Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 10 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Oct 28, 2014
    45
    What little fun Tenkai Knights Brave brings during the mech-on-mech battles is almost entirely overshadowed by the game’s incredibly repetitive nature. Even the surprisingly robust customization that the game offers isn’t enough to warrant the rest of the package.
  2. Oct 27, 2014
    40
    There's nothing awful or fundamentally broken about the game, and Tenkai Knights: Brave Battle has a pleasant atmosphere and presentation. However, it's blunted by the lacklustre and repetitive gameplay, along with controls that lack polish.
  3. Oct 13, 2014
    40
    Overall Tenkai Knights: Brave Battle feels half-baked.
  4. Nov 3, 2014
    25
    Tenkai Knights: Brave Battle is a disappointing adaptation that had everything to become an excellent comeback to the days of the GameBoy Advance. Its controls are frustrating, its stages are boring and not very different, and its gameplay is extremely repetitive. With a deeper, or at least better told, story along with improvements in its overall mechanics, this title would have been a much more enjoyable and entertaining experience, but due to all the design flaws it contains, you will not want to play it after trying it for 10 or 15 minutes.
  5. Nov 12, 2014
    20
    This game is meant for the fans of Tenkai Knights, and when I say fan, I mean a die-hard fan. Even then, I doubt any hardcore fan would find many redeeming qualities with this junker of a 3DS game.
  6. Oct 23, 2014
    20
    This is the very definition of lazy tie-in game, and one I wouldn't recommend to anyone I wanted to speak with again in the future. Check out the physical toys instead.
  7. 20
    Tenkai Knights: Brave Battle is not broken. But it lacks even the slightest hint of creativity or effort within it. To say corners were cut to quickly cash in on the license is an understatement, and by extension this is nothing short of sheer exploitation. That's offensive.
  8. Oct 10, 2014
    20
    If even a ounce of effort was put forward, Brave Battle could have been a guilty pleasure, but instead it wastes everybody’s time with dreadful execution.
  9. Oct 23, 2014
    15
    Simply put, Tenkai Knights Brave Battle is a horribly conceived piece of shovel-ware of the lowest caliber.
  10. Oct 13, 2014
    0
    Maybe the toys and the cartoon will be a success, but this game is a shame.
User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 27
  2. Negative: 19 out of 27
  1. Nov 15, 2014
    0
    the only question i have regarding this game's existence: why? what was the point of making this? money? no, it was a flop. critical acclaim?the only question i have regarding this game's existence: why? what was the point of making this? money? no, it was a flop. critical acclaim? lol yeah right. popularity? i don't think so. they should bury this game with all those copies of that atari E.T game Full Review »
  2. Oct 25, 2014
    0
    Why does this game exist,just why.My 3ds is now broken and can't even run any games on it.I played it on my friend's 3ds and it is easily oneWhy does this game exist,just why.My 3ds is now broken and can't even run any games on it.I played it on my friend's 3ds and it is easily one of the worst games this year.It's terrible. Full Review »
  3. Feb 27, 2020
    6
    It's... Certainly a game. Most, if not all gear that's worth using, is locked behind Cheat Codes, and I gave up playing normally half wayIt's... Certainly a game. Most, if not all gear that's worth using, is locked behind Cheat Codes, and I gave up playing normally half way through. I used all of that gear, and still struggled on easy mode, despite my gear being extremely powerful. I know it's been 5 or so years since I watched the anime, but a lot of it is just cut off. Wasn't there a segment where the main characters teamed up with the main villain in this dungeon like place? Either way, the small size of the game was already a warning. 216 Megabytes is extremely small, and most DS games are larger. Combat is very flawed, with some weapons objectively being much better. You should only ever use Blasters, or Staves if you are forced to play this game. The music was strangely very high quality for the 3DS, but some tracks loop within 15 seconds. This is just not a good game, by any means. A 3 hour story that was quite pathetic.
    Overall, I'm mixed. I like the concept they had, and the adaptation was somewhat OK, but the poor combat, and extreme AI make this a hard pass unless you manage to get this for under 15$.
    Full Review »