Puzzle & Dragons Z + Puzzle & Dragons: Super Mario Bros. Edition Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Two puzzling RPG adventures await you. Rescue Princess Peach from Bowser or defeat the evil group Paradox by battling enemies with the awesome power of orbs. Drag and match orbs, or chain together combos to deal massive blows to your enemies. Then bolster your forces with hundreds of uniqueTwo puzzling RPG adventures await you. Rescue Princess Peach from Bowser or defeat the evil group Paradox by battling enemies with the awesome power of orbs. Drag and match orbs, or chain together combos to deal massive blows to your enemies. Then bolster your forces with hundreds of unique monsters in this two-in-one game pack.

    In Puzzle & Dragons Super Mario Bros. Edition, you get to travel to different worlds as you assemble a team of Mushroom Kingdom baddies, like Goombas or Koopa Troopas, and recruit much-loved Mario characters, including Toad and Yoshi! Or in Puzzle & Dragons Z, battle the 5 powerful sky dragons to rebuild the world and customize your team with a plethora of different monsters. Allies gained in both games have the chance to evolve into more advanced forms and learn powerful new skills.
    Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 59
  2. Negative: 1 out of 59
  1. May 5, 2015
    93
    This double feature from GungHO and Nintendo is really a treasure waiting to be discovered, especially in its combat and exploration elements. More beautiful than the iOS and Android versions, and incredibly more fun to play.
  2. May 6, 2015
    85
    It’s a nice addition to the 3DS library, a game for a wide audience that might help some people to discover Puzzle Dragons and some others to discover Super Mario.
  3. Jun 8, 2015
    80
    Easy to learn, hard to master, incredibly addictive, and most importantly, mocrotransactions-free: this is, in a nutshell, Puzzle & Dragons Z + Super Mario Bros. Edition for 3DS. A unique blend of puzzle and RPG that will keep you busy for at least thirty hours.
  4. May 19, 2015
    79
    There’s plenty of content in both, and I’ll be back for more Mario, at least.
  5. May 6, 2015
    75
    If you like the puzzle genre, the double package of Puzzle & Dragons Z + Puzzle & Dragons: Super Mario Bros. Edition are worth buying.
  6. May 16, 2015
    70
    As a two-in-one package, Puzzle & Dragons Z + Puzzles & Dragons Super Mario Bros. has the addictive gameplay and lasting value to be a worthy purchase for a puzzle fan on the go.
  7. May 27, 2015
    45
    A bundle that embodies the worst grinding elements of popular RPGs with a lackluster match-three gameplay mechanic. This version of Puzzle & Dragons tries to use the gold standard that Super Mario Bros. represents in order to bolster the façade that this is an interesting, worthwhile gaming experience. It’s not.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. s11
    Feb 25, 2019
    10
    Puzzle & Dragons Z + Puzzle & Dragons: Super Mario Bros. Edition is a fun RPG/Puzzle game bundle. The story of Puzzle & Dragons Z is ratherPuzzle & Dragons Z + Puzzle & Dragons: Super Mario Bros. Edition is a fun RPG/Puzzle game bundle. The story of Puzzle & Dragons Z is rather simple:

    You're a newly recruited Dragon Tamer who just passed their test. Meanwhile, an organization called "Paradox" is set on destroying the world.
    You and your friends must save Dracomacia from Paradox with the help of 250+ different monsters/dragons.

    The story of Puzzle & Dragons: SMB Edition is, well, the classic Bowser-kidnaps-Peach Mario-must-rescue-her plot, with the Puzzle & Dragons Z mechanics thrown in.

    Pros:
    - Game bundle is cheap
    - Fun and challenging
    - Engaging story
    - Unique combat mechanic (this is the only RPG bundle that I'm aware of that uses a match-3 system)
    - Awesome music (Both PAD and the SMB Edition
    Cons:
    - RNG can be very hostile at times
    - Obscure (the mobile original: Puzzle and Dragons is available only in Japan/North America)

    If you like a fun and challenging RPG bundle that is cheap, to play on the go, on New Nintendo 3DS/2DS "Puzzle & Dragons Z + Puzzle & Dragons: Super Mario Bros. Edition" would be my 1st suggestion
    Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2015
    9
    This is what hand held games are all about.

    I've never played any of the previous Pad games so this is my first one and wow did I enjoy it.
    This is what hand held games are all about.

    I've never played any of the previous Pad games so this is my first one and wow did I enjoy it.

    It's a bejeweled / RPG rolled into one.

    There are a TON of different characters to collect, in which you can level them all up, and even evolve them into their next stage.

    Here's a short pros and cons.

    Pro:
    Ton of characters
    Many different team set ups
    Easy to pick up and play
    Combos are rewarding, you can click and drag your orbs to wherever you wish

    Cons.

    I don't really have any, perhaps the price for the game?
    I believe it's a really well polished handheld game.
    Expand
  3. May 24, 2015
    9
    It is very fun extra fun. it is a blast. you get to fight classic mario enemies and get combo attacks. im stuck on W 3-5 thats why i didntIt is very fun extra fun. it is a blast. you get to fight classic mario enemies and get combo attacks. im stuck on W 3-5 thats why i didnt give it a 10 Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2017
    7
    There's enough strategy and simplicity that the game is at least worth buying and playing,, but after a bit it can get quite repetitive andThere's enough strategy and simplicity that the game is at least worth buying and playing,, but after a bit it can get quite repetitive and boring. Puzzle & Dragons just feels too much like it's trying to be Pokemon mixed in with puzzle elements, so I'm afraid I can only give this a sort of meh, sort of good review. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2019
    7
    Puzzle & Dragons is a unique take on the tired and true "match three" puzzle genre that has dominated mobile gaming for more than a decade.Puzzle & Dragons is a unique take on the tired and true "match three" puzzle genre that has dominated mobile gaming for more than a decade. That said, even with familiar Super Mario characters added, it failed to capture me quite like it has done for millions of fans of the original game in Japan. The mechanics are complicated, and I never did figure out exactly how to be consistently successful. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2015
    6
    Not really all that impressed with the game. Story is passable, gameplay is decent, but it just *feels* like the mobile game it came from. NotNot really all that impressed with the game. Story is passable, gameplay is decent, but it just *feels* like the mobile game it came from. Not really a game made for a dedicating gaming system. I'd pass unless you get it cheap Collapse
  7. Jun 24, 2015
    4
    At least on the mario side, this gets a 4. I beat the mario version, but I haven't played the PAD Z side. The puzzle mechanic itself actuallyAt least on the mario side, this gets a 4. I beat the mario version, but I haven't played the PAD Z side. The puzzle mechanic itself actually makes for fun gameplay, but it's everything else that brings the game down. It gets very repetitive and even grindy as you progress. Enemies seem to become ridiculously strong, so even if you are matching things really well, you still can fail. Not a good design for a puzzle game. The only way I was able to progress was by using boo mario and boo luigi, which give a huge multiplier when you match 3 different colors in one combo. Other strategies I tried just weren't viable. It just gets so boring that, towards the end, you'll find yourself wishing it would just be done so you can call it finished and move on with something more enjoyable. There's so many other titles on the 3ds that manage to be enjoyable throughout their length. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews