Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With FINAL FANTASY: THE 4 HEROES OF LIGHT, the FINAL FANTASY series is rendered anew as an epic storybook adventure by the creators of the FINAL FANTASY III and FINAL FANTASY IV Nintendo DS remakes. Players will enter a beautiful fairy-tale world featuring illustrations and character designsWith FINAL FANTASY: THE 4 HEROES OF LIGHT, the FINAL FANTASY series is rendered anew as an epic storybook adventure by the creators of the FINAL FANTASY III and FINAL FANTASY IV Nintendo DS remakes. Players will enter a beautiful fairy-tale world featuring illustrations and character designs by acclaimed character designer Akihiko Yoshida (FINAL FANTASY III for DS, FINAL FANTASY XII). Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light E3 2010 Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light is certainly an interesting experience when it comes to many of its unique gameplay mechanics, but the game's overflowing sense of charm and hardcore level of challenge make it an irresistible experience for seasoned RPG fans.
  2. But Heroes Of Light transcends these hiccups, and its oversimplified nature, to become a vital portable Final Fantasy title.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    If you've been dying for a classic Final Fantasy title that's closer in mechanics to Final Fantasy IV than Final Fantasy XIII, you'll enjoy 4 Heroes of Light. If you despise retro RPG conventions, 4 Heroes is not for you unless you really want to morph into a chicken.
  4. This Final Fantasy is an old school JRPG with good ideas but has a too simple battle system and a poor and generic plot.
  5. Less than ideal for RPG newcomers. Charm wins through, but you'll have to be v-e-r-y patient.
  6. Its back-to-basics approach strips away much of the pointless frippery of the modern JRPG without stripping out the satisfaction of playing them. The DS isn't short of absorbing RPGs, but 4 Heroes of Light is a worthwhile addition, particularly for anyone with fond memories of simpler, happier times for Japanese role-playing.
  7. Edge Magazine
    Dec 19, 2010
    40
    So indebted is dev studio Matrix to the old ways that it seems to have granted a free pass to the old problems. Quest signposting is buried in unclear dialogue snippets, bosses are beaten through trial and error, and grinding is rife. [Dec 2010, p.99]

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    The 4 Heroes of Light is everything you love about old school RPGs, requiring a lot of exploring with a just-big-enough world to explore and aThe 4 Heroes of Light is everything you love about old school RPGs, requiring a lot of exploring with a just-big-enough world to explore and a hint of guidance. It comes wrapped in a deceptively cute aesthetic, with lush, painterly graphics which I hope to see more of from Square. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light is a enjoyable R.P.G (role playing game) that has a old time feel to it. There is not many hints on whereFinal Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light is a enjoyable R.P.G (role playing game) that has a old time feel to it. There is not many hints on where to go next, which is half the fun of it, exploring until you find the right spot. The combat system may be turned-based, but it will still have you on the edge of your seat. The monsters are extraordinary looking, and it has a good story. The vocations may sound weird (such as party host), but there are many uses for them, and it's always fun to try out which ones you like best. Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light is a great game and is worth buying. It is unlike any modern R.P.G you have played before. Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2010
    9
    This game is not like modern day games whereby it is easy to move through a dungeon.
    This game has complicated dungeons whereby the maps are
    This game is not like modern day games whereby it is easy to move through a dungeon.
    This game has complicated dungeons whereby the maps are huge and it is hard to move through them.
    The crown system in this game, is truly remarkable as players can try to use many different jobs rather than sticking to one throughout the whole game which many games have these days.
    The graphics of this game is quite appealing too, although some of the major towns and cities are abit messy. For example, players of the game should know the town of Urbeth, which is very messy (the shops are all spread out).
    However, the point where monsters level up as you level up, I feel, is one of the best gifts of this game. This function is not only rarely seen in such games, but is also a function that people can appreciate and not get bored of. Reason being is that players need to grind at certain points of the game. If the monsters levels are not boosted, grinding would be very hard. This function thus enables players to grind easier. However, one thing that I don't like is the lack of space to hold items. (A total of sixty items for four characters; that's pretty little).
    Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2019
    8
    Game: Final Fantasy The 4 Heroes of Light
    Genre: RPG
    Developer: Matrix Software Publisher: Squareenix System: Nintendo DS (DS) Year of
    Game: Final Fantasy The 4 Heroes of Light
    Genre: RPG
    Developer: Matrix Software
    Publisher: Squareenix
    System: Nintendo DS (DS)
    Year of Release: 2010
    Length of Playthrough: 28 Hours

    Total Score: 82/100
    Value Score: 8.2/10

    • Story: 9/10
    • Characters: 8/10
    • GamePlay: 8/10
    • Graphics: 8/10
    • Sound: 7/10
    • Music: 9/10
    • Length: 8/10
    • Replay Value: 7/10
    • Player Value: 8/10

    Pros
    +Features and gameplay aspects from old school FF games
    +Music is similar in style to the NES Final Fantasy games
    +Unique style of battle system similar to the Bravely series
    +Character design same to similar as the Bravely series
    +Multiplayer mode that lets you play with 3 others to do battles and the the points given from wireless online battles can be traded for special unique gear

    Cons
    -Battles are much more complex and difficulty curve is higher than most other FF games
    -Beginning starts out slow and can be difficult due to the incomplete party
    -Cannot target allies or enemies (it is always random) whether using magic, attacking or using a item
    -No voice overs and the sound is very simple/plain
    -Enemies level scale with you similar to Final Fantasy VIII
    -A lot of grinding required to level up Crown (Job) levels and get skills
    Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    The style and look of this game is wonderful. As I played through It feels very reminiscent of FF3 (one of my favorite rpgs especially the dsThe style and look of this game is wonderful. As I played through It feels very reminiscent of FF3 (one of my favorite rpgs especially the ds version). It's a nice nod to the classics in terms of mood, but different enough in game play too not feel like your playing the same old game. Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2022
    5
    I thought it might be my favorite Final Fantasy game at first, but it heavily lacks enemy variety, reusing the same areas over with differentI thought it might be my favorite Final Fantasy game at first, but it heavily lacks enemy variety, reusing the same areas over with different characters, or making you retrace your steps. It Also makes you talk to everyone in town to figure out what you have to do. In the final one that pissed me off I talked to the King and answered honestly. His advise was to talk to all of the animals in town, they said nothing. I already had a feline companion with me whom I couldn't talk to, but you were supposed to lie or end up wasting a bunch of time in town accomplishing nothing. I love the art style and the music so much, and the humor, that it hurts to part with.

    Oh, and your MagicAttack stat is hidden for god knows what reason, seriously why?
    Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2014
    4
    The beginning of the game was great, but then it loses its place pretty quickly. I played about 10 hours telling myself the good part wasThe beginning of the game was great, but then it loses its place pretty quickly. I played about 10 hours telling myself the good part was coming up, and I knew the game was bad when it never came. Redeeming features: the music, crown system, and beginning tutorial segment. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

40
10
#10 Most Discussed DS Game of 2010
16
#16 Most Shared DS Game of 2010