• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: May 17, 2011
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Jul 11, 2011
    70
    Spongebob is a title very fun to play thanks to a flawless technical execution. The only limitation of the game lies in its low level of challenge that makes it a title mostly for children.
  2. Jun 4, 2011
    70
    SpongeBob SquigglePants formidably follows the nanogame formula established by WarioWare, and its simplicity, quick pace and silly humour are an entertaining, accessible and addictive combination.
  3. Jun 16, 2011
    67
    That being said, the game is well worth playing, for both kids and adults, as the nanogames are well done, Patchy the Pirate is hilarious and the art style is fantastic. If the game had more nanogames and a more compelling 3D implementation it'd be a different story, but as it is, it's tough to recommend for the price.
  4. May 24, 2011
    62
    Short bursts is the recipe for your enjoyment of this game.
  5. May 21, 2011
    60
    SpongeBob SquigglePants has a few problems that can be justified -- the lack of impressive 3D effects doesn't sting since the game includes a variety of cool art styles, and the game's derivation from the WarioWario formula can be forgiven since the core gameplay is entertaining. Unfortunately, there's no good reason for the game's biggest problem: the extreme dearth of content. At $40, there's not nearly enough of SpongeBob SquigglePants to justify a purchase.
  6. Nintendo Gamer
    Sep 27, 2011
    59
    Spongebob doesn't have the personality to pull it all together. [Oct 2011, p.71]
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Jun 16, 2021
    8
    It's clear that this is a WarioWare clone, but that's what I love so much about this game! Each world has a different art style with minigamesIt's clear that this is a WarioWare clone, but that's what I love so much about this game! Each world has a different art style with minigames to accompany the different art styles. I would give this a 9, but some of the microgames I found a bit difficult to get to work correctly, like the slingshot and the paper airplane microgames. Full Review »
  2. Aug 9, 2020
    9
    I picked up this game thinking it would be yet another mediocre spongebob title, but no. The game experiments with many different art stylesI picked up this game thinking it would be yet another mediocre spongebob title, but no. The game experiments with many different art styles which is so cool to see in a game like this. They could easily have not bothered. The gameplay is so addicting and varied that anyone could pick up and play this game.
    The only setbacks are lack of content and challenge. I'd consider it an underrated gem of the 3DS library.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 27, 2017
    5
    It was kind of fun for a little while...I say that because it only seems to last a little while. I beat it the day I got it. I didn't unlockIt was kind of fun for a little while...I say that because it only seems to last a little while. I beat it the day I got it. I didn't unlock everything, but it was over way too quickly. I thought it would be cool to have a SpongeBob themed WarioWare game on 3DS (since we never got a WarioWare game on 3DS), but it was very lacking. Full Review »