Zero Escape: Zero Time Dilemma Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Choice is your only method of salvation and your only method of escape. How much of your humanity will you sacrifice to gain your freedom? As a new age of ruin looms large on the horizon, you have to make impossible decisions and weather unimaginable consequences as you straddle the lineChoice is your only method of salvation and your only method of escape. How much of your humanity will you sacrifice to gain your freedom? As a new age of ruin looms large on the horizon, you have to make impossible decisions and weather unimaginable consequences as you straddle the line between absolution and damnation. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 29, 2016
    92
    My time with Zero Time Dilemma was one of great pleasure and anguish, mainly because I knew I was saying goodbye to one of my favorite series.
  2. Jul 4, 2016
    90
    Zero Time Dilemma is a satisfying conclusion to the Zero Escape series, but I feel it’s missing a final challenge room to test my wits.
  3. Jul 15, 2016
    90
    Zero Escape improves its narrative methods, but the story is a bit less surprising than the other games of the franchise.
  4. Jun 28, 2016
    85
    Its narrative and puzzles can occasionally be long-winded and a bit too time consuming, but it still stands out as one of the more gripping narrative driven games we’ve played. Just be aware: before the moment of final escape, there will be blood and tears.
  5. Aug 21, 2016
    80
    However you arrive at Zero Time Dilemma, if you're into the series' mix of horror and Hegel you're in for a treat — and you may never look at a snail the same way again.
  6. Jun 29, 2016
    80
    Zero Time Dilemma, above all else, is a finale that should please anyone looking for a great story — even if the gameplay gets lost in the background as a result.
  7. Jul 1, 2016
    60
    It may stumble too many times with its dialogue, fail to find much substance in its characters, and lack any impressive presentation. But it uses that fragmented structure to keep you guessing, and engaged, right up to its numerous depressing, hopeful, gruesome endings.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Jul 4, 2016
    10
    The game is an absolute masterpiece. Once you start, will never put it back. Story is very engaging and creative. The game has some minorThe game is an absolute masterpiece. Once you start, will never put it back. Story is very engaging and creative. The game has some minor issues due to low budget *like some scenes are awkward..etc* but this is nothing compare to the whole experience. Puzzles are fun and creative. Maybe they are challenging for new comers.

    Now the magic question, should you play the previous two games or no? Yes and no. No, in the sense that you don't need to fully understand the story in order for you to understand this one. And yes because you will miss so many 'aha' moments. And you won't know the full details of what's going on!

    So I will highly recommend you pick up the first two games before this one. Both games are still available. The first for DS and the second for 3DS. I don't think they will be available for very long though. So I would pick the two games right now.

    A bit of warning though, you will lose sleep, you will skip your meals, you won't even see your friends during your playtime to the game. It is impossible to STOP playing once when you start. There is so many twists and cliffhangers. You want to find answers to the amazing story!

    Rating the whole series.
    Nine Hours, Nine Persons, Nine Doors - 10/10.
    Virtue's Last Reward - 10/10
    Zero Time Dilemma - 10/10
    Expand
  2. Jun 30, 2016
    10
    Zero Time Dilemma is amazing! it has one of the best stories ever and the puzzles are challenging and brilliant, characters and voice actingZero Time Dilemma is amazing! it has one of the best stories ever and the puzzles are challenging and brilliant, characters and voice acting are really well done, if you appreciate great stories and puzzle solving, do yourself a favor and get this game, but make sure to play 999 and VLR to help you enjoy the game even more! 10/10 perfect masterpiece! Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2016
    10
    Once you start playing a game of this quality, it becomes difficult to enjoy any other game. This is one of the most immersive games I haveOnce you start playing a game of this quality, it becomes difficult to enjoy any other game. This is one of the most immersive games I have ever played. Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2016
    9
    If you haven't played 999 and VLR yet, STOP. Go do that. Right now.

    Still with me? Okay. While in the end, I think this is my least
    If you haven't played 999 and VLR yet, STOP. Go do that. Right now.

    Still with me? Okay.

    While in the end, I think this is my least favorite of the trilogy, that speaks more to how amazing the first two games are rather than anything being wrong with this one. It's still absolutely fantastic, and while I spotted several reveals coming, Uchikoshi still managed to make my brain melt out of my ears in the end.

    YOU FOUND IT!
    Expand
  5. May 28, 2017
    8
    I had some mixed feelings with Zero Time Dilemma. I absolutely loved Virtue's Last Reward, so I was really excited to play the sequel and,I had some mixed feelings with Zero Time Dilemma. I absolutely loved Virtue's Last Reward, so I was really excited to play the sequel and, while this is still a pretty solid game, it's definetly not as good as VLR, at all.

    In one had, the story is still really good and interesting for the most part, with some really awesome moments, the puzzles that the game have are still really fun and sometimes kind of hard and the game can be really adictive to play, watching what will happen or what ending you can get. However, the story is not as interesting as the previous games and a lot shorter than VLR for some reason, the pace of the game is not the best, because sometimes you will have to do many puzzle sections and watch almost no story, unlike VLR that had many puzzles and a lot of story in a really good pace and also the ending kinda sucked.

    The graphics are pretty decent for a 3DS game, with good models and ok enviroments, however, the animations are absolutely awful, some of the worst i have ever seen, and that makes som moments hard to be taken serously . The music is still fantastic, but most of it is recicled from the previous games and that's pretty dissapointing, the voice acting in japanese is pretty convincing and the sound effects go from aceptable to really bad.

    Overall, the game is still really fun to play and adictive, but is definetly not as good as i could have been.
    Expand
  6. Aug 1, 2016
    8
    A bunch of bootleg robotic versions of the main characters from the last two games come together to tell the final chapter of theA bunch of bootleg robotic versions of the main characters from the last two games come together to tell the final chapter of the time-and-space-bending saga where cause and effect are treated with about as much finesse as nanomachines.

    There are very few "eureka" moments except where it directly ties into the events of VLR. The puzzles are the weakest they've been in the series, with a couple exceptions, and the motives and actions of some of the characters in certain situations are bizarre. If you're coming in blind, you won't know what the hell's going on, but if you're already familiar with events, you'll have to sit through even MORE droning about multiverse theory. There are a couple absolutely bizarre deus ex machinae and two of the biggest twists are handled rather clumsily.

    That said, the true end is ultimately a satisfying and befitting conclusion to the story. Where most of the plot has already occurred over the first two games, the most important part is that it all ties together neatly, and even if it cheesed it a bit in the process, this game does that.
    Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2018
    4
    I was really disappointed by ZTD. The story wasn't nearly as interesting as 999 or VLR. Sure they tied everything together in the end here,I was really disappointed by ZTD. The story wasn't nearly as interesting as 999 or VLR. Sure they tied everything together in the end here, but there was so much of the early game that was repetitive and boring. And while not wishing to spoil for others, there were several mysteries in the early game that get resolved quickly at the end that have no bearing on the story at all. Those timelines/mysteries were just time-wasters. The interesting plot developments happen ONLY in the second half of the game, and before you can get to that you have to solve puzzles in rooms that don't teach you about the world, make the same decisions with different teams multiple times, and random elements appear throughout the base from previous games for no reason, other than to make mention of them.

    The voice acting is noticeably worse than VLR. The fully 3D cutscenes aren't animated or well executed. The dialogue in places becomes rote and predictable, where one of the three characters on your team HAS to object to a choice you made to provide the "contrary" opinion. It becomes so predictable and boring that it makes the characters and their choices seem lifeless and meaningless.

    Overall a disappointing end to the trilogy.
    Expand

See all 13 User Reviews