Pokemon Ultra Sun Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 751 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A new light shines on the Alola region.

    Take on the role of a Pokemon Trainer and uncover new tales, and unravel the mystery behind the two forms reminiscent of the Legendary Pokemon. With new story additions and features this earns Pokemon Ultra Sun and Pokemon Ultra Moon the name
    A new light shines on the Alola region.

    Take on the role of a Pokemon Trainer and uncover new tales, and unravel the mystery behind the two forms reminiscent of the Legendary Pokemon. With new story additions and features this earns Pokemon Ultra Sun and Pokemon Ultra Moon the name "Ultra!" Another adventure is about to begin.

    New Pokemon forms have been discovered in the Aloha region in Pokemon Ultra Sun and Pokemon Ultra Moon! These forms are reminiscent of the Legendary Pokemon Solgaleo, Lunala, and Necrozma, first revealed in Pokemon Sun and Pokemon Moon. Head out on an epic journey as you solve the mystery behind these fascinating Pokemon! In this expanded adventure, get ready to explore more of the Alola region, catch more amazing Pokemon, and battle more formidable foes in Pokemon Ultra Sun and Pokemon Ultra Moon!
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Pokemon Ultra Sun / Ultra Moon - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Dec 4, 2017
    100
    Pokémon Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon represent everything Game Freak has worked towards in its 20 years of growing the Pokémon franchise. It has its flaws, as every game does, but they don't detract from the lively world, incredible writing, and sheer fun that the game provides. Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon are likely the last big games to be released on the 3DS, and Game Freak sees the console out with a game that will be remembered as a shining example of what the series can do when at its best.
  2. Nov 14, 2017
    90
    With new buildings to visit, more Pokémon to discover, plenty of extra challenges and mini-games included, and even a new villain to tackle, Pokémon Ultra Sun (and its counterpart, Ultra Moon) is the ultimate version of the already impressive Sun and Moon. Ideal for newcomers and veterans alike, the Pokémon flame is burning stronger than ever with this 3DS release, and it seems that Game Freak is hitting its stride just in time to deliver its first home console adventure on Nintendo Switch next year.
  3. Nov 30, 2017
    90
    It’s still a fun Pokémon game, and the Pokémon formula has been tried and true for years as a very competent RPG. Players that have exhausted the first versions of this game can still find some new things to see and do even early on in the story, and players that skipped out on the first games can most certainly have a great time catching them all. I would suggest picking it up either way. It’s still a great game and with this version, there enough new to keep things fresh for all the players.
  4. Nov 15, 2017
    85
    As a revisiting of the excellent Sun and Moon, it feels like a good note to close the generation on, but if you had your fill with Sun and Moon, don’t worry – you aren’t missing anything important.
  5. Dec 4, 2017
    83
    They feel worth it to me, but I’m a Pokémon lifer.
  6. For players that skipped Sun and Moon, there is more than enough new stuff here to make this the ultimate way to play. Returning players will definitely be left with a strong sense of deja vu, but if they finished everything last year's game had to offer and were hungry for more they could still get their money's worth here, especially if they're up for a big dose of nostalgia.
  7. Dec 15, 2017
    60
    Personally I’m hoping this release was simply a way to hold the fanatics over until the Switch Pokémon title rears its head in a year or two. Until then, I’d recommend playing Ultra Sun/Moon in bitesize chunks because it can wear pretty thin and quickly become a grind when playing through it rapidly. It should be enjoyed a little at a time or saved exclusively to be played on the go as a fun little time killer. The challenge and fun are waiting right there at the end for those who want to power through for it. It’s just a shame there are so many little things that pile up against the experience, like the pokémon-infused pokédex that never stops asking the same questions over and over or the lack of Pokémon-worthy music.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 152
  1. Mar 31, 2019
    10
    Play this game even if you already did the previous alolan games. I only bought mine around 3 months ago because I had both S and M alreadyPlay this game even if you already did the previous alolan games. I only bought mine around 3 months ago because I had both S and M already and bitterly regret having not played it before, when my close friend was doing so: there's Hours over Hours of new material that wasnt around before, to the point where it really feels different and new, a new beginning that then throws you into an alola thats more and more different and with secrets not there before (hint: you may want to always go back to cities and talk to npcs, theres some surprises) but not only that: some of this material, specially a certain story that happens after the league is really good, and also very special to long time fans to get attached to characters to old games, must I say. Overall, a must have of the 3ds times. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2017
    10
    (Review in progress)

    So far, so good. Pokemon Ultra Sun (and Moon) are a love letter to long time Pokemon fans as well as to new fans just
    (Review in progress)

    So far, so good. Pokemon Ultra Sun (and Moon) are a love letter to long time Pokemon fans as well as to new fans just starting their first journey.

    Pokemon Ultra Sun and Moon feel like the original Pokemon Sun and Moon games, but are refreshing in details and overall experience. It might not be the most innovative Pokemon title out there, but it's the most complete version of a Pokemon game to date.
    Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2018
    10
    It's easier than ever to make a balanced team with your prefered mons, and the enemies are strong and balanced too. And the BEST and BIGGESTIt's easier than ever to make a balanced team with your prefered mons, and the enemies are strong and balanced too. And the BEST and BIGGEST postgame ever. Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2018
    10
    Having beaten the Elite 4 long ago, I still find myself going back to these games as there's lots to do and it's just enjoyable to play. In myHaving beaten the Elite 4 long ago, I still find myself going back to these games as there's lots to do and it's just enjoyable to play. In my point of view, they are the strongest games and generation. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2017
    10
    Tons of major differences from the previous set (as new battles, characters experiences etc were brought to the table). USUM felt like a peakTons of major differences from the previous set (as new battles, characters experiences etc were brought to the table). USUM felt like a peak to what pokemon can do on the 3ds, and will probably be revered as one of the peaks of the franchise as a whole. I played every game in the series and have many favourites so I'm hard to please when it comes to new experiences with the franchise, but I really had a great time playing this one. While the story is very different from SM, it's still decent, I noticed changes at the start but the real bulk is in the second half and post-game.

    Because of those changes, I can recommend USUM even for experienced players like me or for who already played SM (To compare: I wouldn't recommend Platinum and Emerald just after R/S and D/P but this one changed enough that I would, since I still found tons of enjoyment from the new features, so I didn't regretted it). I'm glad pokemon is still good even after 21 years, so I can't wait for what the Switch one brings too.
    Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2019
    9
    Taking the original games and bombarding them with a whole host of crazy ideas, Pokémon Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon have easily achieved theirTaking the original games and bombarding them with a whole host of crazy ideas, Pokémon Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon have easily achieved their goal of becoming the definitive versions of the series’ final generation on the 3DS. Combining all of this with the fact that a small handful of new, non-mythical Pokémon have been added mid-generation for the first time in the series, and that the Pokédex has been expanded to natively include over 400 Pokémon catchable in the games without trading, Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon have managed to make the region of Alola feel even more alive that it did before – and that’s quite the achievement.

    In some ways, it feels like these games have come too soon; Pokémon Sun and Moon are still so fresh in our minds and we can’t help but feel that the Ultra versions would have felt more special – and therefore easier to justify purchasing – if a little more time has passed. You’d be forgiven for not wanting to jump back into the same world again so soon but, in their own right, Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon are truly incredible entries to the series that deserve to be sitting amongst the elite Pokémon titles. If you’re ready for another trip around Alola’s beautiful islands, this is the way to do it.
    Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2018
    0
    They copied sm's story, added some edgy taco thing and then made it so that half the post game isn't accessible unless you give up some goodThey copied sm's story, added some edgy taco thing and then made it so that half the post game isn't accessible unless you give up some good shinies. I got bored playing through the first quarter of this thing, probrably because it's just sm again, which I'd played through about 3 times now! They centre the whole story around the edgy rock and then expect us to be surprised when they show us the forms we saw in the trailers everywhere. The fight between edgy piece of glass and The box legendary was so lazily done, I could do it better on scratch. They didn't think about how it would make sense for a Pokemon battle, because both of the legendaries have some kind of advantage over Bl2 black box. They are running out of ideas and are trying to get as much money as they can before people realise how dead Pokemon is. Expand

See all 152 User Reviews

Trailers