• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2000
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 79
  2. Negative: 10 out of 79
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JT
    Sep 20, 2004
    10
    AWESOME. That's all that can be said.
  2. PeterF.
    May 1, 2006
    10
    This is positively amazing for a game this early, especially for the Dreamcast.
  3. Stan
    Jun 27, 2004
    5
    This game COULD have been awesome. It has great looks, great sounds, great level design... but it controls so poorly, and the camera is so bad, it gets nearly unplayable sometimes! You may not notice in early levels, but later JGR just ceased to be fun.
  4. Nov 30, 2015
    7
    This game is really fun but I have to take some points off because it has references to the Sonic games. However, the cool graphics and fun game play are good enough to help you look past them.
  5. MasterKevin
    May 4, 2002
    10
    It is AWESOME!!!
  6. [Anonymous]
    Mar 31, 2002
    10
    This game still rocks. A superb execution of gameplay, controls, environment, characters, music, and style, this game is reason enough to buy a Dreamcast. This will be a classic.
  7. JonG.
    Aug 21, 2003
    9
    A great game that was fun and engaging, until i got stuck in the second part of the second chapter in that area with the big train tracks and the ninja guy chasing you- does anybody know how to beat that?
  8. KevinS.
    Mar 11, 2004
    10
    I think this game is too tight because of the music.
  9. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    probably my 3rd favorite game of all time, this game is a true dreamcast representative, this game has a pretty important role in what sega puts in some of their games (not including sonic, because that would be pretty redundant to include a game like that in a review like this) it actually is a staple of sega, i dont see why Naganuma left sega/smilebit! just a "gem glowing in the dark forprobably my 3rd favorite game of all time, this game is a true dreamcast representative, this game has a pretty important role in what sega puts in some of their games (not including sonic, because that would be pretty redundant to include a game like that in a review like this) it actually is a staple of sega, i dont see why Naganuma left sega/smilebit! just a "gem glowing in the dark for other games" it features a graphic style named "cel-shading" which makes games look cartoony. this game rocks. Expand

Awards & Rankings

3
10
#10 Most Discussed Dreamcast Game of 2000
4
#4 Most Shared Dreamcast Game of 2000
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. CheckOut
    90
    A game that lets you live out those teenage fantasies we've all had about joining a gang, rollerblading through the streets with total abandon and tagging the hell out of anything with a flat surface.
  2. CNET Gamecenter
    90
    A visually gorgeous game that combines awesome graphics, fresh gameplay, irresistible music, and incredible design in a polished package that is a true original.
  3. Dreamcast HQ
    80
    Maybe I'm just being picky, but I found the camera positioning quite annoying at times, especially in the last section of the final boss.