• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Sep 20, 2016
Shin Megami Tensei IV: Apocalypse Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 237 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The story of Shin Megami Tensei IV: Apocalypse depicts the remnants of Tokyo, ravaged by a catastrophe. Demons and humans co-exist, but in this state, the remnants of humankind are just a prize being fought over by the higher deities. One lone Hunter, the game's protagonist, meets an earlyThe story of Shin Megami Tensei IV: Apocalypse depicts the remnants of Tokyo, ravaged by a catastrophe. Demons and humans co-exist, but in this state, the remnants of humankind are just a prize being fought over by the higher deities. One lone Hunter, the game's protagonist, meets an early demise and through a pact with a lesser god, is brought back to life in exchange for his pledge of servitude. From there, the protagonist allies with other Hunters in the ruins of post-apocalyptic Tokyo beginning a plot that crosses over with the events of the original Shin Megami Tensei IV. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Shin Megami Tensei IV: Apocalypse - Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 100
    Shin Megami Tensei IV: Apocalypse provides more of the series' addictive combination of exploring, demon-collecting and fast-paced battling, all while continuing the delightfully warped narrative of its predecessor. This is pure JRPG bliss.
  2. Sep 15, 2016
    90
    It’s an obvious second try to rectify the problems of the former game, but it is damn fine excellent one.
  3. Dec 14, 2016
    90
    This episode is one of the best RPGs of the year, a great adventure with a great story every JRPG fan should play.
  4. Sep 15, 2016
    85
    While Shin Megami Tensei IV: Apocalypse feels a little too similar at times, it’s one of the tightest JRPGs on the 3DS.
  5. Sep 26, 2016
    85
    My final score would have been considerably higher had the game ended when it was first given the opportunity.
  6. Sep 28, 2016
    80
    While I think Apocalypse is much better than its predecessor, a part of me wishes more had been done to make this game feel a bit more fresh.
  7. Sep 15, 2016
    70
    Sort of a weird game in that it is both undeniably great and a little bit disappointing at the same time. It is a poor spot to jump into for newbies and yet returning veterans might be a disappointed by how much the game repeats itself.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Sep 20, 2016
    10
    En.: I'm with 5 or 6 hours of gameplay and, til' now, the game is really, really good. It follows the same structure from the SMTIV but its aEn.: I'm with 5 or 6 hours of gameplay and, til' now, the game is really, really good. It follows the same structure from the SMTIV but its a lot better. The history is fantastic, the anime style graphics are also amazing so are the voices. I truly recommend this that can be a new great RPG from 3DS.
    Pt.: Estou com 5 ou 6 horas de jogo e o mesmo é muito viciante. Desde que comecei a jogar, não consigo mais parar. A história é envolvente, a dublagem está ótima, os gráficos estilo anime também são ótimos. Recomendo fortemente o mesmo por ser um dos melhores RPGs para o 3DS.
    Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2016
    10
    Finished this seconds ago after over 70 hours, beating the game on War (Hard) difficulty for the first time.

    I had high hopes for this
    Finished this seconds ago after over 70 hours, beating the game on War (Hard) difficulty for the first time.

    I had high hopes for this game, SMT IV being possibly my favourite RPG of all time. I picked that game up and immediately threw 50 hours of my time at it, loving every second. This not only met all my expectations but exceeded them.

    Presentation/Graphics:

    The presentation is basically identical to SMT IV, as are the graphics. However, worth noting is the improved artwork quality. SMT IV had some really awesome demon designs, but many of them were busy and clashed with pre-existing demons. This has been resolved with some re-drawn demons that look fabulous, as well as several new ones which are welcome additions to the roster. Character art all seems spot-on too, retaining that SMT IV awkward charm (think Walter's **** eating grin).

    Story:

    As for the story, it's probably the only thing that will prove subjective. SMT IV had such a heavy atmosphere because of the situation you were put in, wandering into a vast, unknown landscape with little support. This is not that, and not SMT IV, but what it is fits this game's story well and is done interestingly. You have a real party of individuals from different walks of life, and while it's a bit close to a typical RPG party, I enjoyed all of the characters involved (even if you seem to learn very little about one of them). A prominent theme in the story is banding together and avoiding easy outs to bad situations, and I think the party suits this well. I liked the story, and I think the true ending here is more satisfying than that of SMT IV.

    Gameplay:

    The combat is just bliss. Every little problem in SMT IV was re-evaluated and changed into a valuable system here. This is a monumental accomplishment, as partners, smirks, status effects and other elements now all feel genuinely impactful, making for an incredibly deep and satisfying combat system. Once you get good at it, the game is also very good at letting you handle repetitive tasks with ease, simply because it knows they are bound to happen eventually. It just nails everything, and I deeply hope that SMT V takes this system and runs with it. Demon Fusion is just as good as ever, and with the skill +/- modifiers on demon skills, choices are even more important. The boss fights for me on War were tense and difficult on many occasions, while still feeling fair. The true final boss in particular was an amazing experience; a heart-pounder the likes of which I hadn't experienced since P3:FES.

    By the way, the map is quite similar to the original, but unlike in SMT IV I never found myself struggling to find a path.

    If I had to list negatives, I'd be scrounging for them. Grinding might be necessary occasionally, though demon fusion is almost always a better solution. The only real issue I noticed was how difficult it was to generate money throughout the game. It can be important, and there are points where enemies will flat-out steal large chunks from you so be wary.

    By most people's rationale, this game shouldn't exist. There's better ways to make money than this, certainly. This is a passion project from the devs of SMT IV, setting out to do something almost nobody does: refine a flawed but great game into a spectacular one. Please, if you're even giving thought to buying this, just do it and play it through ASAP. It'll be worth your time, and it's worth supporting good devs.
    Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2019
    10
    One of the very best RPGs I ever got to play. Every element about it is so enjoyable and unique!
  4. Sep 20, 2016
    10
    What is there to say? A New SMT game came out, and it is glorious This is a story in its own, takeing place slightly before, during and afterWhat is there to say? A New SMT game came out, and it is glorious This is a story in its own, takeing place slightly before, during and after the events of the original, but with so much more. If you like the SMT series this is a much needed game Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2016
    9
    Love love love this game. Even more accessible to beginners than the original IV yet offering just as much challenge as other games in theLove love love this game. Even more accessible to beginners than the original IV yet offering just as much challenge as other games in the series. A must own for any 3DS owner. Somehow they managed to outdo SMT IV Expand
  6. Jun 21, 2019
    7
    At its best, an exciting, wildly creative and refreshing JRPG experience with an impressive collection of demon allies. At its worst, a dull,At its best, an exciting, wildly creative and refreshing JRPG experience with an impressive collection of demon allies. At its worst, a dull, dreary and terribly-paced slog. SMTIVA is my first Atlus game and I've really enjoyed it for the most part but it certainly has some issues.

    The highlight of the game is the demon/demon fusing system. Hundreds of amazingly drawn demonic, angelic and downright weird creatures can be recruited to your team, levelled up, developed and ultimately fused with another team member to create something new. I LOVED toiling through the demon compendium to see what I could afford to fuse, what I wanted to aim for and generally marveling at every monster's design. The battle system was enjoyable, and having a huge cast of versatile allies to draw from was a great change to usual JRPGs where you have single-figure party numbers. The abilities on offer were good but combat never changed the entire playthrough. Yes, you got new automatically-controlled human partners who varied in terms of attack/defense/magic focus but that was it. For those who don't like grindy games, avoid at all costs! Battling never felt too taxing until some later dungeons, and the random battles were easy to out-level even on higher difficulties. The ability to auto-battle was a god send. I seemed to always run out of MP however.... Equipment changes seemed totally redundant to me for the main character.

    The story is fine, although it may just be my taste in media but the angel vs. demons (where both are bad) thing isn't really that revolutionary. The characters are general anime archetypes (except maybe Toki, I loved her), but their English voices are actually really well done and well-localised. The story pacing is awful and I've put the game down for extended periods of time for this reason. The side quests aren't riveting and almost always fetch quests. Overall, I was never compelled to continue in a narrative sense...my love for the collectible demons drove me single-handedly!

    The main issue for me is the visuals... The post-apocalyptic Tokyo vibe is amazing but nothing is done to try and spruce this up in terms of visual design. It's all dark greys, greens and blues, the characters are the same. The demons are the only respite and offer the most colour in the game. Exploring quite samey demonic-infected city quarters was dull and the side dungeons being made to look the exact same just made things worse. I GET the themes and overall atmosphere is nailed, but I could've used some visual flair (like Persona) to overlay and enhance the overall aesthetic to make it interesting.

    A hot and cold experience for me with more hot than cold. The demon fusion system is absolutely incredible (for a first-time Atlus player) and I cannot wait to try Persona. Hopefully the apparently great story and obvious visual flair will negate my cons about SMTIVA!
    Expand
  7. Jan 20, 2017
    4
    The writing is absolutely terrible, the gameplay is an improvement, but the narrative is just flat out stupid. Apocalypse basically goes outThe writing is absolutely terrible, the gameplay is an improvement, but the narrative is just flat out stupid. Apocalypse basically goes out of its way to push along with a Firnedship is Magic narrative while also pretending to give players choices that mean anything. Any time you take the 'mean guy' choice because a character is just being annoying or whatever, the dialogue flow stutters for only a second before it goes to acting like what just happened did not in fact happen. You can be completely mean the entire game and everybody will be surprised in the end when you pick Dagda's ending. The dungeons are okay, lots of boring rehashes of locations in SMTIV, and the last dungeon will make you curse the game for not having a way of knowing where warps will take you.

    All in all I don't think it's that great of an experience. The gameplay is only a bit better than SMTIV, and the story is a *lot* worse. Worse, I think, is if you played the two games in succession then SMTIVA would confuse you with retcons and changes while also boring you with the same dungeons and locations.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews