• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Mar 10, 2011
Okamiden Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taking place many months after the events of Okami, Okamiden follows the adventures of Chibiterasu - a young sun god who is summoned to protect and restore the land. Armed with a majestic celestial brush and a vibrant cast of partners with unique powers and abilities, this little god isTaking place many months after the events of Okami, Okamiden follows the adventures of Chibiterasu - a young sun god who is summoned to protect and restore the land. Armed with a majestic celestial brush and a vibrant cast of partners with unique powers and abilities, this little god is ready to make its mark on the world. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Okamiden Karude Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Mar 30, 2011
    100
    This isn't just the best DS game ever, this may be one of the best handheld games ever.
  2. Mar 24, 2011
    90
    Okamiden is an epic adventure in every sense: well written storyline, a huge over-world and gorgeous visuals and sound. It is an experience that, even if rushed through, will take more than 15 hours to complete.
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    85
    Okamiden is as great as its predecessor, offering the same experience and something more. It has little flaws, but they don't ruin a truly enjoyable game. Maybe, the Nintendo DS swan song, and it could have been difficult to imagine a better one.
  4. Mar 15, 2011
    80
    It might not be quite the game its predecessor was, but you can't help but hope that this charming follow-up sells well enough for its publisher to keep the wolf from the lore.
  5. Apr 6, 2011
    80
    One of the best and visually gorgeous games on Nintendo DS, OkamiDen offers a long quest with a lot of things to see (and do) and a good amount of secrets to discover.
  6. Mar 22, 2011
    80
    Okami fans will be spellbound with nostalgia while finding plenty new to enjoy, and fans of Zelda-esque adventures will be hard pressed to find another portable game so engaging in the twilight of Nintendo's soon-to-be replaced Nintendo DS hardware.
  7. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    Though Okamiden hits a pretty satisfying stride in the middle, it is a bit of a marathon... OK, yes, an adorable marathon.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Beautiful. The normal fight scenes need some adjustments, but the boss battles are brilliant. It's inducing, a true successor to Okami. GreatBeautiful. The normal fight scenes need some adjustments, but the boss battles are brilliant. It's inducing, a true successor to Okami. Great storyline, very very sad end. Ultimately, it's amazing! Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome.i did'nt play the previous game but this is awesome.my father recommended this game.he told me that its a game i'llThis game is awesome.i did'nt play the previous game but this is awesome.my father recommended this game.he told me that its a game i'll really like so i got it and i played it all day long.some boss battles may a little hard but not so much.the story is really nice,the fact that you change partners is really nice.battles arent so hard its quite easy.and the ending is fantastic.its worth a 10/10.and its definetly worth your time. Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    I loved Okami and Okamiden is an amazing sequel, which is made even more so considering it's on a hand held. I know a 10 score seems biased,I loved Okami and Okamiden is an amazing sequel, which is made even more so considering it's on a hand held. I know a 10 score seems biased, but this really is a great game - it's got length, great graphics and art-style, a cool story, humorous writing and characters, and it's fun. Also, if you're needing a Zelda fix, then the Okami games are the perfect solution. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    A worthy successor to its family line. Okamiden is just shear fun. Fun. Fun. Fun. Fun. I can't say anything wrong about it other than it hitsA worthy successor to its family line. Okamiden is just shear fun. Fun. Fun. Fun. Fun. I can't say anything wrong about it other than it hits its target market of younger players on the DS as well as some older players. Could have come up with a better name than Mutt for the main character, but it is a good reason to keep your DS. Expand
  5. Dec 24, 2012
    8
    Okamiden is everything a sequel should be, it was unfortunate that the release of Pokemon Black/White and the 3DS overshadowed it cause itsOkamiden is everything a sequel should be, it was unfortunate that the release of Pokemon Black/White and the 3DS overshadowed it cause its well worth looking into if you enjoyed the first in the series.

    The gameplay is identical to the first game. It mixes it up by adding a few new powers, and a companion system that allows you to control a second character using the stylus. This is very similar to Zelda: Spirit Tracks system, And allows for dungeons to be designed differently than they were in the original.

    Due to the limited power of the Nintendo DS, the graphics have been reduced significantly. Maps are far simpler and with less elements on screen. The paintbrush style is back from the first game and is still charming and elegant.
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2011
    8
    I picked up Okamiden for two reasons. One, I enjoyed the first Okami a lot, and two, it is the last major DS game to be released beforeI picked up Okamiden for two reasons. One, I enjoyed the first Okami a lot, and two, it is the last major DS game to be released before Nintendo's new system. I am glad I picked it up because this is a game that should not be missed. The graphics in Okamiden are excellent for the DS. The art style is beautiful and the cutscenes just look great. The music is also excellent, retaining the Japanese music that truly brings the game to life. The story is arguably the best part in Okamiden. The characters you truly come to like throughout the story, and expect twist in the story before you finish. Be warned though, there are some tear jerking moments in the game. The combat system is relatively unchanged from the first game, except there is a big focus on partner combat. That seems to be a large overlying theme in Okamiden; stick with your partner. Chibiterasu is the new focus of the game, but that doesn't mean you will not encounter old familiar faces. In fact, I find this game more enjoyable if you played the first one. That doesn't mean if you never did you won't enjoy it, just not as much. The game uses the same areas mostly as the first one, so for some it may seem like a rehash of the first game. This is not entirely false, but that doesn't mean Okamiden isn't really enjoyable. I can see why Capcom wanted to put this on the DS. It just seems natural with the Celestial brush as the stylus, and it works really well. It didn't work 100%, but for the majority of the time it was spot on. Even though Nintendo's new system is here, that is no excuse for players to pass up Okamiden. Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2014
    2
    The only thing this game has going for it is that Chibiterasu is heart-meltingly cute. I mean it, everything he does is just adorable, fromThe only thing this game has going for it is that Chibiterasu is heart-meltingly cute. I mean it, everything he does is just adorable, from his nubby puppy legs to his movements. Other than that, it seems Capcom did everything in their power to ruin the masterpiece that was the first Okami.

    Not only is the story constantly contradicting plot elements established in the first game, it's riddled with holes and focuses on some of the most annoying characters I've ever come across in a game (yes, even more than Ashley from RE5). Lucky for you, they spend a good chunk of the game riding on your back. Fun.

    The battle system is lackluster, there is no way to control the camera angle and considering how well the stylus could have worked with the brush mechanic, it falls woefully short of its full potential. To boot, there is only one new town and three new dungeons in the entire game. The collection sidequest is sloppy, as there are dozens of hidden items that, once you leave that particular dungeon, are never able to be accessed again.

    The rest of the scenery and music is lifted directly from the first game. This sounds good until you realize that all of the colorful cast and side quests you had encountered in the first game are nowhere to be seen. Considering only nine months have passed, it feels like a slap in the face to learn that most of the people you expected to see were lazily explained away as simply being "gone", or in some cases, dead.

    As a result, the game is painfully short and insultingly shallow, with absolutely nothing new to offer for fans of the original. I recommend skipping this one entirely.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

8
8
#8 Most Discussed DS Game of 2011
6
#6 Most Shared DS Game of 2011