Nintendo Badge Arcade Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Grab all the Nintendo-themed badges you can in this fun-filled crane-machine game. Then arrage them into a custome HOME Menu theme for your Nintendo 3DS system! Unleash your creativity with dozens of digital badges to collect, and match them to themed backgrounds. Start your collection todayGrab all the Nintendo-themed badges you can in this fun-filled crane-machine game. Then arrage them into a custome HOME Menu theme for your Nintendo 3DS system! Unleash your creativity with dozens of digital badges to collect, and match them to themed backgrounds. Start your collection today with this free-to-start download on Nintendo eShop!

    Purchase credits and drop them into any machine of your choosing. The number of credits you use gives you a limited number of tries, so use them wisely! There are many different machines that contain badges from popular Nintendo series such as Super Mario Bros., Mario Kart, Animal Crossing, and more. The machines can be tricky, so use your skill along with gravity, slippery surfaces, and chain reactions to your advantage to nab as many badges as possible! Don't forget that practice makes perfect -- use five free daily tries on the Practice Machine to gain experience, and trade in dummy badges for real credits.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. CD-Action
    Mar 4, 2016
    90
    Remember to remove your credit card information before launching Nintendo Badge Arcade, because the game might be free, but it will convince you to cough up money. [02/2016, p.67]
  2. 60
    I'd be lying if I said Nintendo Badge Arcade wasn't addictive; it was clearly designed that way. That said, this is the most disgustingly blatant, money grabbing game Nintendo has ever released.
  3. Nov 24, 2015
    50
    It’s a rather transparent and honest take on free-to-play monitisation, and as long as you’re sensible enough to either abstain from paying any money, or to set yourself a budget, then there’s a little bit of fun here for you.
  4. Dec 13, 2015
    20
    Nintendo Badge Arcade is the bare minimum of what could be sold as a game. It is a watered down digital crane game at the price of a full-sized one with physical prizes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 12
  2. Negative: 9 out of 12
  1. Jan 17, 2016
    8
    Badge arcade is a free-to-play crane game in which you try to grab prices (badges you can place on your 3ds home menu). Everyday you get 5Badge arcade is a free-to-play crane game in which you try to grab prices (badges you can place on your 3ds home menu). Everyday you get 5 practice plays with which you can also win free plays for the real thing. I haven't spent a single buck on this game and played it nearly everyday for more than a month now. I don't even care for the badges all too much but operating these cranes just gives me small thrills every time. I'll win one or two free plays on most days, but have won up to four on some days. This game is only good for about 5 minutes of fun everyday (when you don't buy extra credits), but I think it's precisely the limited nature of this game that keeps me coming back. The game takes about a minute to load on an 'old' 3ds, but even this I don't really mind because the music it plays while loading is just so amazingly cheerful and uplifting. I never would have guessed I would like this game so much but I do. It's just very well made. I doesn't feel like money grabbing to me, like some other reviewers suggest. I think it's very fair actually. You can try it for free and even enjoy it for free if you want. If you do decide to pay for it, you know what you are getting into and get exactly what you pay for. I'd recommend giving this one a try at least. Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2018
    7
    Nintendo Badge Arcade is an addictive game, and it's nice to unlock little badges for your 3DS Home Menu. However, microtransactions impedeNintendo Badge Arcade is an addictive game, and it's nice to unlock little badges for your 3DS Home Menu. However, microtransactions impede the experience. Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2019
    5
    I love the badges and the Arcade Bunny character, but the daily tries don't do too much if you want to collect sets.
  4. Feb 4, 2016
    2
    The game's a con. The bunny is just after your kids' money - money that you put into their account to buy REAL games with!

    We also have a
    The game's a con. The bunny is just after your kids' money - money that you put into their account to buy REAL games with!

    We also have a 2DS and none of the badges stick to the desktop! We've tried everything, but they just ping back into the little collection/display box as soon as the stylus is lifted from the image.

    Yes, granted, if it were a free "game" it may give the kids something extra to do, but they're coaxed by a cute little pink rabbit into wasting money on - wait for it - PICTURES.

    I honestly could not recommend this title to anyone. The abhorrent loading times when switching the "game" on should be a red flag for the what's to come.
    Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2015
    1
    It's a crane game simulation. You might win elements for decorating your 3DS home screen playing this, but on the other side, it's asking youIt's a crane game simulation. You might win elements for decorating your 3DS home screen playing this, but on the other side, it's asking you to pay similar prices to the real crane games : 1€/1$ for 5 plays, which is launching the crane 5 times.

    Sure it has some training spot, but at best you will have one play everyday. At best. It is a real cash-grab.
    Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2016
    1
    Nintendo Badge Arcade is an attempt by Nintendo to grab whatever is left of your wallet. This "game" is really bad. I put "game" in quotationNintendo Badge Arcade is an attempt by Nintendo to grab whatever is left of your wallet. This "game" is really bad. I put "game" in quotation marks because it isn't really a game; it is a 1-to-1 crane machine simulator. The odds of winning are slim and you pay almost the same amount of money for 5 plays as a real crane machine (How realistic). Even though the badges are great, they don't come even close to saving this sorry excuse of a "game". Also, the bunny is very annoying.

    Final Score: 1 out of 10 (Absolute Trash!)

    Positives:
    + Nice Badges

    Negatives:
    - Cash Grab
    - Luck-Based
    - The Bunny is Annoying!!!
    Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2015
    1
    What a horrible attempt at a cash-grab this game is. The amount of plays you can get daily is a bit on the low side and if you want to playWhat a horrible attempt at a cash-grab this game is. The amount of plays you can get daily is a bit on the low side and if you want to play more, it's 1€ (or equivalent) for 5 plays. And good luck making those five chances to count as most stages are made so that you will fail (just like carnival games - So realistic!). And the "mascot" of the game tries it's best to make you (or your kid) pay for those plays so hard it's not even funny. The only redeeming factor for this "game" is that some of the badges look pretty cool and that the daily plays can be enough to get those ones. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews