Pokemon X Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1394 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pokemon X and Y are the first mainline Pokemon games made for the 3DS and feature a mix of Pokemon old and new as well as a trio of new starting Pokemon - a watery toad Froakie, a fiery deer Fennekin, and a grass monster Chespin.
Watch Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Pokemon X and Pokemon Y - Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    Bigger, better, stronger and prettier than anything we've ever seen with the label "Pokémon" on the cover.
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    95
    Not revolution, but regeneration. The Pokémon series takes a step forward energizing the classic gameplay formula with new and interesting twists and tweaks, like megaevolutions. A must-have for Nintendo 3DS owners.
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    The finest expression of Satoshi Tajiri's obsessive vision yet. The transition to 3D is smooth and natural and the multitudinous additions to the proven formula will excite even the most jaded Pokémon fanatic.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    90
    The best main Pokémon series entry in years, X and Y sees several new features breathe life into a process that had grown stale and stagnant. Newcomers and longtime trainers alike should be able to find the joy in catching ’em all once again.
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    90
    The game's campaign is quite simple to no avail, and some features should be refreshed. However, underneath its puerile skin there are hidden the best executed Pokémons with their traditionally catchy gameplay, pleasing both young and mature gamers. There's no reason for fans of the series to be hesitant, and the rest of you should know the meaning of our number nine - one of the best RPGs of the year.
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    84
    Pokémon X/Y offers the same core experience, only better and sleeker than before. Loads of new features, quicker progression, and an emphasis on connectivity all help lift it above its predecessors.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    There’s a good game in Pokemon X, and fans looking for another game near-identical to the ones before it likely won’t find issue with a lot of the dusty trimmings and transparent battle system. If you want to get into into the new stat rebuilding features and grind out tons of easy battles to prep for high-level online multiplayer, it’s never been easier to do so. But for all else, the game’s excellent visuals belie the frustratingly old-fashioned design. RPG folk can find better times on their 3DS.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 231
  1. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Great nostalgia punch in the face. This game is so great in so many different ways. Felt from beggining to end like a portable-campaignGreat nostalgia punch in the face. This game is so great in so many different ways. Felt from beggining to end like a portable-campaign version of Pokemon Stadium. Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Honestly, what can I say that hasn't been said already lol
    The game is pure awesomeness, plain and simple ^_^
    The graphics, the music, the
    Honestly, what can I say that hasn't been said already lol
    The game is pure awesomeness, plain and simple ^_^
    The graphics, the music, the storyline, the new pokemon...everything I expected and hoped for!!!
    Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    I made an account just so I can express how brilliant this game is, everyone I know bought a 3ds for this game and they wee not disappointed.I made an account just so I can express how brilliant this game is, everyone I know bought a 3ds for this game and they wee not disappointed. This game tweaks every single nit-pick that the previous entries in the series had. Character customization? Check. Diagonal walking? Check. Ability to run from start? Check. Incredibly sped up gameplay? Check. Brilliant graphics? Check. Ability to challenge anyone anywhere? Check. this game is truly one of the greatest RPGs of all time, it introduces new elements while improving on past elements, and fulfills every wish I had for it. Get this game now. Expand
  4. Feb 6, 2014
    9
    I bought this game and expect it to go by the Pokemon formula in a regular way, and after I played the game, I was wrong. Between this andI bought this game and expect it to go by the Pokemon formula in a regular way, and after I played the game, I was wrong. Between this and Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds, Pokemon X is easily my favorite because I got more stuck into it more. It is just so fun and takes the Pokemon formula in a different direction than it originally was. I gave it a 9 because I saw many problems in this game, but that doesn't stop me from playing an innovation to my favorite RPG franchise. Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    8
    Great game! Hard to find any faults after 14 hours of playtime (haven't even got my 2nd badge yet!). You will lose yourself in this amazingGreat game! Hard to find any faults after 14 hours of playtime (haven't even got my 2nd badge yet!). You will lose yourself in this amazing game. X/Y take the series to another level and gives it a much needed breath of fresh air. If you have any doubt over whether or not you buy this game: buy it, you won't regret it. Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    I have been rather disassociated with Pokemon games since Yellow, as they seemed a bit rehashed... However this new generation asI have been rather disassociated with Pokemon games since Yellow, as they seemed a bit rehashed... However this new generation as reinvigorated the series with a MUCH NEEDED revamp of how the game looks, behaves, and even feels while playing. If you have the slightest interest in the Pokemon series, or coming back to it X/Y is the generation to do it in. Personally I have X, so that's why I'm writing on this one...

    Cons...
    The varying ways that they handle the character movement, swapping from over the shoulder, to top down can be a bit confusing for controls, but generally not an issue after playing a bit.
    Some of the move animations for the Pokemon seem a bit backwards, such as a tackle animation used for vine whip, and a vine whip animation used for tackle it's a bit annoying.

    This last thing isn't really a con, because it's actually a pro for the game though implementation could have been better... Pokemon X/Y have voice chat but it completely disables you from continuing play. I really wish they'd allow a continuous text chat with friends, and also the voice chat should be able to work along with the game, not one or the other.
    Expand
  7. Sep 14, 2020
    0
    Worst game I have ever played no good parts of it, super linear, 1 good starter, uncreative pokemon, barley any new pokemon, team flare suckedWorst game I have ever played no good parts of it, super linear, 1 good starter, uncreative pokemon, barley any new pokemon, team flare sucked and no good graphics. forgot to mention no post game Expand

See all 231 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Pokemon Games of the 21st Century

    The Best Pokemon Games of the 21st Century Image
    Published: August 4, 2016
    Find out where Pokemon Go fits into our ranking of the best Pokemon games released since the turn of the century.