapons and monsters also means that, quite apart from being a brilliant game, this has incalculable longevity. The life of a hunter isn’t for everyone. But if killing something massive, carving it up, and making a snazzy hat seems in any way appealing, then Monster Hunter Generations might be your game of the year.
  2. Jul 12, 2016
    93
    Generations is one of the best chapters of the Monster Hunter saga, a game that will please newcomers and fans in equal measure, thanks to the introductions of arts and styles. A bold step in the right direction, a more than welcome breath of fresh air.
  3. Jul 12, 2016
    90
    Monster Hunter Generations is a great game. Hardcore fans will enjoy its well known formula and beginners will find in it the most accessible entry in all the series. More from what you would expect from Capcom, but with new and well implemented gameplay mechanics in form of combat style and special abilities.
  4. Aug 16, 2016
    85
    Generations holds everything that makes the series to be so cherished. Its mistakes, while inconvenient, are the results of the desire of creating something different and desire of honor a legacy at the same time.
  5. NF Magazine
    Sep 7, 2016
    80
    Generations feels like a half-step sequel in the series instead of a full leap into new territory. [Issue #23 – September/October 2016, p.74]
  6. Jul 12, 2016
    80
    New features like the Hunter Styles and Arts and Prowler mode are a gift to less experienced players, while the sheer wealth of content and great online play will please long-term fans.
  7. Aug 12, 2016
    65
    I still think that Monster Hunter belongs on a big screen. Having said that, even without a lot of innovation and relying on well-known mechanics this hunt still manages to entertain.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 51
  2. Negative: 5 out of 51
  1. Nov 4, 2017
    10
    Monster Hunter Generations is EXACTLY what I hoped it would be. It is a culmination of all of the previous games with the largest pool ofMonster Hunter Generations is EXACTLY what I hoped it would be. It is a culmination of all of the previous games with the largest pool of content to date. The only con I can think of is that the graphics don't seem as great as MH4U or MH3U. Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2016
    10
    i love this game so much, best monster hunter series.
    finally every hunter can use skill and jump
    graphic same as MH4U but i dont care about
    i love this game so much, best monster hunter series.
    finally every hunter can use skill and jump
    graphic same as MH4U but i dont care about this
    good story and a lot of offline quest but we stuck in HR7 not G-Rank
    reappears monster from MH2-MH4 and new monsters n evolution
    Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2016
    10
    This is, hands down, the best MH game in its illustrious series. The new monsters are fantastic, the hunter arts are unbelievably cool, andThis is, hands down, the best MH game in its illustrious series. The new monsters are fantastic, the hunter arts are unbelievably cool, and the guild gals are adorable as ever. I cannot possibly recommend it enough. Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2018
    9
    I personally liked the game. This is my first MH game, and it does not disappoint. It is a solid game; the controls work well, the visuals areI personally liked the game. This is my first MH game, and it does not disappoint. It is a solid game; the controls work well, the visuals are solid, and the soundtrack is very nice. It definitely suits the 3DS well, as it is very easy to pick up and play, as the in-game manuals are very helpful. Out of all things, the only thing I have issue with is that the menus are a bit difficult, but overall it is a solid game. Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2016
    8
    Generations adds new Hunter Styles, Arts, improved/additional skills and a mix of some of the best Monsters of all time to create one of theGenerations adds new Hunter Styles, Arts, improved/additional skills and a mix of some of the best Monsters of all time to create one of the best games in the Monster Hunter series yet!

    Ever since the original games, every weapon has had relatively the same style of fighting. However with the new “Art Styles”, combat sees some new, dynamic play-styles. Aerial style, much like the bug staff, allows you to launch on top of monsters and topple them with ease. Striker is focused on all-out attacking and faster charging of Arts and Adept is all about swift evades and devastating counterattacks. Of course there’s still the old standard “Guild” style which is the only one that doesn’t augment your moves in favor of new mechanics. Each new style, for any weapon, was a bit hard to learn but once you settled into it, the combat felt refreshed. The option to fluidly swap styles between fights was important, allowing you to change up your technique vs different monsters. Some monsters telegraph their moves often, opening them up to counter-attack opportunities while others are big, stationary brutes, making it much more efficient to attack aerially.

    Alongside the new Styles are Hunter Arts, which are basically super-moves based off your weapon choice. As an example, the Long Sword has a move called Sakura Slash which after a short jump back, your character will unleash two sweeping slashes and upon hitting the monster, will raise your spirit gauge one level and unleash a series of after-image cuts like an early Japanese anime. Unfortunately, there’s not all that much diversity in the Hunter Arts with only about 3 different moves but it’s a step in the right direction. Maybe in the next entry…

    Armor and weapon skills saw a huge upgrade as well, giving even more depth to the play-styles with completely new combinations. As an Aerial Long Sword player, I would sometime use a combination of Mounting, Evasion and the new skill Vault so that I could topple monsters faster, position myself better with evades and deal more damage while going for the dunk. They even added “Village Skills” which were a combination of things like “Ice Resist + Sharpener” or “Fire Resist + Gluttony”. It made experimenting with different styles and skills all the more fun.

    I could go on for days on how the styles and Arts has changed up the combat but I feel like the lineup of boss monsters needs to get some solid praise as well. Generations brings in all of the staple classics like the Zinogre, Rathian, Rathalos and Tigrex; but it also adds new awesome fights like the new “starting” monster, the Great Maccao which is a jumping raptor similar to the Velocidrome. There’s also the games flagmonster-hunter-picship monster, the Glavenus, which I can only explain as a more rampagey Deviljho with a razor-sharp blade for a tail that it ignites just so it can set you on fire to add insult to injury. Oh also, it also enjoys whipping it’s flaming tail around to send huge waves of flames directly at you. It’s an intense, but fun fight. On top of that, certain classic monsters like the Lagiacrus from 3U have gained new moves and patterns, making the fights you might’ve remember completely fresh. There are so many Elder Dragons in the late game it’s unreal. I don’t want to give any surprises away but just know that your time is well rewarded if you can make it up to the higher ranked fights with some of these beasts.

    Capcom really did listen to their player community again by trying to implement some more Quality of Life improvements, like being able to cook multiple meats at the town rather than the horribly painful process of previous games where you would have to cook one at a time out in the field. Oh my god, it was painful and I never want to go back. However, on the other side, with so many different systems to manage between quests, I still noticed that familiar mini-game fatigue. Between, running a farm, maintaining a Palico Army, grindy quests and regular village upkeep, it became much-more tedious than it should’ve been.

    Overall: 8/10
    + Diverse New Monsters/Tons of Old Favorites/Revamped AI
    + New Arts and Skills Keep the Combat Fresh
    + Palico Hunter
    + Quality of Life Improvements
    + Multiplayer!!!
    - Slow Start
    - Grinding Quests

    Recommend for: Anyone looking for challenging but rewarding boss fights with huge Dragons, solo or cooperatively with friends. Ol’ WoW raiders and fans of Shadow of Colossus.
    Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2016
    8
    Well...
    Monster Hunter Generations is like a "Revolutionary" game for the Main Series.
    As we know. all the new stuff (Like Hunting Styles,
    Well...
    Monster Hunter Generations is like a "Revolutionary" game for the Main Series.
    As we know. all the new stuff (Like Hunting Styles, Hunter Arts, New Weapon Upgrade System)
    Is pretty cool..
    The new monsters are smooth and cool..
    You can spent pretty much time playing this.
    Many people say that the lack of G-Rank in this game makes it bad but hey.. MHP3rd was an incredible game and it didn´t had G-Rank.
    I´m rating it 8 because I think there is some stuff that is not pretty well polished.. such as:
    * Palicoes feels more useless than ever before.
    * Weapon Upgrading will make you stuck sometimes.
    * Some monsters are pretty much nerfed (such as Yian Garuga)
    * Village quest is more about gathering stuff for the NPCs that wont let you in peace never....
    * I feel like this game must have some good elders.. such as Fatalis.
    Well... that´s all you have to notice. At least from me :)
    Have a good time.
    °Ahuhu
    Expand
  7. May 20, 2020
    0
    GAME PLAY TRASH AND DUMPERSTER DOO DOO
    GRAPHICS ATTOCIOUS
    THE ONLU THING EXOTIC ABOUT THIS GAME IS HOW PEOPLE LIKE IT YEAH ETHAN IM TALKING TO
    GAME PLAY TRASH AND DUMPERSTER DOO DOO
    GRAPHICS ATTOCIOUS
    THE ONLU THING EXOTIC ABOUT THIS GAME IS HOW PEOPLE LIKE IT
    YEAH ETHAN IM TALKING TO U!
    AND YOU TOO JOSHUA!
    THIS GAME WAS A WASTE OF MY 20$
    Expand

See all 51 User Reviews