Ridge Racer 3D Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Ridge Racer series returns to set the racing world on fire with brand new features, breathtaking stereoscopic 3D visuals, a wider variety of machines, new environments, expanded customization and updated drift mechanics. Ridge Racer 3D will be the hottest racing game on the Nintendo 3DS.The Ridge Racer series returns to set the racing world on fire with brand new features, breathtaking stereoscopic 3D visuals, a wider variety of machines, new environments, expanded customization and updated drift mechanics. Ridge Racer 3D will be the hottest racing game on the Nintendo 3DS. Drift through hairpin turns at blistering speeds to edge out the rest of the pack with powerful drift-tuned cars. Using the stereoscopic 3D power of the Nintendo 3DS, players will be able to experience a level of intimacy with the on-screen races like never before. Players can now accurately judge the distance between them and the competition with 3D depth of field for some of the most intense arcade racing available. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Ridge Racer Official Trailer 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Mar 27, 2011
    90
    I have to hand it to Namco-Bandai: With the exception of omitting online multiplayer, it really put together a solid entry in the series for the 3DS launch, one that's easily high on the list of best titles available for the new system.
  2. Apr 3, 2011
    80
    When it comes down to it, Ridge Racer 3D is a familiar comfort that new 3DS owners can turn to if they want a safe launch game that they're likely to enjoy.
  3. Jun 13, 2011
    80
    Arcade-racing fans should take a look at Ridge Racer 3D. The game is funny, challenging and a real arcade-racing game with the good old Ridge Racer features & sounds.
  4. Games Master UK
    Mar 31, 2011
    75
    It's lacking in a few areas but it all comes down to gameplay, where Ridge Racer shines. [May 2011, p.69]
  5. May 25, 2011
    70
    There's fun to be had with Ridge Racer 3D, and it's a decent showcase of what the 3DS can do. There's room for improvement but there's nothing fundamentally wrong with it. We'd definitely recommend it to fans of the series and newcomers alike.
  6. Apr 4, 2011
    70
    A good arcade driving game, although it reuses too much content from prior entries in the Ridge Racer series, lacks online multiplayer and has dissapointing graphics.
  7. Mar 30, 2011
    50
    It's hardly groundbreaking or exceptional in any way, for me it felt like the very definition of average.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    I loved this games, and I think that 1UP did too with it's "B-" score. But the Metacritic score of 67 does not show it. The 3D really addsI loved this games, and I think that 1UP did too with it's "B-" score. But the Metacritic score of 67 does not show it. The 3D really adds to this game, and it is the 2nd best launch game on the system!

    As a school teacher, an A is 90-100, a B is 80-89, a C is 70-79, a D is a 60-69, and an F is 59 and below. I think your C and D grades are way too harsh and bring down the overall Metacritic score even though there are some things that the critics liked in those movies/songs/games. Please consider revising your letter grades. Sincerely, Mr. B
    Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    I liked this game because you mostly won all the time but when it first came out it had a glitch until they fixed it in June but I thoughtI liked this game because you mostly won all the time but when it first came out it had a glitch until they fixed it in June but I thought this game was really thought out alot Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    To start with, the graphics are top class. The precision and great quality of graphics means that the game looks like a PS3 game, that's howTo start with, the graphics are top class. The precision and great quality of graphics means that the game looks like a PS3 game, that's how good it is. The game itself is great, with many great characters and uses most of rhe 3DS's functions to good (make that great) use. The only downfall is that there really isn't much new to offer, apart from some new circuits and the like. Very good, worthy of it's current metacritic score, however, could offer something that's slightly more drastically different to other versions. Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    This game is really good. Although there is no online multiplayer, the single player campaign is over 15 hours of gameplay. There are a goodThis game is really good. Although there is no online multiplayer, the single player campaign is over 15 hours of gameplay. There are a good amount of cars and tracks to race with/on, and the gameplay is astounding, The game has a brilliant emphasis on drifting, and once you get the hang of it and you get to the class 3/2/1 cars, you'll have a load of fun drifting around courses like you're on a roller coaster. I highly recommend this game to people in general, and for 3ds racing fans this is a must have!!

    Gameplay: 9/10
    Story: N/A
    Music: 7/10
    Presentation: 8/10
    Length: 7.5/10
    Overall: 8.5/10
    Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2013
    7
    This game is only good, but nothing great or awful. The graphics and 3D are nice, and the sense of speed is awesome. Single player is prettyThis game is only good, but nothing great or awful. The graphics and 3D are nice, and the sense of speed is awesome. Single player is pretty deep with many modes and unlockable cars. Gameplay is at Ridge Racer's arcade-style best with the crazy drifting it's known for (those that criticize the drifting simply don't know RR's handling). The music is great with some cool tunes, the original Ridge Racer theme, and some Pac-Man remixes. The track selection is varied with their many different layouts. Some downsides did weigh this game down a bit, though. There is no online, which makes the multiplayer weak. The AI does rubber -band in boss battles where I couldn't distance myself, and in races where they speed up immediately and bump you mercilessly. The announcer woman, while I do praise her enthusiasm, gets fairly annoying at times. The frame rate also suffered at times in the racing. A good racer for the 3DS that does feel slightly rushed, but nowhere near the Vita version in those regards. 7.3/10 Expand
  6. Jan 18, 2013
    6
    Ridge Racer 3D is a good racing game for the 3DS however, it does feel rushed e.g. the graphics could have been better and other small thingsRidge Racer 3D is a good racing game for the 3DS however, it does feel rushed e.g. the graphics could have been better and other small things could have been changed to make the whole game feel and look better. Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2011
    2
    Shockingly bad, I couldn't believe the awful graphics, and the 3D while sort of nice didn't add enough to me. The single player does seem longShockingly bad, I couldn't believe the awful graphics, and the 3D while sort of nice didn't add enough to me. The single player does seem long but starts off so easy and boring. Unless you love ridge racer I would stay away from this game. Even so I would say pick it up far cheaper on psp. If you love arcade racers and don't own outrun already again you might enjoy this just be aware the game is like 5 year old game with 3d. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Trailers