User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 614 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 614
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 20, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game itself has more and better content than the already decent Sun/Moon games. Also worth saying this generation brought to the main series something I always loved in the mystery dungeons spin-offs: an exciting, beautiful story. While the first set of games focused more on Lillie and her relationship with her abusive mother, here this plot point still remains, but a new focus is given to the character of the legendary Necrozma, which really reminds me of characters from the previously mentioned mystery dungeon spin-offs, which is a very good thing. It's suffering and state as an endearing, understandable antagonist was really well written and a pleasure to see added in the pokemon games and mythos. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2018
    9
    I found many pros in this game including the new side-roles you take to aid npcs, the new OST, the characters, the archipelago in which you play with the pc box pokemon and most of all: Team Skull.
  3. Feb 14, 2018
    10
    Everything Pokemon Sun & Moon should have been at first! I was kinda disappointed with the first Sun & Moon and all the extra they added in Ultra made it so much more enjoyable. My favorite Pokemon game with X Y on 3ds. I loved it so much that i completed the pokedex for the first time ever.
  4. Jan 7, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overworld exploration, monsters, story = all 10/10. I can recommend even for people who won't care about said story because the exploration was upped a notch too, way more organic region than before. This game will be very well remember in the future, for decades to come, as one of the superior experiences of the whole franchise.

    Also loved Necrozma story, you get a sense of what is to feel about this creature despite Necrozma being the game's 'bad guy', it was treated way better than previous third legends, even kyurem didn't get nearly half as much to do.
    Expand
  5. Jan 16, 2018
    10
    interesting new pokemon combined to the already full of personality alolan dex, this game worked to me as both a time-waster I can play in my free time and also a worthy quest to be at certain points of the game. A lot of the old formula was improved or changed in good ways so I hope many of the enhancements brought here and in SM may be carried to future games.
  6. Jan 21, 2018
    10
    Just like all pokemon games, having simple to understand mechanics, lighthearted environment and fun critters makes this a perfect entry point to other jrpgs. Both Ultra versions added a lot to the previous ones, making it a justifiable replay, with also more and even better pacing, trials, story and more difficulty, in this two aspects the Ultra versions are the best of the entire series.Just like all pokemon games, having simple to understand mechanics, lighthearted environment and fun critters makes this a perfect entry point to other jrpgs. Both Ultra versions added a lot to the previous ones, making it a justifiable replay, with also more and even better pacing, trials, story and more difficulty, in this two aspects the Ultra versions are the best of the entire series. I only hope most of the major improvements this game and its predecessor brought are here to stay as this game singlehandedly brought many people I knew who were former players back to the series. Expand
  7. Feb 2, 2018
    10
    The game to pick both for the best single-play but also if you want to do official online battles, tournaments, interactive games, or trade with people around the world, as it's where the active pokemon players all are now. They also brought in a new interactive facility in the pokemon agency, something I truly missed from the days of friend safari.
  8. Jan 11, 2018
    9
    Exciting new elements and features for the first time featured in the series, from new ways to get legends, to new secret stories to discover, including outside the main one, there's something for everyone, it's objectively one of the most developed and content stuffed pokemon games to date, dozens of good elements and features were brought back and further developed and ironed one way or another.
  9. Jan 28, 2018
    10
    I bought Ultra Sun for replays and to fill my pokedex this month after having played Ultra Moon when it first came out around 2 months ago: despite being my second play through the games --with version differences being reversed day/night, and cosmetic stuff like different colored clothing-- the multiple options to how you can customize your team, as you aren't restrained by HMs no more,I bought Ultra Sun for replays and to fill my pokedex this month after having played Ultra Moon when it first came out around 2 months ago: despite being my second play through the games --with version differences being reversed day/night, and cosmetic stuff like different colored clothing-- the multiple options to how you can customize your team, as you aren't restrained by HMs no more, kept my interest, making me reaffirm all that I had thought about the other version as true to both versions: great new music complementing the previous GREAT tracks, new moves, better dex distribution, o-powers back under a new name, a new surprising ending, a great boss battle etc made for quality play-time and a worthy new title to the pokemon main series. Expand
  10. Jan 31, 2018
    9
    Most satisfied I was playing pokemon since when I was a kid when Gold and Silver came out, thanks to all the options and things to do. Also the best opportunity to complete a pokedex in a long time thanks to ultra-wormhole ride giving you access to lotos of rare mons.
  11. Feb 8, 2018
    9
    Not only the changes and additions to Sun blew me away but to make things better, this may be the first pokemon game tha t manages to make itself as balanced and challenging as it should. I always liked pokemon, but even the oldest games always ended up being cake-walks, not here.
  12. Feb 12, 2018
    9
    After finishing the robust main and post game stories, I keep coming back to do trades, battle tree, battle spot, hunts of shiny coloured pokemon and more. Can't recommend it enough to people who still play their 3ds/2ds
  13. Jan 12, 2018
    10
    LOTS of exploration to be made i new areas, tasks and dealing with inhabitants and wild mons alike. And an engaging story to develop alongside the player's journey, I loved the previous game of this gen as one of my favorite rpgs but this is an objectively better and bigger version of everything in that one. Not only was a good game to me but even my young daughter is in love with it asLOTS of exploration to be made i new areas, tasks and dealing with inhabitants and wild mons alike. And an engaging story to develop alongside the player's journey, I loved the previous game of this gen as one of my favorite rpgs but this is an objectively better and bigger version of everything in that one. Not only was a good game to me but even my young daughter is in love with it as her first game having started it so I can say both children and veteran players will have this game as their favorite in the series. Expand
  14. Jan 19, 2018
    10
    Story: well-paced;
    Post-game: high value, there's space for battling, catching, breeding, basically every kind of thing people may do in pokemon outside of the main story
    Status as new game: enough changes to justify playing after Sun, despite being a superior edition of the same region and characters.
    Overall: enough for me to recommend this game.
  15. Mar 1, 2018
    10
    These versions are the most exciting pokemon game I play in years, with a good story too. In the Nintendo 3ds, this is without competition the best game with the ""pokemon"" name on it
  16. Mar 11, 2018
    10
    As the successor to SM, it has positive changes galore, most are late in the story or in the post-game, the biggest in pokemon history, but the beginning is full of differences, and there's new details and secrets to find between trials, so I never got bored. If you are thinking about getting either version. go on and Do it, they are undebatedly some of the best pokemon in over
  17. Feb 9, 2018
    10
    Having beaten the Elite 4 long ago, I still find myself going back to these games as there's lots to do and it's just enjoyable to play. In my point of view, they are the strongest games and generation.
  18. Feb 9, 2018
    10
    Post-game, story and world = flat out awesome;
    new items, things, quests, pokemon, extras(Totem Stickers etc)= all decent;
    They indeed are "Ultra" versions who perfected the pokemon formula from before.
  19. Jan 2, 2018
    10
    All the previous fun stuff got carried over here + additions that make ultra sun the superior game. By far the best game to create a living dex, shiny hunt or do special runs to the league. Festival Plaza is finally saved from being just a hub in the way of online with some items now that the Battle Agency is a thing in it, making it more interesting. SOS battles are a good pass-time,All the previous fun stuff got carried over here + additions that make ultra sun the superior game. By far the best game to create a living dex, shiny hunt or do special runs to the league. Festival Plaza is finally saved from being just a hub in the way of online with some items now that the Battle Agency is a thing in it, making it more interesting. SOS battles are a good pass-time, almost therapeutic compared to other shiny-hunting methods from previous gens. Expand
  20. Dec 14, 2017
    10
    If you played one, two, any or all games in the series up until this you're guaranteed to like this one too. Great characters, harder trials and battles everywhere than SM (which are already extremely good games, as shown by how unanimously revered they already are even before people are starting to feel "notalgic" over it). It also add full new pokemon which is a way bigger deal than anyIf you played one, two, any or all games in the series up until this you're guaranteed to like this one too. Great characters, harder trials and battles everywhere than SM (which are already extremely good games, as shown by how unanimously revered they already are even before people are starting to feel "notalgic" over it). It also add full new pokemon which is a way bigger deal than any form previous "better" versions did. Expand
  21. Jan 1, 2018
    10
    While it's a second adventure through Alola, the differences and the new story make it stay exciting, with more pokemon to catch contributing to it. The theme of "consequence for your previous actions" is in a way added with the new characters. In my experience, the challenge would never let me grow bored of playing it, my two friends who bought the game with me feeling similarly. I gradeWhile it's a second adventure through Alola, the differences and the new story make it stay exciting, with more pokemon to catch contributing to it. The theme of "consequence for your previous actions" is in a way added with the new characters. In my experience, the challenge would never let me grow bored of playing it, my two friends who bought the game with me feeling similarly. I grade USUM a 10 and would even say it's the best pokemon superior/ultimate version to this point. Expand
  22. Jan 15, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Rainbow Rocket storyline is amazing and the best post-game activity in pokemon history. Seing a pokemon version of the masters of evil is how I felt, with revisits to Giovanni, Maxie, Archie, Cyrus, Ghetsis and Lysandre. Also Colress playing an amazing part and finding out the leaders even had the legendaries now was breath-taking. I recommend this game to anyone that enjoys pokemon, greatly written stories or both, also recommend this game to people that loved alola, every nook and cranny of the region was expanded and has more to do than before. Expand
  23. Jan 20, 2018
    10
    Best quality of life of any pokemon game by far, keeping pokepelago and other practical elements while adding way more. By far the best director cut version amongst the many that the pokemon series ever received, even by today's standards. And Lillie is still the best written character in the whole series by far and large. The game is a ball to go through.
  24. Feb 7, 2018
    10
    Best narrative than all other previous pokemon games combined + a metagame that's been steadily developing for over 2 decades now, with the same rules, but expanding options, optimizations and possibilities = this game. It's the first I will recommend for someone who would want a 3ds system.
  25. Mar 3, 2018
    10
    The whimsical music, characters, story, new pokemon etc of SM is back with more additions in a way more complete region, there's way more to do,explore,discover,achieve and go out of your way in Alola this time compare to before. As a long time fan who played since the first gens, I give it a 10/10 and recommend it. In fact since it's a better version of Sun and Moon, I recommend it overThe whimsical music, characters, story, new pokemon etc of SM is back with more additions in a way more complete region, there's way more to do,explore,discover,achieve and go out of your way in Alola this time compare to before. As a long time fan who played since the first gens, I give it a 10/10 and recommend it. In fact since it's a better version of Sun and Moon, I recommend it over any previous pokemon. Expand
  26. Apr 11, 2018
    10
    Between the story, high variety of pokemon for team building and postgame, this is the most complete pokemon game. Many changes but for the better.
  27. Jan 30, 2018
    10
    Go-to game for newcomers, old players and people who were away from the series, also very fresh, just like the previous games, gyms were replaced so I can finally have a journey about something else in such rich world as the pokemon one. This time the game gets harder too, with all the totems using better strategies and more developed trials and some changing completely. A very differentGo-to game for newcomers, old players and people who were away from the series, also very fresh, just like the previous games, gyms were replaced so I can finally have a journey about something else in such rich world as the pokemon one. This time the game gets harder too, with all the totems using better strategies and more developed trials and some changing completely. A very different experience than its predecessors, but in a positive way. Expand
  28. Jan 31, 2018
    10
    The Sun & Moon edition games were already awesome pokemon games in all fronts, so the Ultra editions already had a headstart in its quality, world and battles. Only thing needed was to bring enough changes from the previous ones, which they did in all fronts, and even in unexpected areas, there's even all-new pokemon.
  29. Feb 14, 2018
    10
    I commented how Sun and Moon were some of the best things relating to pokemon to ever be published, well the Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon games are said best thing with tons of additions and enhanced to its ultimate level. It has the qualities of the previoues obviously, but also new content, from characters to game aspects, despite being a third version, it actually bothers to change itsI commented how Sun and Moon were some of the best things relating to pokemon to ever be published, well the Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon games are said best thing with tons of additions and enhanced to its ultimate level. It has the qualities of the previoues obviously, but also new content, from characters to game aspects, despite being a third version, it actually bothers to change its content and add a lot on every part of it, including new pokemon even. The complete opposite of Platinum for example, which disappointed me back in the day by being an exact clone of Pearl with fixed pokedex. That's not the case here, even playing Ultra games just after the previous ones still works (again unlike pearl to platinum). It's also hard to those who seek it, through I believe it's a game anyone can start as with every pokemon. The online is very active right now, as everyday I can find something interesting in Wonder Trade or battle with trainers from all over the world. Expand
  30. Mar 1, 2018
    10
    Not only this game improve in all that Sun and Moon versions from the previous year created, but it also has a much better post-game, with a lot more (and better) to do, from catching legends, to exploring new worlds, to a whole new plotline that didn't even existed in Sun/Moon yet, to many returning characters from all previous games (not just Sun/Moon) making this one of the best pokemonNot only this game improve in all that Sun and Moon versions from the previous year created, but it also has a much better post-game, with a lot more (and better) to do, from catching legends, to exploring new worlds, to a whole new plotline that didn't even existed in Sun/Moon yet, to many returning characters from all previous games (not just Sun/Moon) making this one of the best pokemon games in the franchise many years. Expand
  31. Apr 10, 2018
    10
    Very close to be the best pokemon games ever made. Lots of extras, fixings and improvements over the previous ones. Longer story too, and thats without even mentioning the online battles and trading.
  32. Dec 14, 2017
    10
    Pokemon Sun and Moon were amazing games, something that my original review for them did not specify well enough. After time with the original games, my opinions have vastly changed and I see Sun and Moon as amazing games. Let my review on Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon be the real deal when it comes to the seventh generation Pokemon games.

    Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon differ slightly in their
    Pokemon Sun and Moon were amazing games, something that my original review for them did not specify well enough. After time with the original games, my opinions have vastly changed and I see Sun and Moon as amazing games. Let my review on Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon be the real deal when it comes to the seventh generation Pokemon games.

    Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon differ slightly in their stories. Initially, it seems relatively the same, with a few new scenes appearing here and there, few new small details in some of the trials, stuff like that. However, once you reach the end of the third island, that's where things start to change. Everything leading up to the game's climax is what separates Ultra Sun/Ultra Moon from Sun/Moon. While I won't spoil anything, the games' altered storyline is like a "what if something happened differently" type of story; the characters develop and act in different, yet similar ways to Sun and Moon, which I greatly appreciate. I never truly got into depth on how much I loved Sun and Moon's story and characters, with the characters developing much better than past generations have in my eyes. The story's climax once again held my attention with the ever fascinating Ultra Beasts.

    A lot of my original gripes with Sun and Moon are mostly gone at this point, with SOS battles posing as a little problem now, the additional location evolution areas for certain Pokemon being a good add for people looking to use Vikavolt or Magnezone and Z-Moves becoming more interesting (though still lacking compared to Mega Evolutions). The additional content these games offer makes them easier to play for longer, especially the legendaries to catch and the amazing post story involving Team Rainbow Rocket. Said post story was amazing, giving fans from all over the generations throwbacks they'll recognize and enjoy. The difficulty was well paced within the entire game as well, which is also appreciated.

    Pokemon Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon are definitely the definitive games for generation seven. Expanding greatly on Sun and Moon's content and fixing a few of Sun and Moon's problems made them better than their originals, yet also letting the originals hold a few details that were better (in my personal case, Lusamine's portrayal as a villain). Overall, these are definitely games any Pokemon fan should pick up, even if they already played the original Sun and Moon.
    Expand
  33. Dec 21, 2017
    10
    La experiencia que ofrece este juego es muy buena, se mejoraron los gráficos con respecto a las entregas originales, se incluyeron arcos en la historia muy interesantes como el del Team Rainbow Rocket, la manera de viajar por el ultra espacio para encontrar pokemon raros y legendarios fue muy original, la historia no cambia mucho, pero esto se compensa con muchas características añadidasLa experiencia que ofrece este juego es muy buena, se mejoraron los gráficos con respecto a las entregas originales, se incluyeron arcos en la historia muy interesantes como el del Team Rainbow Rocket, la manera de viajar por el ultra espacio para encontrar pokemon raros y legendarios fue muy original, la historia no cambia mucho, pero esto se compensa con muchas características añadidas muy útiles para quienes juegan en competitivo. Una digna tercera versión de pokemon sol y pokemon luna. Expand
  34. Dec 7, 2017
    10
    Small spoiler. YOU CAN SURF! I'm not talking about HM surfing, I mean hang ten doing tricks on a massive wave surfing. BEAT THAT! I've only beat the first island so I don't feel like I'm really spoiling anything.
  35. Mar 10, 2018
    10
    Game: Pokemon Ultra Sun
    Genre: RPG
    Developer: GameFreak Publisher: Nintendo System: Nintendo 3DS (3DS) Year of Release: 2017 Length of Playthrough: 40 Hours Total Score: 95/100 Value Score: 9.5/10 • Story: 9/10 • Characters: 10/10 • GamePlay: 9/10 • Graphics: 9/10 • Sound: 9/10 • Music: 10/10 • Length: 10/10 • Replay Value: 10/10 • Player Value: 9/10 Pros +Island
    Game: Pokemon Ultra Sun
    Genre: RPG
    Developer: GameFreak
    Publisher: Nintendo
    System: Nintendo 3DS (3DS)
    Year of Release: 2017
    Length of Playthrough: 40 Hours

    Total Score: 95/100
    Value Score: 9.5/10

    • Story: 9/10
    • Characters: 10/10
    • GamePlay: 9/10
    • Graphics: 9/10
    • Sound: 9/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 10/10
    • Replay Value: 10/10
    • Player Value: 9/10

    Pros
    +Island Trials from the original Sun have been expanded with additional trail quests
    +Region is split into 4 islands with a Hawaiian theme
    +Some first gen pokemon have new forms with new typing just like the original Sun
    +Pokedex now Rotom-Pokedex which talks with you and splits entries into 4 categories (for each island) and the entire region
    +QR Scanner allows players to scan in data of pokemon that they have not caught
    +New battle type called Battle Royal where it allows you to do a 4 way free for all battle
    +Z-Moves bring a new way in battling allowing you to do special moves in a cinematic cutscene, this replaces mega evolution - further expansion of Z-moves in Ultra Sun
    +Poke-rides are a new feature which allow you to use certain pokemon to traverse the region, this makes surf, flying, strength obsolete as HMs (there are no more HMs)
    +Hyper training returns
    +Festival Plaza allows players to see other players and interact with them for battle or trade, they can access the GTS here as well. Festival coins can be obtained here by interacting with characters which can be used to increase the rank of your festival plaza
    +Poke Pelago is a new feature which allows you to create your own island to have your PC stored pokemon to find items, discover wild pokemon and to even raise levels and stats.
    +81 new pokemon (Same as Pokemon Sun)
    +Main story is expanded and introduces some new characters compared to the original Sun version
    +Episode Rainbow Rocket (RR) gives a side story featuring villains from past games

    Cons
    -No more gyms (replaced with Island challenges)
    -No HM moves/field moves
    -No Bicycle
    -FPS gets lowered in horde battles
    -No National Pokedex
    Expand
  36. Nov 20, 2017
    10
    This is my review after playing Ultra Moon, but Ultra Sun and it are the exact same game, with a few different exclusive pokemon and some other minor tidbits similar to how Sun and Moon differ: If you are like me a veteran player who played all games since gen 1, you'll 100% LOVE this one. It takes everything that work on Sun, adds great post-game, a new take on the Battle Factory conceptThis is my review after playing Ultra Moon, but Ultra Sun and it are the exact same game, with a few different exclusive pokemon and some other minor tidbits similar to how Sun and Moon differ: If you are like me a veteran player who played all games since gen 1, you'll 100% LOVE this one. It takes everything that work on Sun, adds great post-game, a new take on the Battle Factory concept in the form of the Battle Agency, new miniquests through all the islands and one of the coolest shiny hunting methods I had experienced yet.

    Before starting the game, I feared I'd face problems with the pokemon distribution since it's divided into two versions but then I 1- remembered that all solo third versions also had exclusives locked-out, as any player who truly played them can tell you (Mareep in Crystal, Glameow in Platinum etc), and 2- when I got to play the game, was faced with one of the best distributions of pokemon in the series, I'd rank the distribution alongside Black 2 and Y in how much it gives you space to mount your own teams. Add in move tutors and this may be the best game to start off if you ever plan to try out the competitive scene. You can build all kinds of teams. (as a last tidbit, it also one of the best musics in the series, won't spoil, you'll know when you get to listen to it)
    Expand
  37. Nov 27, 2017
    10
    Having owned all pokemon games from all generations, I never expect one to ever surpass Heart Gold and Soul Silver as my new favorite and in my personal opinion the very best, but it just happened. Despite having played Sun quite recently, the game changes so much and adds so much in terms what you can explore and do in each island it still feels surprisingly fresh for a third version,Having owned all pokemon games from all generations, I never expect one to ever surpass Heart Gold and Soul Silver as my new favorite and in my personal opinion the very best, but it just happened. Despite having played Sun quite recently, the game changes so much and adds so much in terms what you can explore and do in each island it still feels surprisingly fresh for a third version, certainly way more than Platinum for example. I'd recommend it to fellow pokemon fans or people who want to start keeping with the franchise. Expand
  38. Dec 3, 2017
    10
    For old players: tons of new things to do, new pokemon and activities, new areas and enough to hold me off until next gen

    For returning players: New pokemon, more different story and quest than previous gens

    For new players: easy to understand mechanics, tutorials, menus, type-system and what to do
  39. Nov 25, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I enjoyed this one, may be top 2-3 best pokemon games to me and certainly the best 3ds game of 2017. I'm more of a casual player myself, I don't get myself into the metagame etc, but my more "hardcore" friend also loved it, so I guess it's great to all kinds of players as long as you like pokemon and rpgs.

    Also: Giovanni back! And so is all previous villains of all gens, they even got remix themes! Ghetsis theme being back was so good!

    Also worth mention: 5 new pokemon are added in, through one is a event exclusive it seems, so it's mostly the other 4.
    Expand
  40. Jan 14, 2018
    9
    Pokemon Ultra Sun is a great game. The story is great, even though the dialogue can be a little long sometimes. Some of the battles were tough but I still enjoyed them. I do miss the pokemon gyms a little though but I did like some of the challenges there. I love poke pelago and wonder trade. It was a good swan song to pokemon on the 3ds.
  41. Jan 22, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Loved the first one sun game, also big fan of pokemon so I couldn't miss that one. First impressions were the battles that are tougher and the variety of pokemon that appears on this game. Very smart the sticker exploration the game forces you to explore all alola to collect them due to the good price. The online part is better than ever battles trades competitions. The best part is the legendary pokemon I think it's all of them to catch out there. The team rocket appears again also all the villains from previous games that's the cherry on the cake. Really so many things to do even though it's kinda remake game with different story. Expand
  42. Nov 30, 2017
    10
    Huge expansion of the previous entry: tons of minor overworld additions, a new beginning, ending and new, big post-game content. New characters, new z-moves, move-tutors and new quests that bring incentive to exploration.
  43. Dec 3, 2017
    10
    I went after this game after having played sm just for the sake of completionism, but turns out there were way more changes than I expected, even if you ignore the all new battles, characters, move tutors and story that third versions tend to have;

    the rotomdex was also enhanced, it can talk more or less to you depending if you choose yourself to interact with it and give you items like
    I went after this game after having played sm just for the sake of completionism, but turns out there were way more changes than I expected, even if you ignore the all new battles, characters, move tutors and story that third versions tend to have;

    the rotomdex was also enhanced, it can talk more or less to you depending if you choose yourself to interact with it and give you items like Mr. Bonding used to in X version. Giving it a 10 overall as it's not only a decent pokemon game, but also a game I would recommend to both fans and non-fans, both whoever played Sun/Moon (like myself) and those who haven't yet (as then the experience is all new)
    Expand
  44. Nov 17, 2017
    10
    (Review in progress)

    So far, so good. Pokemon Ultra Sun (and Moon) are a love letter to long time Pokemon fans as well as to new fans just starting their first journey. Pokemon Ultra Sun and Moon feel like the original Pokemon Sun and Moon games, but are refreshing in details and overall experience. It might not be the most innovative Pokemon title out there, but it's the most
    (Review in progress)

    So far, so good. Pokemon Ultra Sun (and Moon) are a love letter to long time Pokemon fans as well as to new fans just starting their first journey.

    Pokemon Ultra Sun and Moon feel like the original Pokemon Sun and Moon games, but are refreshing in details and overall experience. It might not be the most innovative Pokemon title out there, but it's the most complete version of a Pokemon game to date.
    Expand
  45. Nov 17, 2017
    9
    The Awesome
    -Totem Stickers. The most fun and entertaining exploration element in any Pokémon game to date. Fun to look for these even if there was no reward, but there is a pretty cool reward for every certain number of stickers. Probably the most fun I’ve had in the overworld of any Pokémon game ever.
    -Team Rainbow Rocket. For anyone who takes interest in the bad guys of the main
    The Awesome
    -Totem Stickers. The most fun and entertaining exploration element in any Pokémon game to date. Fun to look for these even if there was no reward, but there is a pretty cool reward for every certain number of stickers. Probably the most fun I’ve had in the overworld of any Pokémon game ever.
    -Team Rainbow Rocket. For anyone who takes interest in the bad guys of the main games over the past 21 years.
    -Parallel universe ultra recon squad giving story elements and designs new to the series.
    -Best trainer placement of any Pokémon game to date by far. The karate guys on champion road, the golfer at hokulani, lotta laughs.
    -All legendary Pokémon. Probably the biggest sales point for fans of the series.
    -Charmander and all the other starters also available to catch so it’s pretty cool for old people with nostalgia. Same was with Rainbow Rocket.
    -Background Pokemon. Much like the trainer placement, the sense to have a Pokémon walk by the window outside or come down a chimney etc is superb. No value to find other than the satisfaction of seeing some neat Pokémon walking around. The rare chimney one was funny too.

    The Pretty Good
    -A ton of new sub events. Some of these are awesome, some not. Ditto becoming human being official stuff in the games was awesome etc.
    -The photo club was a lot more fun than I expected. Still don’t think there’s enough reason to spend a lot of time ther but it’s neat.
    -Surfing is also surprisingly a pretty fun mini game. But also not something I feel the urge to do too many times.

    The Not So Good
    -Main flow of game is pretty much the same as Sun and Moon, even though much of the story is different.
    -Some new backgrounds are pretty bland areas with some exceptions as well.
    -Some things in the game are jokes that will go over the majority of everyone’s head most likely. The new gym for example.
    -Nothing groundbreakingly innovative. But this can be said regarding almost all Pokémon games since the original. They stick by the if it’s not broke don’t fix it mind set, which does have its benefits.
    Expand
  46. Nov 17, 2017
    9
    Jumping into the world of pokemon, this time once again on the islands of Alola. In the time running up to the game i was not motivated for the game, but because of the nostalgia factor, i had to try it. And boy is it good! Like every game, this one has its flaws too but let's start with the positive ones!

    Positives: The story gives you more freedom than the previous Alola games, it
    Jumping into the world of pokemon, this time once again on the islands of Alola. In the time running up to the game i was not motivated for the game, but because of the nostalgia factor, i had to try it. And boy is it good! Like every game, this one has its flaws too but let's start with the positive ones!

    Positives:

    The story gives you more freedom than the previous Alola games, it still shows some handholding but it has been reduced a lot!

    Where Sun and Moon were lacking significantly in the Post game factor, this game makes up for it and even beyond that! The real fun begins when you get to Poni Island!

    New looks on the menus and the battle icons etc (personally i find this nice to see!)

    They kept the trials which made the original Sun and Moon so good, and I loved it!

    You can collect Totem pokemon!

    Team Rainbow Rocket... do i need to say more?

    You can collect all the legendaries, which is nice for the ones that don't have Pokemon Bank or the younger ones who have not had the chance to catch them before.

    Negatives:

    A good amount of the story is not too different which would have been nice.

    Nothing substantial changed in the core gameplay which i would have loved to have!

    Summary:

    All in all this is a very good game that you can out hours into and you have satisfaction over! It is enjoyable for both younger and older players and has a lot more to offer post game! A solid 9/10!
    Expand
  47. Dec 19, 2017
    10
    Tons of major differences from the previous set (as new battles, characters experiences etc were brought to the table). USUM felt like a peak to what pokemon can do on the 3ds, and will probably be revered as one of the peaks of the franchise as a whole. I played every game in the series and have many favourites so I'm hard to please when it comes to new experiences with the franchise, butTons of major differences from the previous set (as new battles, characters experiences etc were brought to the table). USUM felt like a peak to what pokemon can do on the 3ds, and will probably be revered as one of the peaks of the franchise as a whole. I played every game in the series and have many favourites so I'm hard to please when it comes to new experiences with the franchise, but I really had a great time playing this one. While the story is very different from SM, it's still decent, I noticed changes at the start but the real bulk is in the second half and post-game.

    Because of those changes, I can recommend USUM even for experienced players like me or for who already played SM (To compare: I wouldn't recommend Platinum and Emerald just after R/S and D/P but this one changed enough that I would, since I still found tons of enjoyment from the new features, so I didn't regretted it). I'm glad pokemon is still good even after 21 years, so I can't wait for what the Switch one brings too.
    Expand
  48. Dec 28, 2017
    10
    After finishing the main run at Ultra Sun, I'm already planning to start a challenge at Ultra Moon (to people who don't know the series, they come in pair of the same game that have minor differences between each other like exclusive mons) and I'm having an amazing time: the Battle Tree now has a new mode where you can go crazy with legends and get more points, and the movesets wereAfter finishing the main run at Ultra Sun, I'm already planning to start a challenge at Ultra Moon (to people who don't know the series, they come in pair of the same game that have minor differences between each other like exclusive mons) and I'm having an amazing time: the Battle Tree now has a new mode where you can go crazy with legends and get more points, and the movesets were expanded to make many pokemon more viable. Also helps that we had move tutors, which didn't exist in the SM versions.

    Those post-game aspects aside, I also had just completed a nuzlocke in Sun after spending hundreds of hours in a first run at Moon when I got this one, yet when I started i couldn't stop and had to marathon it too, so I'd say it's a great game to play even if you just finished Sun/Moon, I'd still say it's worthy and go for it as long as you liked SM too as it has enhancings on its main qualities.

    UltraSun/UltraMoon as a whole is the go to pokemon game of the last few years.
    Expand
  49. Feb 2, 2018
    10
    Undoubtedly the best Pokémon game in years! Alola has one of the most iconic plots of all time!
  50. Nov 28, 2017
    10
    The top of the pokemon games

    I started USUM without much hope. I thought I was going to play SM again (do not get it wrong, I also loved SM, it was more my favorite pokemon game). As I moved forward a couple of hours, I thought my fears were coming true ... But I'm wrong. The difficulty curve is perfect. At no time did I feel that I was going over the level of the route, test or
    The top of the pokemon games

    I started USUM without much hope. I thought I was going to play SM again (do not get it wrong, I also loved SM, it was more my favorite pokemon game). As I moved forward a couple of hours, I thought my fears were coming true ... But I'm wrong.

    The difficulty curve is perfect. At no time did I feel that I was going over the level of the route, test or kahuna. Moreover, at times, I force myself to turn on the exp share or use z-moves.

    The generation is beautiful, and a great care to the old fans. I'm currently with the postgame, and I'm loving it.

    USUM is a game for everyone. Those who do not want to suffer with it, it is enough to turn on the exp share and catch some wild pokemons (what I like to call the easy mode) Those who want a challenge, must keep the exp share off and not grind ( this game is not a classic pokemon game to catch them all, it's a full-fledged jrpg, with a party of 6 warriors at most)

    PROS:
    + Excellent difficulty curve
    + Character growth (Lily is not the only one that changes)
    + New content
    + Totem sticker (the funniest exploration element I've ever encountered)
    + Mantine surfing (a simple but addictive minigame)

    CONS:
    - The new content takes a while to appear
    Expand
  51. Jan 15, 2018
    10
    I was never that into pokemon before but this game won me over. I played it while a friend played the other version and from surfing in a pokemon' back from island to island to discovering new dimensions, to collecting stickers, everything is fun in it. I also believe the social aspect made the game way better to me as I could battle and trade with my friend while comparing teams andI was never that into pokemon before but this game won me over. I played it while a friend played the other version and from surfing in a pokemon' back from island to island to discovering new dimensions, to collecting stickers, everything is fun in it. I also believe the social aspect made the game way better to me as I could battle and trade with my friend while comparing teams and developments, I know some people buy 2 versions of these double releases but I say instead look for someone, a friend or partner, to play the second one. Expand
  52. Nov 29, 2017
    10
    Positives:
    -hardest pokemon game yet
    -full new pokemon that never existed before, added later in the game -new post-game full of new stuff -major differences from previous version, so it's not more of the same -overall new stuff to do here and there Negatives: -there's a specific, small part of the story amongst those that got changed that I liked more in the previous iteration,
    Positives:
    -hardest pokemon game yet
    -full new pokemon that never existed before, added later in the game
    -new post-game full of new stuff
    -major differences from previous version, so it's not more of the same
    -overall new stuff to do here and there

    Negatives:

    -there's a specific, small part of the story amongst those that got changed that I liked more in the previous iteration, but other changes/additions made up for it;
    Expand
  53. Dec 26, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. pokemon = 10/10 - like the previous game, all new designs are good and full of personality, but this time there's no repetition in the routes like before so it gets way better to create a team

    gameplay = 9/10 - lots of quality of life carried from the previous game, but also many new things to do and overall new aspects to the experience were added like the ultra beast worlds you can uncover by travelling in the wormhole

    story = 9/10 - same with the previous one overall but with lots of twists, I did liked the previous boss, mother beast Lusamine (as a character) and focus on lillie scenes more through, even if here it works in another way

    region = 10/10 - Alola is full of personality, it fits with previous pokemon regions but, contributes with its own feel and flavour, very beautiful game areas. Here it's expanded, feeling as such more "complete"

    music = 10/10 - pokemon music keeps being very good
    Expand
  54. Jan 6, 2018
    10
    Still a good story despite vastly diverging from the previous one (+)

    I can now have my own totem pokemon, and it seems like they can be put in the Bank (seemingly) meaning it's not like the cosplay pikachu that stays behind in ORAS (+) More changes than other games like emerald and crystal did, so I didn't get bored replaying, thankfully (+) new pokemon and forms (+) I was
    Still a good story despite vastly diverging from the previous one (+)

    I can now have my own totem pokemon, and it seems like they can be put in the Bank (seemingly) meaning it's not like the cosplay pikachu that stays behind in ORAS (+)

    More changes than other games like emerald and crystal did, so I didn't get bored replaying, thankfully (+)

    new pokemon and forms (+)

    I was never into minigames but the surfing one may be the best one in the entire main series (+)

    USUM are very enjoyable overall, I'd say
    Expand
  55. Feb 10, 2018
    9
    This Is An RPG Masterpiece. Before This Pokémon Sun Was My Fvorite Pokémon Game but Now It´s Ultra Sun, Since It's Just Sun But Better.
  56. Mar 16, 2018
    10
    One of the best pokemon game in the series in some years. While an ultra version of the originals, it changes more than Emerald, Platinum or Crystal ever amounted to, in fact, it changes more than all of them combined.
  57. Nov 18, 2017
    10
    As I am writing my review for this game my first impressions are very positive. I loved Sun and Moon and was delighted to see this but on Thursday (the day before release) I was more excited then I thought I would be. This game is what Sun and Moon were but builds off of that and makes this game a masterpiece, kinda. They're still some problems with the game so far but mostly I've onlyAs I am writing my review for this game my first impressions are very positive. I loved Sun and Moon and was delighted to see this but on Thursday (the day before release) I was more excited then I thought I would be. This game is what Sun and Moon were but builds off of that and makes this game a masterpiece, kinda. They're still some problems with the game so far but mostly I've only loved it so far. Expand
  58. Nov 17, 2017
    10
    Building up and developing further into what Sun and Moon helped create, this game takes all the freshness and innovations of the originals and expands it further into an even better experience than before, between multiple side features, bigger post-game and even being the first mid-generation game to introduce all new Pokemon to be collected and trained by players, it's a worthy sendoffBuilding up and developing further into what Sun and Moon helped create, this game takes all the freshness and innovations of the originals and expands it further into an even better experience than before, between multiple side features, bigger post-game and even being the first mid-generation game to introduce all new Pokemon to be collected and trained by players, it's a worthy sendoff to the 3ds generation of games. Expand
  59. Mar 22, 2018
    9
    THE HARDEST POKÉMON GAME EVER. I've loved it. It adds great things to the original games, new beginning, ending and places to discover. The best part its the postgame, and the challenge that it can be for a experienced player like me. I have loved the difficulty, it's just the best at that for me.

    But, for me, it destroys a bit the Sun and Moon original story, and that's why I only put
    THE HARDEST POKÉMON GAME EVER. I've loved it. It adds great things to the original games, new beginning, ending and places to discover. The best part its the postgame, and the challenge that it can be for a experienced player like me. I have loved the difficulty, it's just the best at that for me.

    But, for me, it destroys a bit the Sun and Moon original story, and that's why I only put it a 9. For me Sun and Moon were the best Pokémon games until now with the best story, and I was wishing Ultrasun and Ultramoon to improve them adding new things but they removed great scenes from the story and changed Lusamine personality and now she is not as great as it was in SM. But well, the games still being great and i still loving Gen VII, for me the best gen until now.

    I want this difficulty, with great story and designs, such as SM, for the new Switch games.
    Expand
  60. Dec 4, 2017
    10
    Totem stickers are so fun to collect
    You can use the QR code from Pokemon I Choose You and get a Ash-Pikachu
    Pikachu Valley

    overall awesome game

    also i do not recommend for new comers of the world of pokemon not to play this try gen 1 first

    I Love It
  61. Nov 27, 2017
    9
    While not my favorite, this is clearly the best Pokémon game ever. It has great graphics, an engaging and exciting story along with great gameplay, even making something as simple as running around collecting stickers crazily addicting. The game is also much harder than any other Pokémon game, which also makes it much more enjoyable rather than the lack of challenge in previous games. 94/100
  62. Dec 2, 2017
    10
    Nice sequel pretty good scale of difficulty almost perfect in that aspect, the variety of pokemons in really well made it, are moments when you feel like "oh come on i know how to do this" and "shut up Rotomdex" if you're a fan returning to the franchise (like me) you will love it. in general Game Freak do a pretty good job with the game
  63. Nov 24, 2017
    10
    USUM is maybe the BEST pokemon game ever made:
    - good, challenging difficulty
    - well written story that anyone who played it will love -way more changes from the original than Emerald, Platinum and Crystal did together I bought it like I did Mario Kart 8 Deluxe, expecting just the original with a bit more extra, but different than Deluxe I was surprised with how much was new, this is
    USUM is maybe the BEST pokemon game ever made:
    - good, challenging difficulty
    - well written story that anyone who played it will love
    -way more changes from the original than Emerald, Platinum and Crystal did together

    I bought it like I did Mario Kart 8 Deluxe, expecting just the original with a bit more extra, but different than Deluxe I was surprised with how much was new, this is not a "deluxe" edition in any way, it's way more. Still having fun with it and I'm only now entering post-game.
    Expand
  64. Apr 19, 2018
    10
    Strongest 3ds games, I recommend it a lot, good story, fun boss battles, an interesting post-game story, and the new forms like Necrozma's and the new UBs look great
  65. Apr 22, 2018
    10
    Best game and one of the better postgames since the Johto remakes from years ago, quite the deal.
  66. Apr 18, 2018
    10
    Best story, many new areas and some of the best sidegames in any pokemon game. If you group crystal, emerald, platinum and yellow together and multiply it by 5, it also won't have as many changed from the originals as the ultra versions had so it's also the best "third/improved version" the series has gotten to this point. Add in the highened difficulty and many sidegames and it's the bestBest story, many new areas and some of the best sidegames in any pokemon game. If you group crystal, emerald, platinum and yellow together and multiply it by 5, it also won't have as many changed from the originals as the ultra versions had so it's also the best "third/improved version" the series has gotten to this point. Add in the highened difficulty and many sidegames and it's the best 3ds pokemon games Expand
  67. Nov 19, 2017
    8
    My return trip to Alola in Pokemon Ultra Sun/ Moon is something I never expected. I was never hyped or motivated to play the game, but I felt like giving it a chance since it will be the final game of the 3DS. So far, the game has minor differences and they also added new features in Ultra Sun/ Moon such as Totem stickers, new Z-moves, new Pokemon, and other more. This game doesn't offerMy return trip to Alola in Pokemon Ultra Sun/ Moon is something I never expected. I was never hyped or motivated to play the game, but I felt like giving it a chance since it will be the final game of the 3DS. So far, the game has minor differences and they also added new features in Ultra Sun/ Moon such as Totem stickers, new Z-moves, new Pokemon, and other more. This game doesn't offer anything groundbreaking. I highly recommend Pokemon Ultra Sun/ Moon for people who are new to the series or people who enjoyed playing Pokemon Sun/ Moon. Expand
  68. Nov 17, 2017
    8
    Version mejorada de Sol y Luna.Banda sonora muy mejorada,lugares rediseñados y una historia parcialmente nueva.Muy buenas sensaciones.Un juego del que no te vas a arrepentir.Mejor juego de 3DS
  69. Apr 17, 2018
    10
    One of the best pokemon games, specially for experienced players, as it's very good for finding rare pokemon, training their ivs, get move tutors etc
  70. Apr 23, 2018
    10
    The base game was already good, the new z-moves, pokemon, stories and the many new areas being added on top of it elevate the alola games in this version to be one of the best adventures in the "pokemon" series
  71. Apr 29, 2018
    10
    It overall adds more than you'd expect from the usual enhanced versions pokemon receives:
    It fixes and enhances some things, including the following:
    - Way, way quicker begininat the very early game, getting you right to the starter way earlier instead of waiting till the Kahuna meets you - fixes where you can evolve pokemon that need specific areas to do so, by bringing those earlier
    It overall adds more than you'd expect from the usual enhanced versions pokemon receives:
    It fixes and enhances some things, including the following:
    - Way, way quicker begininat the very early game, getting you right to the starter way earlier instead of waiting till the Kahuna meets you
    - fixes where you can evolve pokemon that need specific areas to do so, by bringing those earlier
    - gives away a whole extra trial for Mina, the last captain, adding a whole part to the game and an extra totem too.
    - gives the battle tree a new mode, that's more enjoyable to play, making it way better to get bp too
    -adds more features to the rotomdex, making it more wholesome
    -adds more exclusive z-moves that help strenght certain pokemon
    -makes every trainer stronger, but specially Hau
    -develops many side characters that weren't doing much before
    -adds in a new way to travel between the islands that's more interactive
    -the pokedex has more pokemon per island so the route mons don't feel repetitive
    -we actually get to see the UBs worlds, adding more individual lore to each one of them
    -two new UBs
    -more move tutors
    -access to early legends with a lore reason to justify them (instead of them just happening to live in another region just because)
    -thanks to what happens to the postgame, the story's ending feels more conclusive
    -new totems and the ability to have a version of them too
    -a new facility/feature inside the festival plaza to justify itself more
    I'm forgetting a lot of things, but by those alone I consider it one of the better recent entries.
    Expand
  72. May 27, 2018
    9
    Pokemon Ultra Sun kinda fills out what the original version should have been, from the plethora of legendaries to capture, to the well rounded side quests/activities, this game delivers in a way that the original version really couldn't. In addition, this version is a bit more challenging which is a welcomed addition seeing as most of these games tend to be a breeze when it comes toPokemon Ultra Sun kinda fills out what the original version should have been, from the plethora of legendaries to capture, to the well rounded side quests/activities, this game delivers in a way that the original version really couldn't. In addition, this version is a bit more challenging which is a welcomed addition seeing as most of these games tend to be a breeze when it comes to difficulty. The wormhole travel is also fun and the ability to catch a lot more Pokémon from different regions in this version is also a great addition.

    It's not all perfect in the Alola region, as a Pokémon player for nearly 22 years now, these modern games are really starting to push it with the amount of chatter and robotic actions from the npcs you encounter or travel with. What I mean by this, is that there is simply too many moments throughout the journey where you are stopped in your tracks to have a lengthy conversation about topics that are repeated and regurgitated over and over and it is becoming tiresome and it completely breaks the pace of the story.

    Please for the love of Ultra Beasts, Gamefreak please cut this down or implement a skip button, I sometimes find myself just forgetting about the plot entirely because I'm just spamming A + B so I can get back to exploring and battling, which is what makes these games fun.

    + Fun gameplay (battles & explorations)
    + Excellent visuals
    + Great soundtrack
    + Refined arena (Pokémon Stadium) mechanics
    + Loads of side quests/activities
    + Great legendaries and lore
    + The surfing mini game is fun with a classic reward
    + Poke Pelago & Refresh are fun

    - Too much dialogue that is un-skippable, narrative was never this series' strongpoint
    - Wormhole travel controls are awkward
    - Some useless side activities imo
    - Uninteresting npcs and side characters

    I also have to mention that I am not sure I like the sequels direction they are taking, feel like the additions made in the sequels should be included in the original version for a single release, rotating with a refresh of the older games in between.

    Overall this is a solid effort that should have been part of the original release, but they did get it right regardless, and the Alola region proves to be another solid entry in the franchise that will be fun for fans of the series to explore. This game is an 85/8.5 for me.
    Expand
  73. Apr 27, 2018
    10
    As a vet-player who has played every game since Red and Blue, I'm having a ball with this one, it may be even the best pokemon game to this point, worth every penny. It's also surprisingly HARD when playing without the exp share, the totems are harder than before and have each their own strategy, npcs are tougher than they seem and the final boss is the hardest in any game. It also fix itsAs a vet-player who has played every game since Red and Blue, I'm having a ball with this one, it may be even the best pokemon game to this point, worth every penny. It's also surprisingly HARD when playing without the exp share, the totems are harder than before and have each their own strategy, npcs are tougher than they seem and the final boss is the hardest in any game. It also fix its predecessor's flaws, for example I get my starter way earlier now and can already go starting off my team way earlier.

    Specially recomended to hardcore and old-time players of the series thanks to said difficulty, amazing competitive online and being the most practical game to make your own team in legitimate ways (you can train ivs, catch almost everything, has good move tutors and pokepelago makes breeding and ev train a cakewalk). I would recomend to beginners too, but be warned if you turn down the exp share, the game becomes a challenge, which I wouldn't say about any previous pokemon, despite loving them all.
    Expand
  74. Apr 12, 2018
    10
    Harder and more dynamic than SM. Includes new pokemon and characters not before present in the game. The beginning is also changed and quicker, with you getting your starter way earlier instead of during the festival held by the Kahuna. This change and many others made the game way more dynamic at the beginning, with the "middle" improved with things like the new surfing parts of the gameHarder and more dynamic than SM. Includes new pokemon and characters not before present in the game. The beginning is also changed and quicker, with you getting your starter way earlier instead of during the festival held by the Kahuna. This change and many others made the game way more dynamic at the beginning, with the "middle" improved with things like the new surfing parts of the game and extra quests, and the ending getting a whole new boss fight in a new area. Expand
  75. Apr 27, 2018
    10
    Excelente jogo: tudo o que versões anteriores fizeram esse faz melhor. A região também tem muitas adições que a enriquecem te deixando com muitas opções para o que fazer e como se aventurar. De surfing, para novos pokemon para batalhas e lugares novos a todo momento. Altamente recomendado
  76. May 7, 2018
    10
    Muito bom jogo com boa historia, 100% aprovado. Gastei horas só na caça aos shinies no Ultra Warpride e esse foi só um de muitos, MUITOS positivos,até novos pokemon, ponto altíssimo pra série.
  77. May 24, 2018
    10
    amezing game i like this storyline better then last one that was all about a family problem
  78. Apr 30, 2018
    10
    It's easier than ever to make a balanced team with your prefered mons, and the enemies are strong and balanced too. And the BEST and BIGGEST postgame ever.
  79. May 6, 2018
    10
    I believe challenge and story are this game greatest qualities. I liked more than that too, but how decent a challenge it is and how well written the story was for pokemon stand out the most because pokemon gamesalways had many other qualities too, but those 2 items are something some older gens severely lacked to me. (I did turn off exp share and avoid overleveling, and my team got wipedI believe challenge and story are this game greatest qualities. I liked more than that too, but how decent a challenge it is and how well written the story was for pokemon stand out the most because pokemon gamesalways had many other qualities too, but those 2 items are something some older gens severely lacked to me. (I did turn off exp share and avoid overleveling, and my team got wiped at many points in the story which never happened previously) Expand
  80. May 8, 2018
    10
    Better trials with better quests and totems. Starting is faster, the tutorial stage is much quicker than before. Postgame is without doubt the better one in the series.
  81. May 28, 2018
    10
    U know what?
    i dont care about your critics,i just loooove this ***king game. :D
  82. May 29, 2018
    10
    I truly liked those games, I liked every pokemon game till now, playing since gen 1, but this was truly a top, and best 3rd one. Sun and moon were cool, but ultra upped it by the thousands, giving me thousands of good memories of gen 7 already
  83. May 1, 2018
    10
    I played Sun before so I went in just expecting a "crystalversion" to sun's "gold version", but it justified my replay way more than that, putting a smile on my face, each mapped route having something new: new pokemon not in sun, new trainers, events, even weird missions that, without spoiers, I found out in certain places after going back to them that aren't part of the story.

    Also a
    I played Sun before so I went in just expecting a "crystalversion" to sun's "gold version", but it justified my replay way more than that, putting a smile on my face, each mapped route having something new: new pokemon not in sun, new trainers, events, even weird missions that, without spoiers, I found out in certain places after going back to them that aren't part of the story.

    Also a lesser factor to some but I found the musical track better than ever too, Sun was already catchy, now it went from remix of old classics to the tracks from sun to the all-new ones: just listen to some of the ultrabeast related ones: I don't doubt they will be remembered as some of the best tracks the series ever had in a few years.
    Expand
  84. May 1, 2018
    10
    One of the best releases from last year and a really high point in the whole franchise. The Alola region is ripe with innovative content, even gyms leave the way in order to new concepts to join in, the battles and story are engaging.
  85. Jun 25, 2018
    10
    Best gameplay in pokemon, They are VERY good Games with the right seasoning of a good story as a complement. I reeplayed it and finished it many times already, without being bored, which didn't happened with a pokemon game in years. Also great dialogues, better written than previous games, and lots of new sidequests.
  86. Jul 30, 2018
    10
    Had good post-game content and new op **** to abuse,it's truly one of the best pokemon games that I had played.Recommend buying it
  87. May 2, 2018
    8
    Como muchos aquí, yo también creo que Alola es la mejor región de la 3DS. Desde Black/White que no disfrutaba tanto con un videojuego de Pokémon. El 2016 disfruté un montón de Sun/Moon, el cambio en la forma de avance, los ultraentes, la dinámica de kahunas y pruebas, todos me parecerieron grandes inclusiones en la saga. Además los diseños de los Pokémon me gustan bastante en estaComo muchos aquí, yo también creo que Alola es la mejor región de la 3DS. Desde Black/White que no disfrutaba tanto con un videojuego de Pokémon. El 2016 disfruté un montón de Sun/Moon, el cambio en la forma de avance, los ultraentes, la dinámica de kahunas y pruebas, todos me parecerieron grandes inclusiones en la saga. Además los diseños de los Pokémon me gustan bastante en esta generación.

    Sin embargo ultrasol y ultraluna no representan una gran diferencia a la entrega del año pasado, es lo mismo con otra ruta. Y a mí personalmente me encantó el segundo viaje a Alola, y disfruté con sus añadidos. El juego del año pasado merecía un 9 en mi opinión, pero aunque refrescantes agregados de por medio, creo que se debe penalizar esta segunda vuelta. Un aplauso, eso sí al capítulo de Giovanni post-game. Pero no puedo dejar de pensar que esperaba una mejora tipo Black/White 2 a sus primeras entregas.
    Expand
  88. May 19, 2018
    9
    Considerando que deberían haber sido los originales Pokémon Sol Y Luna, este juego junto con el Ultra Luna son de lo mejor que he visto a nivel gráfico y a nivel de historia de pokémon
  89. Jul 9, 2018
    10
    The Best game for hardcore and longtime pokemon players: tons to explore so it never gets bored and harder than previous ones. S/M was already one of the best in the franchise, but here we have its setup with more enhancements, much more content and polished to a shine. Unlike previous third versions that felt like just the same game but better, here the Ultras feels like a whole new pointThe Best game for hardcore and longtime pokemon players: tons to explore so it never gets bored and harder than previous ones. S/M was already one of the best in the franchise, but here we have its setup with more enhancements, much more content and polished to a shine. Unlike previous third versions that felt like just the same game but better, here the Ultras feels like a whole new point of view in the Alola adventure and story, bringing in new flavors and feelings that justify its existence way better than some of them did. Expand
  90. Aug 11, 2018
    10
    Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon are the greatest pair of games in pokemon since inception, bar none other. As a fan of the series as a whole, it hurts me to make such comparisions as all games have had strong points until now but I say it being a fan since Red and Blue came out so long ago. They are the most polished games and all core mechanics feel like they are at their best.

    What surprised
    Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon are the greatest pair of games in pokemon since inception, bar none other. As a fan of the series as a whole, it hurts me to make such comparisions as all games have had strong points until now but I say it being a fan since Red and Blue came out so long ago. They are the most polished games and all core mechanics feel like they are at their best.

    What surprised me the most playing it was not the changes and additions to enrich the games of Sun and Moon (who mind you were also very good and if the Ultras didn't existed they'd be maybe the best game in the series instead), but how it feels like it succeeded in all it tried, just like with Sun and Moon, it didn't just changed things, but it MATTERED and it WORKED.

    The games are the hardest a pokemon game has been, mostly by giving actual strategy and thought to the enemies and bosses. Totems specially. The level design is great and looks beautiful, as with the predecessor there's no grid, making the routes feel like real, natural places, and making you put more thought in how to find its hidden secrets. Catching all pokemon, training them, battling, breeding, all seems tweaked to make them more pleasant to do. the QoL changes were massive and the region is better, including an extra trial to do.

    There's new things to do that can expand immensely your play-time even if you don't care about on-line trades and battles, from small add-ups like letting you play and interact with wild pokemon or having more z-crystals to find and collect, to bigger time-sinkers, like how you can:

    -literally surf on top of a pokemon to compete for the highest score in multiple tracks

    -find hidden secrets everywhere with new NPCs that weren't there before, some have small stories relating to a pokemon or a secret event

    -travel the multiverse on top of a beast and find legendaries, shinies or Ultra beasts depending on how well you play and again fight for the best score. There's also new Ultra Beasts and their lore was revamped a lot.

    -face an entire new saga in the postgame, who was also expanded a lot too by the way

    -fight the new Battle tree mode that lets you go all out with no restrictions
    And that's the top of my head only.

    Everything that I praised in Sun and Moon is either back or better, plus more, making this feel like a worthy replay instead of how previous games like Crystal or Yellow would feel as the same with no changes. I'd say the changes here by far surpassed previous examples the series itself gave, even though those games are some I really enjoy too.

    I go as far as to say the Alola part of this long series is not just composed of amazing games, they also feel like a love letter to the fans, from the real challenge it brings as the hardest games, to improving and callibrating the content from its predecessors, to the whole mentioned above post-game plotline, that brings a decent challenge mixed with a nostalgia trip that brings so many characters back from all gens. You can even restart the game multiple times and it will feel as if its the first since there's so many options to pokemon in your team, helps that without hms I can do monotype runs and other gimmicks by myself too, which would before be gimped by restrictions that aren't put on you anymore.
    Expand
  91. Oct 8, 2018
    10
    Recommend the playing of this game
    Strong points: -variety of pokemon to catch and evolve, training is never boring
    -s.o.s. chains, making having shiny pokemon and extra abilities easier at minimum extra skill -extra games and minigames that are genuinely fun by themselves and full of depth and content -strong story -rides so you don't need "hm-slaves" -pokepelago, so you can play
    Recommend the playing of this game
    Strong points: -variety of pokemon to catch and evolve, training is never boring
    -s.o.s. chains, making having shiny pokemon and extra abilities easier at minimum extra skill
    -extra games and minigames that are genuinely fun by themselves and full of depth and content
    -strong story
    -rides so you don't need "hm-slaves"
    -pokepelago, so you can play with all the pokemon
    -refresh so the pokemon can also be like your pet
    -wonder trade so you can get crazy unexpected pokemon from all over the world
    Expand
  92. Nov 23, 2017
    10
    (Relatively spoiler free)

    Pros- It's good. Cons- Hapu Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150
    (Relatively spoiler free)

    Pros- It's good.

    Cons- Hapu

    Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.v
    Expand
  93. Dec 19, 2017
    8
    Exactamente un año después nos llegan estas ediciones mejoradas y se volvió a quedar corto game freak, una de las criticas mas grande que tuvo sus ediciones anteriores (Sol y Luna) es que tenia grandes cortes en la historia y nos dejaba con muchas dudas, esperando ver en estas entregas lo que sucedía en esos cortes cosa que no paso ademas haciendo cambios de lo que ya por si era rescatableExactamente un año después nos llegan estas ediciones mejoradas y se volvió a quedar corto game freak, una de las criticas mas grande que tuvo sus ediciones anteriores (Sol y Luna) es que tenia grandes cortes en la historia y nos dejaba con muchas dudas, esperando ver en estas entregas lo que sucedía en esos cortes cosa que no paso ademas haciendo cambios de lo que ya por si era rescatable empeorando mas las cosas.
    Muchos compararon con black 2 whitte 2 que para mi si tenían notables diferencias que sus versiones originales que al menos te hacían sentir que estabas jugando algo distinto. En USUM no es el caso. En conclusión USUM pasará sin pena ni gloria, game freak tenia para dar mucho mas, recomendado a quien no haya jugado Sol ó Luna y los que juegan competitivo compra obligada. Los que ya jugamos Sol o Luna no sentiremos muchos cambios.
    Expand
  94. Nov 17, 2017
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game does NOT worth 40$ for those who have played Sun or Moon Before ! An entire year of wait for just a tiny DLC of the Original game. And, Oh my... The Music of the 7th gen is one of the Most TERRIBLE thing i have seen in a video game ! (Still not worst than Sonic Boom).

    So this game have like almost NOTHING New : Just Two more Legendaries and a story that have changed just a bit and this game is so disgustingly easy ! (Just like Sun and Moon) Team Rainbow Rocket is pretty much the only good NEW thing about this version.
    But in the end, i just realized how Lazy GAMEFREAK are for the Fans right now. Always aiming for young audience only and Never making a Pokémon Game for Adult ! (And i mean by that, taking the game more seriously, i don't mean sexuality or extreme violence). But everyone is going to buy it, because ITS POKÉMON of Course !

    In the End, i really wish they were less a lazybones and start making a Revolutionary Pokemon like i always dreamed about it. But this game show me how FAR we are from this. Please do NOT buy this game. They don't deserve your money.
    Expand
  95. Nov 30, 2017
    0
    This game was such a rip off. Pokemon Sun DLC would have been a more accurate name. The changes in the game were minimal with a few extras. The new Z moves for some pokemon look so cheap. This definitely should have been DLC content and not sold as an entirely new experience.
  96. Nov 23, 2017
    0
    This game is by far the worst Pokemon game ever made. This "game" feels more like $10 DLC, except it's being sold as a $40 separate game from Sun and Moon instead. Everything new feels shoehorned in and rushed. Instead of looking forward to getting to a new route or town, I feel dread. Why? Because I know there's going to be a 10-15 minute cut scene. Remember when Pokemon games were mainlyThis game is by far the worst Pokemon game ever made. This "game" feels more like $10 DLC, except it's being sold as a $40 separate game from Sun and Moon instead. Everything new feels shoehorned in and rushed. Instead of looking forward to getting to a new route or town, I feel dread. Why? Because I know there's going to be a 10-15 minute cut scene. Remember when Pokemon games were mainly about collecting little monsters and battling them, with a little sprinkle of story here and there? Well, that's not how it is anymore, apparently. When I say you will be stopped every time you enter an area, old or new, you will have to watch a 10 minute cut scene, I am not exaggerating. It feels like I'm playing one long, poorly written cut scene instead of playing a Pokemon game. The only good thing about these games are the new totem stickers (essentially a better collectible than the Zygarde cells in Sun and Moon) and the many new older gen Pokemon now available on the islands. These games are okay if you haven't played the original Sun and Moon, but if you have, I strongly recommend not buying this overpriced DLC. Expand
  97. Nov 17, 2017
    0
    This games are a fraud for players that played Sun and Moon.
    This games could be DLCs of Pokemon Sun and Moon on 2017. The changes aren't enough for to pay $45 or $90.
  98. Mar 16, 2018
    7
    What could have been the perfect send off for the pokemon games on the 3DS consoles ends up bringing very little to the table that wasn't already in the previous Sun/Moon games. It almost feels like the devs decided that just doing the bare minimum for the sequel style games would suffice because of how well the first games were received. And these are definitely the most technicallyWhat could have been the perfect send off for the pokemon games on the 3DS consoles ends up bringing very little to the table that wasn't already in the previous Sun/Moon games. It almost feels like the devs decided that just doing the bare minimum for the sequel style games would suffice because of how well the first games were received. And these are definitely the most technically advanced Pokemon games to date. However, there's very little actually added to the game to set it apart from the original Sun/Moon. And with a history of changing the sequel style games up so much that they are almost brand new games in the past, (like Black/White 2 or even with the old Crystal game), this just seems pathetic in comparison. The game gets a 7 because the original Sun/Moon were awesome and really moved the series forward in technology. If you own the original games, there's really no reason to buy this one. It's basically the same thing. Expand
  99. Apr 27, 2018
    5
    A good game for beginners/little children, but a huge downgrade to longtime players/fans of the pokemon series. Extremely tedious cut scenes and storytelling; i fell asleep a few times trying to pay attention to them. You can't go more than 10 steps without a cut scene during the beginning of the game. Once you beat the elite four the game gets astronomically better, but that's aA good game for beginners/little children, but a huge downgrade to longtime players/fans of the pokemon series. Extremely tedious cut scenes and storytelling; i fell asleep a few times trying to pay attention to them. You can't go more than 10 steps without a cut scene during the beginning of the game. Once you beat the elite four the game gets astronomically better, but that's a ridiculous amount of time to suffer through story mode. Also extremely structured, no more wandering around the world. You go where the game wants you to, no other options. Tutorials galore, there needs to be a "i already know this" option in game. The new pokemon designs are awesome, and the color palette and graphics of the game are appealing.
    As someone who's been playing pokemon since hoenn, this is easy the worst entry to the series. Returning gamers and fans should avoid this, but new players and young children will love it. A great gift for your 6 yr old nephew, but save yourself $40 worth of disappointment and wait until next gen.
    Expand
  100. Apr 19, 2018
    6
    While decent it doesn't do enough to justify a second purchase, if you haven't got SM yet then maybe you should try this one, otherwise be free to skip it, you won't miss too much.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Apr 2, 2018
    80
    Ultra Sun & Ultra Moon is still fantastic, especially since the original was a major shake-up to the decades-old Pokémon formula. The update may be overly samey to someone who has already played Sun & Moon, but it does improve upon the base game in several ways. The new version is a must for newcomers to either this current generation or to Pokémon in general.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 16, 2018
    80
    Pokémons improved in a visual and gameplay way. Devs could let go the monster management, but otherwise the changes are definitely for the better. If you have a weak spot for Pokémons, this is your game. [Issue#282]
  3. Feb 15, 2018
    91
    Pokémon Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon are the definitive versions of Generation VII. Fans that already made the trip to the Alola region might find that it takes a while to get to the juiciest new additions to the game, but diehard Pokémon fans and those that held off on Sun and Moon will find a lot to enjoy. The games are truly robust experiences, and the new additions help flesh out a game that was already quite strong. I could detail more about the story changes and enhancements, Mantine surfing or Team Rainbow Rocket, but not much else needs to be said. This is a terrific Pokémon experience that has only gotten better.