Mario & Luigi: Partners in Time Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this sequel to Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga, the brothers travel back in time to retrieve Princess Peach, only to come face to face with baby versions of themselves, the princess and Bowser. Teaming up with their young selves will soon send Mario and Luigi on a quest of lunaticIn this sequel to Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga, the brothers travel back in time to retrieve Princess Peach, only to come face to face with baby versions of themselves, the princess and Bowser. Teaming up with their young selves will soon send Mario and Luigi on a quest of lunatic proportions as players must control both the adult AND baby versions of the Mushroom Kingdom heroes. Players use the top screen to study the land, keep track of the pair of brothers not under their control or maximize combo moves in battle. With twice the Mario brothers and twice the laughs, this massive side-splitting adventure could only find a home on the dual screens of the Nintendo DS. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Alphadream Corporation
  • Genre(s): Role-Playing, Console-style RPG, Console-style RPG, Japanese-Style
  • # of players: 1 Player
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: E
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    Not a guarantee that it's a game for everyone, but rather a big fat A+ for Alphadream when it comes to Advanced Game Design. This game is the cream of the portable gaming crop, and you'll be really hard-ressed not to be taken in by at least one of it's plentiful charms.
  2. An engaging narrative that actually inspires an urge to read all the text, fun and evolving combat, and a smooth coat of presentational polish make Mario and Luigi: Partners in Time a compelling package.
  3. 90
    It's not a pure action game, it's not really an RPG...and it's not even an action-RPG. It's a successful blend of all these elements, proof that Nintendo does have some good ideas for the DS.
  4. But don't let the linearity fool you--Partners in Time is an excellent game no matter what platform it's running on.
  5. 85
    Overall, I'd recommend this game for any fan of Mario RPG titles, anyone looking for a nice solid RPG for the DS, and of course, people who enjoy smiling, since this game will brighten your mood.
  6. Combines rock-solid and dynamic gameplay with an actually funny sense of humor. Returning gamers will find a bag full of changes, while those new to the series will have an easy time picking this up and running with it.
  7. 60
    The threadbare story can barely support the game’s 20 hours of gameplay and the brothers don’t have enough moves to keep the puzzle-solving fresh.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
  1. CraigT.
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    One of the best RPG Game I have ever played in a while and I'll still play it even when I beat it. A worthy buy!!!
  2. Jul 23, 2016
    10
    This is the second game of the original Mario & Luigi Trilogy. For me, all of them were perfect. But some users try to compare it to PaperThis is the second game of the original Mario & Luigi Trilogy. For me, all of them were perfect. But some users try to compare it to Paper Mario, even tough this series are a sequel for the original Mario RPG game for SNES, that's appreciable due to its combat system and the original story. Even tough it has continuity despite having a different story and characters. Anyways, this game is the perfect way to make an original story in a trilogy. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    Mario & Luigi: Partners in Time is the most beautiful and enjoyable game produced by Mario and Luigi franchise yet. It's graphics may not beMario & Luigi: Partners in Time is the most beautiful and enjoyable game produced by Mario and Luigi franchise yet. It's graphics may not be totally ranked in the A-team but for its coherent story and interesting premise, it's a big winner for me. With great soundtracks and especially a stunning epic music at the ending of the game. Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    I absolutely loved Partners in Time when it first launched on the DS way back in late 2005.

    In creating such a hugely entertaining and
    I absolutely loved Partners in Time when it first launched on the DS way back in late 2005.

    In creating such a hugely entertaining and deliciously whimsical series of turn-based RPG spin-off's, plucked directly from Super Mario Bros' universe of timeless tales and endearing characters, Nintendo pulled off a master stroke. And at the time, Partners in Time represented the very pinnacle of the Japanese firms seemingly endless creativity and knack of almost Disney-esque quality story telling.

    Even after all these years, it remains my favourite episode from Nintendo's much loved franchise of 'Mario & Luigi' soft-RPG's, beating the GBA original, Superstar Saga and third installment, Bowsers Inside Story (DS) in the process.

    But while pipping the excellent Superstar Saga and Bowsers Inside Story to the post is by no means a small feat, for me Partners in Time represents so much more than 'just' the standout title in Nintendo's three-episode franchise. Indeed, as far as I'm concerned, it's also one of the finest handheld games ever made! Period. A bonafide classic and shall doubtless be remembered in Nintendo folklore for generations to come.

    I wonder if we will be heaping similar praise on Mario & Luigi's fourth instalment, and franchise debut on Nintendo 3DS, Dream Team Bros, say eight to ten years from now? While I doubt it, we must concede that it's way too early to say. Well, for the time being at least. But of this we can be certain; if ever there was a developer armed with the passion, know-how, and above all, unbridled talent, necessary to create endearing, loveable, and genuinely special games that stand the test of time, it's Nintendo.

    Looking back, I sill adore Partners in Time every bit as much now as I did in back 2005. If not more. Looking forward, I have nothing but the highest hopes for the upcoming Dream Team Bros.

    Long live Mario & Luigi.
    Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2015
    8
    It's not really the best of them all, but it's still decent from the series. Just hang on to your baby self and hop on to the adventure ofIt's not really the best of them all, but it's still decent from the series. Just hang on to your baby self and hop on to the adventure of time. You'll have fun throughout the most of the time played on this game. Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    7
    I like this series almost as much as I like Paper Mario, but this one was somewhat underwhelming. The whole time travel scenario is just forI like this series almost as much as I like Paper Mario, but this one was somewhat underwhelming. The whole time travel scenario is just for show, as the past is just an excuse to throw the babies in the mix. The various time portals are basically the equivalent of level portals, as they transport you to secluded areas which are basically dungeons. There is no open world and you can't explore anything other than the castle in the present, so really, the entire time travel aspect is severely underused.
    The gameplay is pretty fun as always, and gets challenging later on, but I feel like the 4 button gameplay is a bit convoluted. The battles do get repetitive in the long run.
    The RPG elements are very light but acceptable for this kind of game. The music is pretty good, has many remixed tunes from Super Mario 64, and some original ones, overall it's acceptable, but not too special. Sound effects are typical Mario stuff, with Mario and Luigi talking in their made up language, which is pretty funny.

    Overall, it's a fun game, but I don't see myself replaying it any time soon because of the seriously underwhelming setting, convoluted button combinations, and repetitive combat.
    Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2017
    0
    This was by far the worst Mario and Luigi game. The pacing was horrid and they actually make you buy the bros attacks which is absolute bullThis was by far the worst Mario and Luigi game. The pacing was horrid and they actually make you buy the bros attacks which is absolute bull **** they should've just stuck with BP or magic or whatever. And playing as just the babies is not fun Expand

See all 49 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

6
7
#7 Most Discussed DS Game of 2005
7
#7 Most Shared DS Game of 2005