Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 59
  2. Negative: 1 out of 59
Buy On
  1. May 5, 2015
    93
    This double feature from GungHO and Nintendo is really a treasure waiting to be discovered, especially in its combat and exploration elements. More beautiful than the iOS and Android versions, and incredibly more fun to play.
  2. May 20, 2015
    90
    I’ve been a fan of the original Puzzle & Dragons since it came out, and I think it’s finally met its match. The stories in Puzzle & Dragons Z + Puzzle & Dragons Super Mario Bros. Edition (whew!) are a bit hokey, but both games are so strong overall that I may be able to finally clean out some space on my iPad.
  3. 90
    What I have to emphasise here is that the base puzzle game of Puzzle & Dragons is so, so addictive. Backed with a simple, pleasant aesthetic and speedy mechanics that mobile games specialise in, it's easy to watch the hours fly by without really realising you've been playing for so long.
  4. May 5, 2015
    90
    Trying to merge an RPG with a puzzle game might seem a complicated task but Puzzle & Dragons Z + Puzzle & Dragons: Super Mario Bros. Edition handles that perfectly. With an immense amount of content, a very long lifespan and its easy-to-learn mechanics, this is set to become a landmark in how to join two different genres, as well as how to bring the elements of two series together.
  5. Jun 30, 2015
    88
    GungHo Entertainment knew perfectly well how to make a match-three that was different from its predecessors, it added depth by using RPG elements and took advantage from tactile technology that, obviously, adapted greatly in the Nintendo 3DS.
  6. May 8, 2015
    86
    This is the most creative match-3 game since the good old PuzzleQuest: Challenge of the Warlords. As usual you are depending on luck a little too much, but nonetheless the tactical possibilities when it comes to matching your orbs are huge. Plus: Gong Ho managed to replace the micro transactions from the phone version with well suited mechanics.
  7. NF Magazine
    May 27, 2015
    85
    The best way to spend your 30-minute train commute to work. [Issue #15; May/June 2015, p.70]
  8. May 6, 2015
    85
    It’s a nice addition to the 3DS library, a game for a wide audience that might help some people to discover Puzzle Dragons and some others to discover Super Mario.
  9. May 5, 2015
    85
    On the surface of it , Puzzle & Dragons Z and the Super Mario Bros. edition of the game are mindless match 3 puzzle games -but that casual, family-friendly aesthetic belies a pair of deep and complex strategy RPGs.
  10. May 5, 2015
    85
    This "two in one" is the ultimate answer for those seeking quality puzzle games on Nintendo 3DS. You will be engaged with the different styles and possibilities of both.
  11. Jun 9, 2015
    83
    All together, especially if you already know you enjoy Puzzle & Dragons, I think this is a package worth checking out.
  12. May 28, 2015
    83
    Gung Ho has done a truly admirable job introducing Puzzle & Dragons to non-mobile players. I actually went and downloaded the original after playing these two games just to get an even broader understanding of the series, and I can honestly say that Puzzle & Dragons Z + Puzzle & Dragons: Super Mario Bros. Edition perfectly replicate and evolve the core concept into something bigger and better.
  13. May 7, 2015
    83
    This is the best version of the popular puzzle-rpg that we have seen. ​The Mario-version feels a bit like an easy choice, but again it offers easy to play, deep gameplay that is solid as a rock. Without microtransactions but including a new storyline plus a lot of Mario, this is the ideal way of getting to know the Puzzle & Dragons-phenomenon. ​
  14. Jun 12, 2015
    80
    Persistent fun and an abundance of content.
  15. Jun 8, 2015
    80
    Easy to learn, hard to master, incredibly addictive, and most importantly, mocrotransactions-free: this is, in a nutshell, Puzzle & Dragons Z + Super Mario Bros. Edition for 3DS. A unique blend of puzzle and RPG that will keep you busy for at least thirty hours.
  16. Jun 4, 2015
    80
    This game is ideal for 3DS. The two games in this bundle are different enough to make them both fun to play. The gameplay is just as strong as it was on mobile phones, so we can forgive the game for being so awfully difficult at some moments.
  17. 80
    The elaborately designed monsters are often gorgeous to behold and have great pop-up book style animations.
  18. May 24, 2015
    80
    While the stories may not set the world on fire, the compelling gameplay is very accessible but tough to master.
  19. May 20, 2015
    80
    A fantastic package, containing two meaty match-3 RPGs and hours of quality content without a single microtransaction. Accessible, deep and involving, it's great for killing a few minutes or an entire evening at a time.
  20. May 18, 2015
    80
    While Puzzle & Dragons Z + Super Mario Bros. Edition might seem like another tile-based puzzle game that doesn’t go beyond what’s on the surface, it’s far deeper than what you would expect. It has RPG elements and a bevy of options to engage and motivate the addiction it creates.
  21. May 17, 2015
    80
    While the games won’t be everyone’s cup of tea – not to mention that the dialogue and characters in Puzzle & Dragons Z are mind-numbingly boring – the discounted combo pack that features both of these titles is certainly worth checking out.
  22. Paying a reasonable price for dozens and dozens of hours of satisfying and balanced puzzle play – and no temptation to spend more on in-app purchases – seems like a no-brainer to me.
  23. May 14, 2015
    80
    Puzzle and Dragons Super Mario Edition offers more immediate gameplay, while Puzzle and Dragons Z adds a storyline and RPG elements. Ultimately, both offer puzzle action that's addictive, fun and surprisingly deep.
  24. May 8, 2015
    80
    Puzzle & Dragons Z + Puzzle & Dragons: Super Mario Bros. Edition is a great way to get to know the Puzzle & Dragons gameplay, and gives the 3DS another great game to play on the go.
  25. May 5, 2015
    80
    Puzzle and Dragons Z is worth the price of admission alone, making this a more than worthy addition to any puzzle fan's 3DS library.
  26. May 5, 2015
    80
    If you enjoy Pokémon mechanics and Match 3 puzzles, this pack is a very recommendable option for you.
  27. May 5, 2015
    80
    Fun and addictive, Puzzle Dragons Z + Super Mario Bros. Edition moves the saga successfully on 3DS. The unique blend of puzzle game and RPG will fascinate lovers of both genres. The exorbitant amount of collectible will keep them busy for a long time.
  28. May 5, 2015
    80
    This pack with two great games brings to the West the powerful and successful Puzzle & Dragons series. There aren't microtransactions. You'll find a deep and addictive gameplay with Super Mario or with the lovely dragons. Good fuel for Nintendo 3DS these months.
  29. Games Master UK
    Jun 16, 2015
    79
    The transition from mobile isn't wholly successful, but the puzzling itself is near-perfect. [July 2015, p.70]
  30. May 19, 2015
    79
    There’s plenty of content in both, and I’ll be back for more Mario, at least.
  31. May 5, 2015
    78
    Two complementary products that work great together.
  32. May 15, 2015
    76
    Surprisingly addictive.
  33. May 21, 2015
    75
    The game might sound like little more than a gimmick complicate a simple n’ successful puzzle formula, but it’s surprising how well the battle system works on it’s own terms.
  34. May 19, 2015
    75
    Whether its channeling your Khaleesi or rescuing Princess Peach from danger, Puzzle & Dragons Z + Puzzle & Dragons Super Mario Bros. Edition keeps the adventure fresh and exciting, and even if I'm easily resurrected from death a thousand times over, I'm more than happy to spend a little more time in the Mushroom Kingdom.
  35. 75
    While the Mario version is inferior, it’s still a nice bonus game to have with you on the go.
  36. May 14, 2015
    75
    Remedial as it may be, it has some challenging spots, and it's still worth playing if you dig puzzle games.
  37. May 6, 2015
    75
    If you like the puzzle genre, the double package of Puzzle & Dragons Z + Puzzle & Dragons: Super Mario Bros. Edition are worth buying.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 46
  2. Negative: 7 out of 46
  1. Jun 27, 2015
    4
    I don't know what Nintendo is trying to do here but it does not work at all. the game gets so boring so darn fast. The game play from theI don't know what Nintendo is trying to do here but it does not work at all. the game gets so boring so darn fast. The game play from the SMB's side is solid, but the puzzle and dragons side is just so dull and boring as hell. I would have to say its puzzle game play aspect is spot on as it does work well, but man it just feels like a game that would be free 2 play and does not match the price tag at all. I returned this title and never looked back. Full Review »
  2. May 24, 2015
    9
    It is very fun extra fun. it is a blast. you get to fight classic mario enemies and get combo attacks. im stuck on W 3-5 thats why i didntIt is very fun extra fun. it is a blast. you get to fight classic mario enemies and get combo attacks. im stuck on W 3-5 thats why i didnt give it a 10 Full Review »
  3. May 23, 2015
    8
    This is one of the best puzzle games I've played in a long time. I haven't been really playing long enough to warrant a higher rating, butThis is one of the best puzzle games I've played in a long time. I haven't been really playing long enough to warrant a higher rating, but from how I'm doing so far, i'd say around a 9/10. with my rating here being where I predict I'll be mid-late game. The P&DZ story is about you and your friends trying to stop the evil organization Paradox from destroying the world, where P&DM... well you can guess what happens based on EVERY MARIO GAME EVER! The gameplay's pretty decent too, and the expansive roster of enemies from all over the Mario universe will leave you collecting. Older players might generally not enjoy this sort of genre, but younger players will most likely suck it in like a lollipop. Full Review »