• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jun 21, 2007
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JV
    Feb 20, 2009
    9
    I think the graphics in this 3D shooter are great and what help to send this game over the top. I'm a bit surprised at the critic's reviews. The user ratings would be more accurate in my opinion. I have completed this game and can say the game overall was alot of fun and somewhat challenging at times. I liked the fact that you had multiple weapons at your disposal and were able I think the graphics in this 3D shooter are great and what help to send this game over the top. I'm a bit surprised at the critic's reviews. The user ratings would be more accurate in my opinion. I have completed this game and can say the game overall was alot of fun and somewhat challenging at times. I liked the fact that you had multiple weapons at your disposal and were able to drive various military vehicles. I have several games and this one is in my top 3 list! Expand
  2. BillyR.
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game play for the DS. I still cant put it down. Get this game and you will be happy. It's a little tough to use the stick and the keys but you get used to it. Great graphics.
  3. StevenL.
    Jul 3, 2007
    8
    Good game... entertaining, but a little difficult to control.
  4. TomW.
    Jul 8, 2007
    8
    Very nice game, probably the best shooter on DS. 8 is the maximum because of invisible walls and a few other little things.
  5. SilvanoS.
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    I cannot believe this is working on my little DS! Great game with unbelievable graphics!
  6. JonahM.
    Jun 18, 2007
    7
    It's okay, but there are too many invisible walls, and the atmosphere takes a big hit in the conversion from consoles and PC to DS. Still good, but could have been better.
  7. Dr.Cruel
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    Very nice little game. Quite impressive on the DS. Was going to give it an 8 because of the lack of a single cartridge multiplayer option, but rating it less than a 9 really isn't fair. I had a lot of fun with it.
  8. CaptainCalamity
    Jul 13, 2007
    9
    I have this on both my PSP and my DS....the PSP version is so different to the DS version...here is why I gave the PSP version a 6 and the DS a chunky 9... To start with you are dropped literary into the firing line hanging from your parachute in a tree with a barrage of gun fire and mayhem going on around you as you gawp at the DS screen whilst effortlessly scroll about with the stylus, I have this on both my PSP and my DS....the PSP version is so different to the DS version...here is why I gave the PSP version a 6 and the DS a chunky 9... To start with you are dropped literary into the firing line hanging from your parachute in a tree with a barrage of gun fire and mayhem going on around you as you gawp at the DS screen whilst effortlessly scroll about with the stylus, I hung there for a while just amazed at the graphics...ON A DS...soon you have to cut yourself free and meet the action which never stops from then on, its full on second world war in your pocket and it feels like it, its gritty, scary and sometimes very realistic as you hear bullets whiz past from the right speaker and then the left...blood and stunned effects whirl about you as you travel through your way points to meet the objectives set out for you...possibly a little linear but nicely done. The controls for me are spot on, really felt right, the sound is brilliant and the graphics as i said before are the best seen on a DS, its a difficult game but you can't stop playing, somehow the PSP version leaves me feeling stale and I wander off to watch Coronation Street instead, the DS on the other hand, you haven't a clue what's happening outside of your DS WW2 action packed game...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, would have been a 10 but a few glitches and if only online Wifi multiplayer was available this would hit 11. Expand
  9. JB.
    Jun 18, 2007
    9
    Really easy to play and visuals are top-notch. had a lot of fun playing this game allthough it's rather short.
  10. AlexP.
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    Awesome game! Great graphics, great gameplay, incredible warzone atmosphere. A little too short but this is the best WW2 shooter on the DS platform. Great job guys!
  11. KyleK
    Jun 13, 2007
    8
    Good game not great but maybe BIA 2 will be great. I think the first few votes for this game were from the developers. They gave it a 10 and tried to sound unbiased. You guys are too obvious.
  12. HunterR.
    Jul 14, 2007
    8
    An impressive use of the DS's hardware, and a uniquely capable third-person shooter. Controls are tight, although precision aiming can be difficult. The tactical commanding found in the PC games has been dropped, and although there is still an aspect of taking cover and flanking enemies, this game has a much more run-and-gun feel. Still, it is a good, simple shooter for DS, which is An impressive use of the DS's hardware, and a uniquely capable third-person shooter. Controls are tight, although precision aiming can be difficult. The tactical commanding found in the PC games has been dropped, and although there is still an aspect of taking cover and flanking enemies, this game has a much more run-and-gun feel. Still, it is a good, simple shooter for DS, which is something the system has been aching for since day one. With a little more polish, this could have been a flagship title for the DS, but as it stands, BiA is a tempting glance at what's still to come for Ninetendo's three-year-old handheld. Expand
  13. Forget_your_lifeno-last
    Aug 17, 2007
    1
    Starts off great. look at the graphics!!! Then as soon as your outta the tree you start running into battle. unfortunatly you also run into everything else, invisable walls, fences and the back of non-reactive enemies since you went the wrong way and the game has no idea where you are!? Then there is the vehicles!! dont even get me started on those...they drive so bad there sould be an in Starts off great. look at the graphics!!! Then as soon as your outta the tree you start running into battle. unfortunatly you also run into everything else, invisable walls, fences and the back of non-reactive enemies since you went the wrong way and the game has no idea where you are!? Then there is the vehicles!! dont even get me started on those...they drive so bad there sould be an in game cop issuing you a DUI and a night in detox! Expand
  14. 213374U
    Feb 26, 2008
    7
    This is an okay game for the DS. The graphics are pretty good, considering it is a DS game, and the controls feel very nice. Also, the wide variety of weapons is pretty cool. I do, however, have quite a few problems with it. The vehicles are very hard to control and there are quite a few bugs and glitches. If you stray too far from the area where you are supposed to be playing the enemy This is an okay game for the DS. The graphics are pretty good, considering it is a DS game, and the controls feel very nice. Also, the wide variety of weapons is pretty cool. I do, however, have quite a few problems with it. The vehicles are very hard to control and there are quite a few bugs and glitches. If you stray too far from the area where you are supposed to be playing the enemy soldiers there unresponsive. Also, some of the instances feel as if they are set. For example, if there is a machine gunner in a tower and you step on a certain area you will automatically be killed by the gunner, no matter what. Also most of the weapons are not authentic. The Thompon SMG holds 32 rounds while in real life it holds 20 or 30. Overall, I would say this is a good game but not a great one. It definitely isn't Road to Hill 30. Expand

Awards & Rankings

44
18
#18 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Brothers In Arms DS is a good little action-shooter that makes great use of the DS's unique interface. With the tactical aspect of its gameplay removed in favour of a linear action approach, it loses some of its style and identity, but it's nevertheless the first war shooter for DS, and sets a high standard to beat.
  2. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    81
    You'll be amazed at what the developers are squeezing out of the DS. [July 2007, p.78]
  3. With some tighter programming, and far fewer invisible barriers and dumb deaths, BiA could have been rather good. As it is - flawed and fun - it's a fantastic signpost.