Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game follows the Hanzo & Hebijo Shinobi Academies as they battle for good and evil respectively. This time however there is a greater evil at work, as the tyrannous tycoon behind the Hebijo Academy is hell-bent on raining terror across all of Japan by utilising a destructive army ofThe game follows the Hanzo & Hebijo Shinobi Academies as they battle for good and evil respectively. This time however there is a greater evil at work, as the tyrannous tycoon behind the Hebijo Academy is hell-bent on raining terror across all of Japan by utilising a destructive army of summoned demons. This great danger thrusts the girls together and forces them to unite and work as one in a way the series has never seen before. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 28
  2. Negative: 6 out of 28
  1. Sep 30, 2015
    80
    Senran Kagura 2 winks at players with sexual jokes, hot visuals and hentai tropes, but it's actually a very good beat'em up with tons of content and unlockables. Despite its target audience and some issues with controls, there's a lot to enjoy here.
  2. Sep 29, 2015
    78
    A notable improvement over its predecessor, Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson offers a nice mix of visual novel with intense hack n' slash action, tons of content, great fan-service, AR experiences and online interaction. A great ecchi game.
  3. NF Magazine
    Sep 30, 2015
    70
    As a brawler, Senran Kagura 2 isn't half bad. [Issue #17 – September/October 2015, p.73]
  4. Sep 14, 2015
    64
    In one of the most fan service of series that we have right now, Senran Kagura 2 tries to fix the issues we saw in Burst. And most of the time it's successful in that, but an unreliable camera, poor allies IA and uninspiring combo system are there. A shame, because the use of the 3D is spectacular, the graphics are very good and we have a funny coop and few modes really interesting.
  5. Aug 28, 2015
    60
    SENRAN KAGURA 2: Deep Crimson is a reasonably solid fighting game with some decent presentation and consistent performance in 2D, but is hampered by repetitive enemies and uninspired combat mechanics for the most part.
  6. Oct 7, 2015
    55
    It's decent in short bursts, but I have a feeling that it will be quickly forgotten once the Vita's upcoming Senran Kagura: Estival Versus hits.
  7. Nov 15, 2015
    20
    This game is about breasts. That's it. There really isn't anything deeper to it, not at all. [Issue#167, p.97]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Sep 15, 2015
    10
    To me personally, before you judge a game, you should actually try it out and not dismiss it completely. This one at least I can say is greatTo me personally, before you judge a game, you should actually try it out and not dismiss it completely. This one at least I can say is great and totally deserves attention. Yeah, it had lots of boobies all over the place, but below the fleshy surface, it's also a great game in its own right. Obviously everyone is gonna talk about the fanservice, but how about the game inside? That's how I went about it, all the more since I was not familiar with the series before trying this one out. Besides, I can't enjoy a game just because it has fanservice in it or flashy visuals, I need some actually good gameplay, valuable content, something engaging about it that keeps me coming back for more. At the end of the day, dismissing the fanservice, I still found all of the aforementioned inside, so better talk about that and not focus on what anybody else could tell at first glance. Besides, who said you can't have fanservice and a great game at the same time? Bayonetta anyone? Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2015
    10
    Just a couple things to note: if the clothing destruction really bothers you (which it shouldn't as it's a silly thing to let ruin an entireJust a couple things to note: if the clothing destruction really bothers you (which it shouldn't as it's a silly thing to let ruin an entire game, not to mention one that is actually fun) you can turn those scenes off for the first time in the series. Eventually there will be DLC that allows you to change the character's breast sizes so you can make them more realistic (or less) if the notion strikes you.

    When I first played Senran I did it just to see if it was any good and I was pleasantly surprised. Senran Kagura is just as good/better as any other brawler, you just have to get past the main subject to see that. Even the story in this game is well written and very dark at times-- something you would not expect from a boob themed game. That being said after a while you won't even notice the large busts or fanservice because you'll be so engulfed in the gameplay itself. Though it's definitely one some will have to try out in order to see it for the great game it really is deep down under all that skin.

    If people would drop their weird hang-ups about the big boobs and play it like any other game then they'd all see that to be true soon enough. The fanservice has never wanted to be taken seriously but the game itself does. All the boobage is meant to be taken with a grain of salt and laughed at, nothing more and nothing less. It's stupid and closeminded that some refuse to play it just because of that one little factor. If anyone ever takes boobs jokes that seriously then they're waaay too thin-skinned (that or their head is lodged firmly in the gutter).

    I've seen people say "Those who like Senran Kagura are childish" when talking about the fanservice. That's funny to me because I think those who get so bent out of shape are childish for letting something like that ruin an entire experience for them. The ones who complain about the fanservice obsess over it more than the people who are actually fans. This series is very good, and not just good for a series with it's type of theme, good for a game that is like any other game out there. Play it like you'd play any other brawler and you'll enjoy it the same way. Hopefully one day more people will realize it's good because it's a sad day when fans need to buffer their scores to a 10 to make up for the inevitability of 0s from haters.
    Expand
  3. Sep 15, 2015
    10
    Awesome game, great "plot"! Filled with bubbly bouncy characters (In 3d!), this is a game that brawler fans will be sure to find stimulating.Awesome game, great "plot"! Filled with bubbly bouncy characters (In 3d!), this is a game that brawler fans will be sure to find stimulating. If you are new to this type of game, it is the perfect introduction to arouse your interest in the genre. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2016
    9
    Great graphics and an easy lead to quick action makes this a fine portable beat 'em up.
    Battle system is too similar to the first game,
    Great graphics and an easy lead to quick action makes this a fine portable beat 'em up.
    Battle system is too similar to the first game, though.
    Fanservice also counts to the math, and tons of recorded speech and typical Shounen graphic sexual jokes are welcome here.
    Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2015
    9
    Ignore the embarrassing reviews from what are supposed to be impartial game critics. This is a stellar action game, filled with lightning-fastIgnore the embarrassing reviews from what are supposed to be impartial game critics. This is a stellar action game, filled with lightning-fast combat and an interesting plot. For people who have played Burst, know that this game has a rock-solid framerate and a huge amount of character customization. As such, it is mechanically superior to the original in almost every way. Look past the hypersexualized characters and you will find one of the best action games on the system. Expand
  6. Sep 22, 2015
    8
    This game is great and deserve at least an 8 out of 10, the Critic Reviewers is just bunch of haters. The 3DS is in need of such games. TheyThis game is great and deserve at least an 8 out of 10, the Critic Reviewers is just bunch of haters. The 3DS is in need of such games. They are perfect for a handheld system.The effects and the animations are great. There are many available characters to play as and each of em has its own move set which mean lots of variations in fighting. Further more there are many customizations for the characters. I want to say good job Tamsoft and I am waiting for more games such as this one. I am really enjoying every minute of the game. Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2016
    0
    You want a game filled with unoriginality and content that you immature people could possibly go critter to? Go look for this game in a storeYou want a game filled with unoriginality and content that you immature people could possibly go critter to? Go look for this game in a store near you and buy it now. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews