User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 73
  2. Negative: 8 out of 73

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 22, 2016
    10
    As soon as I heard the new Rhythm Heaven was out, I just had to download it. I don't regret buying it. It is an amazing rhythm game with catchy music as well.

    When you first start playing it, it feels really short and easy. Which is great for those who are new to the series, but if you're experienced with rhythm games then the beginning will feel a tad slow. As you get further, you
    As soon as I heard the new Rhythm Heaven was out, I just had to download it. I don't regret buying it. It is an amazing rhythm game with catchy music as well.

    When you first start playing it, it feels really short and easy. Which is great for those who are new to the series, but if you're experienced with rhythm games then the beginning will feel a tad slow. As you get further, you will unlock more songs that slowly increase in difficulty. Towards the end there were some songs I wanted to retry just to get the hang of it. Thankfully it never felt too hard, but were a decent challenge near the end.
    As you play each song, you earn coins to spend on little trinkets. So when you find that song you really enjoy, you can spend coins to just buy the music with in game coins! Listen to your favorite songs as much as you like.
    You can also play locally with a friend through wireless play. It's even more enjoyable when playing with friends. You can do this to earn a different kind of currency to buy more songs to play with. You can also do it solo if you want.

    In short, if you really enjoy rhythm games then I suggest getting this game. The colorful characters and great music make a wonderful combination. I love this game!
    Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2016
    9
    The Rhythm Heaven series has always been quite unique but sometimes difficult to approach. Being spread across several systems, generations and languages has made it nearly impossible to play all the great, quirky minigames. I have personally never gotten the chance to play the original GBA installment, or the Arcade game, since they have had no official ports to the West.

    Seemingly
    The Rhythm Heaven series has always been quite unique but sometimes difficult to approach. Being spread across several systems, generations and languages has made it nearly impossible to play all the great, quirky minigames. I have personally never gotten the chance to play the original GBA installment, or the Arcade game, since they have had no official ports to the West.

    Seemingly playing off of this fragmented past, Megamix offers up games from each previous installment, while adding their own in one single game that is perfect for anyone who has been hearing great things about the series, but has never has never jumped on.

    The only mark against the game is the unnecessary story segments in between games. The series had always aimed for a very minimal menu experience, offering up just a few flashy animations after each new game unlock or clear. Megamix decides to add a story involving returning an alien to its home, which only serves to bog down the transitions from game to game. I frequently found myself mashing through the dialogue to get to the next game as the writing, while not bad, really adds nothing of value to the experience.
    Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2016
    9
    This is a very solid iteration on a franchise that doesn't change very much. You get the best of the GBA game you've never played because it didn't have a US release, the best of the DS game without the forced touch-screen mechanics, and the best of the Wii game without all the waggle, all on a 3DS that has nearly zero latency - super important in rhythm games. It's the best of the RhythmThis is a very solid iteration on a franchise that doesn't change very much. You get the best of the GBA game you've never played because it didn't have a US release, the best of the DS game without the forced touch-screen mechanics, and the best of the Wii game without all the waggle, all on a 3DS that has nearly zero latency - super important in rhythm games. It's the best of the Rhythm Heaven games.

    All that praise said, it starts a bit slow this time. While players will probably love the cheeky dialogue that comes along with there being an actual story for once, the initial sets of challenges are clearly for beginners and unskippable. Veterans of the series (and let's face it, that's who will be playing this game) might snooze through the long introduction until the game opens up.

    Once it does open up - and it makes it very clear when this happens - you'll finally be challenged again, and it's wonderful. There's interesting stuff happening with the music this time around, in both the regular stages and the remixes. Add on top of that a new unlockable system for the Museum and a few cute sidegames like what is basically Goat Pachinko, and you've got the most fully-featured, mechanically-solid game in this series since the Japanese-only original.

    Highly recommended!
    Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2016
    10
    This game goes well beyond being a simple compilation collection of the former titles' tracks. The sheer amount of songs in it is impressive (all of them being catchy and fun in their own way), but the other game modes, such as the challenges, perfect campaign, and goat raising simulator, have kept me coming back long after finishing the main campaign. Rhythm Heaven Megamix is filled withThis game goes well beyond being a simple compilation collection of the former titles' tracks. The sheer amount of songs in it is impressive (all of them being catchy and fun in their own way), but the other game modes, such as the challenges, perfect campaign, and goat raising simulator, have kept me coming back long after finishing the main campaign. Rhythm Heaven Megamix is filled with charm and humor that has made myself, my wife, and my 7 year-old daughter laugh so much. Approachable at any age or skill level, and challenging enough for experts. Over 70 hours in, and I have a feeling I will be tapping my foot to this title for more time to come. Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2016
    10
    This game is amazing! It's got all the charms of Warioware but in a nice, rhythm game format, with the games lasting much longer than the micrograms. As a musician, this game is really helpful in keeping my eternal bpm in sync with the rhythm and it's got so much content. Some of the games are quite hard and really test your prow for rhythm, but at the end of the day, going back to theThis game is amazing! It's got all the charms of Warioware but in a nice, rhythm game format, with the games lasting much longer than the micrograms. As a musician, this game is really helpful in keeping my eternal bpm in sync with the rhythm and it's got so much content. Some of the games are quite hard and really test your prow for rhythm, but at the end of the day, going back to the tougher games forces you to overcome the challenges and improves your skills. I feel that one user (fadula) that gave this game 2 stars was severely harsh, my advice would be to ignore him and check out the demo for yourselves as well as take the advice from all us positive reviews. Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2016
    6
    Short: Veteran's rating - 6 + 1/ Newcomer's rating - 7 or 8

    Rhythm Heaven Megamix is Nintendo's fourth entry into the series and is an arguable "Best Of" compilation of the previous 3 titles (GBA, DS, and Wii) with a small handful of new songs/games and therefore a handful of new remixes as well. This is the first chance for many people to play some of the original minigames that were
    Short: Veteran's rating - 6 + 1/ Newcomer's rating - 7 or 8

    Rhythm Heaven Megamix is Nintendo's fourth entry into the series and is an arguable "Best Of" compilation of the previous 3 titles (GBA, DS, and Wii) with a small handful of new songs/games and therefore a handful of new remixes as well. This is the first chance for many people to play some of the original minigames that were on the Japan-exclusive original title that set the tone and characters for the following two sequels.

    Don't know what it is? It's a charming rhythm game where players will challenge short 2-3 minute songs from a broad stroke of genres. Unlike your typical rhythm game, each song plays like a thematic mini-game with original music and some tracks by legendary J-Pop producer Tsunku. The mini-games typically don't use more than two buttons and carry a sort of WarioWare style of wackiness; for example, samurai fighting off ghosts, monkeys swinging from elephants and giraffe, a martian that loves ramen and curry, and picking beards off onions. As weird as it can get, there's always some more charming ones that plant themselves firmly in your memory like monkeys (again with the monkeys) clapping at an idol concert, hitting hole-in-ones on a little island, and well... it's still pretty weird, isn't it?

    At any rate, the two sequels made it here in the West on the DS (Rhythm Heaven) and the Wii (Rhythm Heaven Fever) and amassed a cult following in the West, so it was with great excitement that the 3DS was to see a new Rhythm Heaven title. Only it's not new. It's mostly old with just a sprinkle of new. If the game truly came out at a "Greatest Hits"-style of pricing, I'd have no complaints, but we're talking a full retail release here and for veterans of the series - you know, the people who made a sequel worth making - you might feel a little bit let down.

    That is not to say that RHMM is any less addictive or fun to play, mind you. If you've never played the previous two games, this is an amazing chance to play some of the more popular (and some not-so-popular) games collected in one title. For the veterans, however, after the first few sections, you're going to start thinking that maybe Nintendo was phoning this one in.

    RHMM boasts a tremendous 100 minigames for players to challenge, but only 20% of them are new. Luckily, old favorites make their way to the screen with a new facelift (GBA games had their art re-done) and are as adorably charming as ever, but instead of the regular columns of mini-games to work through with a remix at the end of each one, you're now going to have to work through a light-hearted story mode that makes no sense. I'm not sure why Nintendo decided to make this story-mode wrapper, but it is distracting and takes time away from the mini-games we all came to play. I should correct myself - the familiar columns do appear, but only after you've done a series of four challenges (3 old, 1 new) repeatedly and include some forced rhythm games (skill tests).

    The good news is that there is more than just the 20 songs that are new. Since there are some new mini-games, that means the remixes are all new as well. They're not as good as some of the previous ones, but still remain a highlight of the game. Also, the story mode doesn't cover the whole history of the mini-games and some fan-favorites can instead be found in the game's museum to unlock and play (and inevitably perfect), but there are quite a few that didn't make the cut this time (like the love potion song), which is a shame.

    As a "Best Of" there are some great features tucked away in the museum. Not only can you revisit some of the games that didn't make the story mode cut, you can also see their conditional ending photos (depending on your accuracy rating), pick up collectable mementos for each game at the shop and... oh, yeah, you can feed a goat. I have no idea why you need to feed this goat and I certainly can't tell you why feeding it means you have to play a pachinko game. Truly bizarre. Multiplayer modes are back as well and you can connect with your pals via StreetPass.

    Unfortunately, reviewing the new content is going to be a subjective exercise. Personally, I didn't think most of the new tracks were all that great, but I do give a thumbs up to the tango robot; that one is my personal favorite. Also, there is a tradition in the series to have the final remix be a mash-up of every song, but given the song count in this one, it's an impossible task and the result is... lacking.

    Still, it's Rhythm Heaven so it is worth your time. For veterans, however, I'm not so sure it's worth your cash. However, you may be wondering about that "+1" up above. One of the biggest bonuses that RHMM offers is you can finally switch to the original Japanese tracks without having to rely on flash carts or imports. For several fans, this is the only way to play, so it's definitely worth that +1 for some.
    Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2016
    8
    Inarguably the most ambitious game in the series yet. Like the previous games, it doesn't fail to have that bright colorful cartoony charm as well as cleverly fun minigames. Unlike previous titles, the game actually features a storyline, which isn't exactly necessary for the kind of game it is, but is an interesting addition and might even get a few chuckles out of you. In minigames, theInarguably the most ambitious game in the series yet. Like the previous games, it doesn't fail to have that bright colorful cartoony charm as well as cleverly fun minigames. Unlike previous titles, the game actually features a storyline, which isn't exactly necessary for the kind of game it is, but is an interesting addition and might even get a few chuckles out of you. In minigames, the controls are satisfyingly responsive compared to the previous games.

    The downside is that many of the minigames are just copied straight from the older games, which makes the game really redundant if you played the older titles. Though the new, original games added do make up for it. Overall, excellent game.
    Expand
  8. Jun 18, 2016
    2
    The Rhythm Heaven series is a collection of innovative games that feature engaging gameplay for all ages. Unfortunately, Megamix fails to do much new, rehashing the majority of its minigames as direct copies from the original source. Very unfortunate purchase unless you're new to the franchise.

    The difficulty is toned down considerably, making the main campaign feel like more of a grind
    The Rhythm Heaven series is a collection of innovative games that feature engaging gameplay for all ages. Unfortunately, Megamix fails to do much new, rehashing the majority of its minigames as direct copies from the original source. Very unfortunate purchase unless you're new to the franchise.

    The difficulty is toned down considerably, making the main campaign feel like more of a grind than an adventure. The character design is good, and the art style remains just as charming. The production value is reasonably high for a downloadable title, but it's definitely not worth full retail price if you've played one of the previous games in the series. It seems almost like a quick cash grab rather than a new game.
    Expand
  9. May 15, 2017
    9
    This game is extremely fun, time flies when playing it, and that's the main point of a video-game! The amount of different songs is stunning, the highest one by a lot in the series, and some of them are memorable. It's the first time this game includes a story mode, and while a bit odd it doesn't ruin the pace of the game, some dialogues are hilarious. It's also a great chance to play someThis game is extremely fun, time flies when playing it, and that's the main point of a video-game! The amount of different songs is stunning, the highest one by a lot in the series, and some of them are memorable. It's the first time this game includes a story mode, and while a bit odd it doesn't ruin the pace of the game, some dialogues are hilarious. It's also a great chance to play some of the cool GBA minigames for western people, as Rhythm Tengoku only appeared in Japan. I have to say, though, that in my opinion it lacks a bit more of new content, most songs have appeared in other Rhythm Heaven games, and remixes have become a bit too easy in my opinion, there were more epic remixes in the other games. The challenges it presents, apart from the famous get a perfect in songs, consist of a train in which you travel. This is cool as it changes the pace of some of the songs, it makes you play them differently. Beating some of them is hard, and the last trains are insane, so don't think beating this 100% is easy, it's extremely hard (although for me getting all the perfects was much easier than in the 2 previous games).

    I cannot forget unlockables. There are a lot of them!! You get a lot of funny rewards during the whole game. And the Goat minigame, while frustrating at times, is simple and fun.

    All in all, an extremely fun game, the best to be introduced in this amazing saga, and a must-play for veterans as well, though these players will end with the feeling the game could have been a bit more.
    Expand
  10. Jul 12, 2016
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As I played both the Japanese and the American version of the game I'm going to compare them from time to time during my review.
    The game contains a lot of minigames that were previously released on the Gameboy Advance version but also versions for Nintendo DS and Nintendo Wii.
    While this isn't a negative aspect, the amount of new minigames is therefore quite low.
    Another aspect that has changed drastically in comparison to other games in the series is the pacing of the game.

    While other games tried to emphasize "educational" aspects of the minigames for your sense of rhythm and contained next to none dialogues between characters, this game tries to build a story around playing rhythm minigames and restoring the "flow" by doing so.
    By trying to provide entertaining dialogues it is only trying to fill up the play hours spent with the game and the dialogues are mostly inconsequent texts emphasizing the aspect that they could be easily left out with nobody noticing.
    Additionally the player has to press and release the A button to progress in the dialogue which makes it really tedious to progress and makes fast skipping impossible.

    Besides the dialogue the minigames are really entertaining and in this 3DS version also allows you to improve more easily as your timing is displayed on the touchscreen.
    The better one performs in a minigame the more points he scores and the obtained coins increase.
    As this game contains a lot of content that can be unlocked by paying with coins the player is encouraged to play minigames many times which he will gladly do as this game contains a lot of catchy tunes.

    Especially the music in this localized version is also the biggest negative aspect.
    As only a small team was assigned to translate this game to English, they couldn't do a true localization.
    This means, as stupid as it sounds, they put probably more effort in translating the subpar dialogue than in recording English voiceclips for the minigames and recording English versions of the songs which is what the player is spending the most time with.
    As a result probably team members of the localization team had to provide the voices themselves instead of hiring professional voice actors which reduced the value of the English version in comparison the the Japanese version by a lot.
    As most games had professional English translations from previous installments and therefore only needed to be inserted in the Japanese game, basically only some minigames from the Japan exclusive Rhythm Tengoku and new minigames from Rhythm Tengoku the best plus, the Japanese 3DS version, needed to be translated.

    Especially two minigames have become noticable worse by translating to English.
    The first one is the "space dance" where the instructors voice can hardly be heard and the tone of voice is not fitting the character and it sounds like a woman provided the voice even though a man is the instructor.
    The second one is the also GBA exclusive minigame "marching order" where the instructors voice is sounding like it belongs to the marching soldiers instead to the instructor.

    Besides the voiceclips the songs played during minigames also were cut when they weren't already in English.
    Therefore only the "Honeybee Remix", which isn't even the first remix, keeps its song, all other remix songs were replaced with midi instruments playing the vocal part.
    This is the most disappointing aspect of this game as the remixes were always the parts of a rhythm heaven game to most look forward to.
    I also want to mention that the European Nintendo DS version even contained songs that were localized to 5 different languages emphasizing that they didnt put up much effort in this localization.
    Because of this I more enjoyed playing the Japanese version of this game as it felt more like a complete experience.

    Even though they offer you the option to play the original Japanese versions of the minigames, it doesn't justify to buy the English version over the Japanese one.
    Also if you only want to play the game for its "story" the time with this game is pretty short.
    While unlocking new minigames and playing in multiplayer are aspects that motivate you to keep playing, it doesn't justify to charge the price of a full game.
    I therefore only give this game 6 out of 10 points.
    If the game's price is cut to be between 15 or 20 $ I would still recommend it to anyone to go and buy it, but for the current price it just isn't worth it.
    Expand
  11. Aug 19, 2016
    7
    not a bad game by any means, but pales in comparison to the earlier Rhythm Heaven games. the music in these games used to be catchy and memorable; Megamix has new, forgettable music in all its stages. the difficulty level has also been lowered noticeably; these games were never about challenge but they also required careful listening to the music and tight timing. Megamix isn't a badnot a bad game by any means, but pales in comparison to the earlier Rhythm Heaven games. the music in these games used to be catchy and memorable; Megamix has new, forgettable music in all its stages. the difficulty level has also been lowered noticeably; these games were never about challenge but they also required careful listening to the music and tight timing. Megamix isn't a bad purchase and it's wonderful that it was localized, but i'd recommend any of the earlier games in the series, including the original Rhythm Tengoku, over it. Expand
  12. Sep 24, 2016
    9
    Addicting! I cannot get enough of this game! The only complaint I have is that the difficulty is toned down evidently. But besides that it is great as it has a lot of rhythm games and has a funny story with a funny ending which shows that this game is good for anyone. And that it's not the story that matters in this game, it's the entertainment of the actual gameplay. And even now I'mAddicting! I cannot get enough of this game! The only complaint I have is that the difficulty is toned down evidently. But besides that it is great as it has a lot of rhythm games and has a funny story with a funny ending which shows that this game is good for anyone. And that it's not the story that matters in this game, it's the entertainment of the actual gameplay. And even now I'm still working to unlock everything! Expand
  13. Dec 28, 2016
    10
    I just loved it, al first i felt sad because it was easier than the ds version and that some song weren't included (school dj, the rockers), i switch to the "tap" version to make it more difficult. Now that i have enden the game i'm trying to get all perfect and trying to finish all the challenges
  14. Mar 2, 2017
    8
    This series is the ultimate time killer, and the newest entry is no exception. It has the same wacky but simple game play the series is known for, but with more content than ever before. Sporting over 100 games both new and old, plus challenges, this is a game that will keep you occupied and bopping your head for a very long time.
  15. Sep 18, 2019
    10
    Take Warioware and your standard Rhythm game and mush them together, and you will get this amazing game.
  16. Jun 9, 2020
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is pretty good. Not the best, as most of them, are reskins. Sure it might be in the name but I found myself getting a little irritated or disappointed that most of the games are just from Tengoku, the original, and Fever. But I recommend it. Expand
  17. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    By far the best rhythm game ever made.

    A cross between a standard rhythm game and warioware.

    I hope they bring this to the switch.
  18. Mar 24, 2020
    7
    Pese a ser un recopilatorio de todos los juegos de la saga hasta el momento, le falta esa chispa de personalidad que tenían sus entregas anteriores. Eso sí, como introducción a la saga es perfecto. Vaya chusco de historia, sobraba totalmente.
  19. Nov 19, 2020
    8
    Very fun and pretty awesome music but is also the least creative game-wise and is way too easy
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 12, 2017
    60
    Rhythmic game cut to an absolute core. Lots of minigames, simple visuals, a dynamic soundtrack and squeezing one or two buttons. And it is stiff as excrement. [Issue #270]
  2. Nov 30, 2016
    82
    If you ever wondered what would happen if you cross the minigame madness of Wario Ware with a ridiculous story and add rhythm game mechanics, this is the one to look out for.
  3. Nov 16, 2016
    70
    Does what it sets out to - just don’t expect a revolution, Dance Dance or otherwise.