Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 - Defiance Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
1.2

Overwhelming dislike- based on 257 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A sequel to the $1 billion-grossing shooter Modern Warfare 2 is in development at Infinity Ward.
Watch Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 - Special Ops Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Nov 24, 2011
    78
    N-Space did the best possible job porting Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 to Nintendo DS. The game is fun, it's got a good number of missions and the online multiplayer works good. You can also use classic controls instead of the awkward stylus ones.
  2. Not without its flaws but an impressive shooter given the limitations of the hardware.
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    70
    It's not as extravagant, thrilling, or exciting as the main series it's based on, however frame rate and control issues aside, this is a good option for those who want a similar experience on the go.
  4. Nov 13, 2011
    60
    A solid portable shooter crippled by rapidly aging hardware. It's tough going from even an iPad shooter like Modern Combat 3: Fallen Nation to this. Of course, if all you own is a DS, it's one of the better first person titles for the system, but that's not saying much.
  5. 60
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3: Defiance isn't going to win any awards, but as a DS port of a popular franchise, it does a decent job making the experience portable.
  6. Jan 6, 2012
    55
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3: Defiance is a competent though flawed handheld shooter.
  7. Games Master UK
    Dec 17, 2011
    40
    A feeble impersonation of the main event, let down by ageing hardware. [Jan 2012, p.93]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 16 out of 22
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    The best game I've ever played for the Nintendo DS! Forget these haters writing reviews. One of these guys is complaining about the PS3The best game I've ever played for the Nintendo DS! Forget these haters writing reviews. One of these guys is complaining about the PS3 version, which is a completely different game altogether. The other guy is obviously is just one of those guys who hates anything that isn't Battlefield. Forget the console version of MW3. You ain't %^&$ unless you're defending Baltimore. Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2014
    10
    It´s a fantastic game, better than the previous ones from DS! The beginning, when you need giving no shot but avoid the enemies, is funny andIt´s a fantastic game, better than the previous ones from DS! The beginning, when you need giving no shot but avoid the enemies, is funny and smart. Graphics were also improved. To fight in american soil was very cool. Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Badass multiplayer experience, but its single player is flawed. MW3: Defiance based its campaign parallel to the main games where you control British S.F.S.G and American National Guards to fight back against the invading Russian Army. Jumping into action across the U.S from Alaska to Maryland gives various environments and with over 30 weapons to choose from. Giving it a first-person view, it has a decent 3D/2D environment giving you a good sense of being in an open world. The graphics are very slick and decent in a 3D world but pixels are visible if closely looked at giving it a slightly distorted view. A choice of over 30 weapons is impressive, but returning weapons from the 20th century is weird enough to bring it in a modern time world. Varieties of SMG, LMG, assault rifles, sniper rifles, rocket launchers, pistols with attachments of silencers, grenade launchers, and scopes makes the weapons look great and lethal. Characters were reused by previous DS games such as CODMW: Mobilized and COD Black Ops, but there are new additions of characters in snow uniforms too. AI is not too impressive, but that does not mean that they will not mow you down with gunfire, lob grenades, or take cover. Whenever they die, they give out their deathcry but their comrades will care less about it unless they hear unsilenced gunfire or explosions. A slow-motion effect of breaching with a charge, plenty of destructible objects, and using an RC-XD are all great things that contribute to the game. There are some nice music such as rock and tons of dialogue from your fellow soldiers, but some of the sounds from the guns can make you feel like you are shooting a BB gun that can kill people. Depending on how good your DS is, there are mysterious squeaking sounds that can occur whenever there is too much things going on at once. It can go up to 30-45fps but there are moments when it drops to 25fps. There is a glitch where you die from one hit if there are too many foes spawned. Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3: Defiance has THE GREATEST MULTIPLAYER than any other DS games I had ever seen. With up to 6 players (multi-cartridge) in local or Wi-Fi, start dominating the battlefield in 6 game modes and kill to rank up, unlock perks, and more weapons. With 14 maps to choose from and the ability to create your own class with primary and secondary weapons, grenade types (frag and flash), titles, and 2 perks. There are 2 types of controls for people to choose but stylus control is recommended to choose from for precision aiming which may take a few hours to practice. It was expected to have survival mode, arcade mode, and killhouse but there isnâ Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2012
    1
    This game fails before you even play.. First of all the genre of FPS can not be pulled off very well on a handheld console, Especially withThis game fails before you even play.. First of all the genre of FPS can not be pulled off very well on a handheld console, Especially with the graphical limitations of the DS. Don't get me wrong i do not mind the Call of Duty franchise infact i have and own all the CoD games (even the PC based ones) and i have to say playing this made me feel dirty. The gameplay is weak and bland, No story interest or replay value at all. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Game is absolute garbage. The campaign just felt absolutely forced and was completely forgettable by the end of it. Spec Ops is trash becauseGame is absolute garbage. The campaign just felt absolutely forced and was completely forgettable by the end of it. Spec Ops is trash because zombies in WaW and Black Ops was just so much better. Not to mention you were able to play it with upto 3 other people that you know! Where's the fun in fighting endless enemies with only one other person? There is no fun in that. On to multiplayer... the maps are the worst I have ever seen. The graphics are extremely dated, Battlefield 3 just completely slaughters this game. The textures are also horrendous! Everything about this game is re-used from Modern Warfare 2. This game doesn't feel fresh at all. All of the guns and skins are re-used... the menus as well... even some of the buildings and vehicles. The sounds of the guns are still bad, and some are the same as MW2. Battlefield 3 is just so much better. Sorry if the truth hurts. This game is just a bad DLC to a game that came out two years ago. Save your money! Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    I'd be saying to much if I were to say this game is MW2.5

    It's more Like MW2: The Lost DLC Edition Because it's basically the same game! I
    I'd be saying to much if I were to say this game is MW2.5

    It's more Like MW2: The Lost DLC Edition

    Because it's basically the same game!
    I can't believe I was tricked into buying $60 DLC. The mulitiplayer maps are the worst in the series, The singleplayer is way to short, and the graphics, same dull texters

    Instead of getting Skyrim, I wasted my hard earned cash on this pathetic excuse for a game
    Never in my life have I felt like such a dumbass
    Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Every Call of Duty since CoD4 has tried so hard to out-do its predecessor to the point where its made me look upon some of the greatest FPSEvery Call of Duty since CoD4 has tried so hard to out-do its predecessor to the point where its made me look upon some of the greatest FPS games ever made, and think they are obselete. It has made me look at games in new ways, and think, "what is this game doing new, and if its not doing anything new, why play it?"

    Its horrible to think that I used to play marathon sessions of games like Counter Strike, CoD 4, and Halo 3, and now I dont even want to think about them.
    Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

30
6
#6 Most Discussed DS Game of 2011