Resident Evil: Revelations Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 78 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 525 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil: Revelations tells the story of what happens between Resident Evil 4 and Resident Evil 5 on the Nintendo 3DS.
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2011: Resident Evil: Revelations - Gameplay Video #3
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 78
  2. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    100
    While survival-horror definitely isn't my best genre, Resident Evil: Revelations is easily one of the best 3DS games I've played to date. Just about any frustrations I've come across is due to my own lack of skill and experience with the franchise as a whole. If you're a Resident Evil fan with a 3DS, this is definitely one to pick up.
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    90
    Granted, there are few portable Resident Evil games to choose from, but Revelations is by far the best, and it's perhaps even better than some of the console entries. Capcom stumbled, but still managed to offer a thoroughly enjoyable romp filled with intense monster blasting fun, along with dump trucks full of gore and some unexpected plot twists along the way. A must for all 3DS owners.
  3. Feb 20, 2012
    90
    While some kinks still need to be ironed out, like the off-balanced narrative and some weak moments in the campaign, the game remains one of the best experiences you can find on the system, and rises as the most impressive technical achievement we've seen on Nintendo's 3D handheld so far.
  4. Jan 26, 2012
    85
    Resident Evil Revelations mixes action with adventure, partially returning to the origins of the series. It is a must-have for console owners, and one of the pinnacles of visual quality we've seen so far in the Nintendo 3DS. It also has a very good story which will please fans of the saga eager to know more about Umbrella, zombies, an the STARS team.
  5. Feb 20, 2012
    80
    Making a handheld game that feels every bit as deep and technically impressive as it's home console cousins is no mean feat, but Capcom have pulled it off in style. Revelations really sets the bar high for third and first party developers on the 3DS.
  6. Feb 4, 2012
    80
    A full-blown Resident Evil title. It proves Nintendo 3DS capabilities with its great atmosphere. Along with its fine visuals and excellent gameplay, no one should miss the opportunity to play this game.
  7. Jan 2, 2012
    60
    Handheld editions of big console titles often feel like straight to video sequels – looking the part but lacking the polish – and Revelations is no different. It nails the atmosphere in its hybrid design, but those crucial sparks of brilliance that make the series so great, no matter which of its eras you prefer… they're as rare as a single use rocket launcher.

See all 78 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 117
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. Great job made by Capcom. The best graphics on 3DS, great story and beautiful soundtrack. A must have sure!. A game thatExcellent game. Great job made by Capcom. The best graphics on 3DS, great story and beautiful soundtrack. A must have sure!. A game that recovers things that RE 5 minimized... You will love this game, ;) Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    I am a big RE fan since its PS1 days, having played most of its installments across different systems. After the relatively disappointing RE5,I am a big RE fan since its PS1 days, having played most of its installments across different systems. After the relatively disappointing RE5, I am surprised at how much Revelations freak me out. Great atmosphere and music, and believe it or not, greatly improved controls which were inherited from Mercenaries 3D! Each missions are also designed to allow for portable play, with numerous checkpoints. If you have a 3DS, then you should buy this game. It's a must have! Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    The best game available for 3DS. The graphics are as good (or maybe even better) as on a Wii. This is the second RE game I played (MercenariesThe best game available for 3DS. The graphics are as good (or maybe even better) as on a Wii. This is the second RE game I played (Mercenaries 3D was the first one) and I'm surely becoming a fan of it. The soundtrack is epic, campaign is great and so is co-op mode. I enjoyed every single minute of it! Expand
  4. May 30, 2013
    9
    Well this is a great game. Its scary, its got an interesting, lengthy story, multitudes of playable characters, all kinds of guns, and theWell this is a great game. Its scary, its got an interesting, lengthy story, multitudes of playable characters, all kinds of guns, and the slightly different but huge loads of fun raid mode, which can be played online!! Lemme start over. This game takes place on a cruise ship, if you've ever been on a cruise you know how many different environments can be in there. Most of them terrifying with zombies. The controls are pretty well setup, but if you want the real FPS experience, go get the circle pad pro. Pairs up with this game beautifully well. The story is long and took me a while to beat while never boring me. The gun and character selection is great, in raid mode and campaign mode. And my favorite part? The replay value on this game is through the roof. Besides raid mode, which is big, they also have trophies and such to keep you invested in the campain mode also. I believe this is one of the best games i own for my 3ds and will never stop playing it. Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    The main attractive of this game are its obvious superb graphics, amazing music, great 3D and cool story (Sometimes you don't know if you areThe main attractive of this game are its obvious superb graphics, amazing music, great 3D and cool story (Sometimes you don't know if you are playing a portable game!)... It campaign mode could be kinda short, but still an amazing experience, and replayable as the other RE games!... The Raid mode is a great addition, it is very fun (Sometimes not as fun or replayable as mercenaries, though) and the online mode and missions increase significantly it replay... I just would liked a voice chat.... But overall is a magnificent experience! Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2017
    8
    Review/Reseña (English/Español)

    Score/Nota: 7.5/10 The RE franchise has always been to my liking and that is why I gave an opportunity
    Review/Reseña (English/Español)

    Score/Nota: 7.5/10

    The RE franchise has always been to my liking and that is why I gave an opportunity to this new delivery. Visually it is incredible, probably the most powerful games in the 3DS catalog, quite fluid except for a couple of exceptions. Another success of Capcom is to continue betting on the third person perspective since it gives more dynamism to the game as such, added to the impeccable art of the environment and the excellent sound arrangements that create the ideal atmosphere for this type of genre. On the other hand, the story goes from more to less, which is a shame since there were no times before where Jill Valentine was the protagonist, and that is that the story is getting longer and more unnecessarily, creating ridiculous plot-holes; added to this, the extra content of the game, like the different modes, are very uninteresting, which takes away the game's re-playability, eliminating the only truly interesting mode that was Mercenary Mode. In turn, and as it happens with several games of the 3DS that require a strong interaction with the control, shortly after playing, it will be incredibly uncomfortable.

    Although the story and the extra content of the game are very poor, at a playable level it is quite good, and at least here it tries to recover the essence of terror that the game had lost in its previous deliveries, we will see how Capcom continues in its future projects. 7.5/10

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    La saga RE siempre ha sido de mi agrado y es por ello que di una oportunidad a esta nueva entrega. Visualmente es increíble, probablemente de los juegos que más potentes del catálogo de la 3DS, bastante fluido salvo un par de excepciones. Otro acierto de Capcom es seguir apostando por la perspectiva en tercera persona ya que da más dinamismo al juego como tal, sumado al impecable arte del entorno y los excelentes arreglos sonoros que crean la atmosfera ideal para este tipo de género. Por otro lado, la historia va de más a menos, lo cual es una pena puesto que ya tiempos no había un RE donde Jill Valentine fuera la protagonista, y es que la historia se está alargando cada vez mas de manera innecesaria, creando ridículos agujeros argumentales; sumado a esto, el contenido extra del juego, como los diferentes modos, son muy poco interesantes, lo cual le quita re-jugabilidad al juego, eliminando el único modo verdaderamente interesante que era el Modo Mercenario. A su vez, y como pasa con varios juegos del 3DS que requieren una fuerte interacción con el control, al poco tiempo de jugar, será increíblemente incómodo.

    Aunque la historia y el contenido extra del juego sean paupérrimos, a nivel jugable está bastante bien, y al menos aquí se intenta recuperar la esencia de terror que el juego había perdido en sus entregas anteriores, veremos cómo sigue Capcom en sus futuros proyectos. 7.5/10
    Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2022
    0
    Al inizio sembrava promettente ma poi arrivato al capitolo 2 dove impersoni Jill come personaggio ti ritrovi in una stanza senza armi senzaAl inizio sembrava promettente ma poi arrivato al capitolo 2 dove impersoni Jill come personaggio ti ritrovi in una stanza senza armi senza niente, prendi dal bagno il cacciavite ti spunta il monstro lo schivi e ti dice che non può usare il cacciavite c'è e poi muori perché non puoi uscire dalla stanza e assurdo.
    Level Design fatto con i piedi.
    Tra l'altro ho provato a rinchiudere il monstro dentro il bagno ma non vuole venire sta li fermo ad aspettare che io esca dalla porta anche intelligenza AI e fatta male.
    Expand

See all 117 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Every Resident Evil Game, Ranked Worst to Best

    Every Resident Evil Game, Ranked Worst to Best Image
    Published: May 7, 2021
    We rank every Resident Evil game released to date--from the 1996 original to the new Resident Evil Village--by Metascore.