• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2007
Contra 4 Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Contra 4 takes place two years after "Contra III: The Alien Wars," first released on the Super Nintendo in 1992. Heroes Bill and Lance again must team up to take down an oncoming alien invasion and its leader, Black Viper. Contra 4 features the same style of 2D side-scrolling gameplay thatContra 4 takes place two years after "Contra III: The Alien Wars," first released on the Super Nintendo in 1992. Heroes Bill and Lance again must team up to take down an oncoming alien invasion and its leader, Black Viper. Contra 4 features the same style of 2D side-scrolling gameplay that established the series 20 years ago. Players combat alien hordes with a variety of futuristic weapons while attempting to avoid pitfalls and other hazards along the way. Contra 4's action extends to both screens on the DS, allowing for larger environments and boss encounters. And as is a hallmark of the series, Contra 4 retain two-player simultaneous gameplay. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. This is both the ultimate Contra experience and one of the best action games in years. Do not let Contra 4 get lost in the holiday rush.
  2. Contra 4 is relatively short, but the difficulty and the immense number of extras give it a healthy replay value.
  3. Contra 4 stands alone both as a game and as an anniversary package celebrating the history of the series. This is a retrospective done right and it should be considered a must-have for any DS owner out there.
  4. Contra 4 is made for the fan in mind. It is obvious that the developers have a lot of love for the Contra series so if you're a fan then there's nothing to pick at.
  5. 80
    Contra 4 is great Contra Fan Service. The core game design is a fresh fight that stays true to the 8 and 16-bit editions. At the same time, you can unlock two of the games that the fans hold near and dear, and via an in-game museum you can view the series' timeline through boxart and screen grabs.
  6. Any fan of the series will be more than happy with their experience and I can easily say that as a fan myself, I'm quite pleased. The developers have done a wonderful job in providing a title that lives up to the Contra name.
  7. While Contra 4 is, at its core, a great 2D shooter that's refreshingly difficult, there are too many places where it stays true to its past in the face of innovations that could only make it a better, more accessible game.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    On Easy mode, this game is not too hard to complete. I'm happy to see this title, which is not for babies, so those who find it difficult,On Easy mode, this game is not too hard to complete. I'm happy to see this title, which is not for babies, so those who find it difficult, just begin practising.
    I've finished all challenges and bonus content really worth playing it!
    Great 2D graphics with a pinch of 3D, rocking music and a memorable 20-th anniversary for my childhood's favorite NES game.
    Expand
  2. AshishUbharani
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Yes I like that game and i like to buy it also but i dont know that what is the price of this game and should youYes I like that game and i like to buy it also but i dont know that what is the price of this game and should you send me the price of this chip game Expand
  3. MattS.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Contra 4 on the DS is definitely one of the best games available, and even more so in the realm of old-school challenges. Wayforward have Contra 4 on the DS is definitely one of the best games available, and even more so in the realm of old-school challenges. Wayforward have crafted the best Contra available, and it's ready and waiting in your pocket! Expand
  4. DavidT.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    This game is the perfect follow up to Contra III. Newcomers should try out Contra III (available on the Wii Virtual Console) first. Contra 4 This game is the perfect follow up to Contra III. Newcomers should try out Contra III (available on the Wii Virtual Console) first. Contra 4 has easily 3 times as much content III, plus emulated versions of Contra and Super C. Highly recommended for Contra fans, old-school fans, 2D shooter fans and action fans in general. Expand
  5. AnonymousMC
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    This is probably my favorite DS exclusive game other than The World Ends With You. The concept is simple - run right and kill everything - butThis is probably my favorite DS exclusive game other than The World Ends With You. The concept is simple - run right and kill everything - but it's so challenging! The game seems to deliberatly try to be cheap at points, but it feels like it's part of the game. Challenge mode and tons of extras including bonous characters and the original Contra and Super C add a lot of replay. The graphics are pretty and colorful, and the music rules (although the soundeffects suck). Try out this game first because I doubt everyone is into this kind of awesome game. Expand
  6. Pekka
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    Even though I've already completed all 40 challenges from Challenge Mode (therefore unlocking everything that there is to the game) and Even though I've already completed all 40 challenges from Challenge Mode (therefore unlocking everything that there is to the game) and finished the main game on Easy, Normal and Hard. I still enjoy playing this game. It's just so enjoyable. One of the best games I've played for a loooooong time. Highly recommended for 2D shooter fans, and especially for Contra fans. Expand
  7. AnonymousMC
    Sep 15, 2008
    5
    Frustrating difficulty and sub-par graphics are hugely detrimental to this game. The gameplay is solid, but the hordes of enemies, bosses, andFrustrating difficulty and sub-par graphics are hugely detrimental to this game. The gameplay is solid, but the hordes of enemies, bosses, and perfectly timed jumps make this a tedious experience on the higher difficulties. I understand that the creators were trying to maintain the nostalgic graphics of the original game, but that does not excuse them for being pixelated and generally bland. The unlockables are a plus; the two full games definitely adds to the replay value... if you can achieve them. This is a hardcore game for the 80s generation of gamers, and it shows. Only recommended for those who thrive with frustration. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

7
12
#12 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
2
#2 Most Shared DS Game of 2007