Pokemon Diamond Version Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 574 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pokemon Diamond and Pearl are traditional Pokemon RPGs that takes place in a region called Sinnoh. When you set off on your travels, you'll be able to play as either a boy or girl Trainer. Pokemon fans have caught glimpses of Lucario, Munchlax and Weavile in Pokemon movies, and these PokemonPokemon Diamond and Pearl are traditional Pokemon RPGs that takes place in a region called Sinnoh. When you set off on your travels, you'll be able to play as either a boy or girl Trainer. Pokemon fans have caught glimpses of Lucario, Munchlax and Weavile in Pokemon movies, and these Pokemon will are debuting in this adventure. Diamond and Pearl utilize the DS's dual slots to transfer Pokemon from the GBA Pokemon games. Also, you can link up with Pokemon Ranger to access more special content. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Pokemon Diamond Gameplay Movie 2
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Easily one of the greatest titles on the DS...Between exploring the massive towns, wandering through the multi-tiered wastelands, and challenging legions of trainers, you’ll enjoy a lengthy adventure that no other DS game can boast.
  2. AceGamez
    90
    As much as I love Pokémon Diamond and Pearl, it alarms me to see how little the core game has evolved over the years.
  3. 90
    These are the best games in the series by a considerable margin, and should provide you with entertainment for weeks to come, especially if you're planning on playing "Pokémon Battle Revolution" for the Nintendo Wii.
  4. The additions and alterations aren't game changing, and Diamond and Pearl do what the Pokémon franchise has always done best--deliver an accessible and highly addictive role-playing game experience.
  5. The addition of online trades and battles finally delivers on the promise that the first Pokémon games made. The crucial social interactivity aspect of Pokémon now takes place on a global scale. It only took 10 years!
  6. There are a few slight tweaks here and there, and the online functionality is surprisingly robust, but otherwise, this game could have been done on the Game Boy Advance with minimal issues. At the same time, there's more content on this card than four typical DS games combined so you're definitely getting your money's worth.
  7. Just back-to-basics, old school pocket monster capturing and training. The bad news, however, is this: these two new games are exactly what you would expect in a new Pokemon RPG. So no, you’re not having a drug-induced flashback to the crazy times you had playing "Pokemon Ruby and Emerald." It’s, well, pretty much the same game.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 84
  2. Negative: 7 out of 84
  1. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    This is the first Pokemon game I was introduced to, and it will always be my favorite. As with the rest of the Pokemon games, it can beThis is the first Pokemon game I was introduced to, and it will always be my favorite. As with the rest of the Pokemon games, it can be accessed on any level. You can simply grind through, giving no thought to your IVs, and leveling up your starter to around 75, with a Level 18 Staravia, and beat the game. However, you can also take the most out of it by creating a perfect team, and you'll need more than a level 75 starter to do well in the Battle Tower. Oh boy. There's so much to do--searching and chaining for Shiny Pokemon (many more Pokemon become available when you beat the game) making poffins, going underground, trading online. It's so extensive, and I've spent over 115 hours on it. I recommend it wholeheartedly. Expand
  2. AdamF.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    I'm rather alarmed that diamond currently has an 8.4 user vote on metacritic when pearl has a 9.3 on the same site. this 10 is to I'm rather alarmed that diamond currently has an 8.4 user vote on metacritic when pearl has a 9.3 on the same site. this 10 is to balance the scales. Diamond and pearl are really the same game, and the're both completely awsome. Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2020
    10
    Backstory: It may be my first and only review on ever, because it is genuinely the only game I feel like I have fully understood. Would youBackstory: It may be my first and only review on ever, because it is genuinely the only game I feel like I have fully understood. Would you kindly go on a trip with me to the past? It was Christmas of 2007 and my father told me that he has an amazing gift for me. After impatiently waiting all night, I open up my present and I found a black nintendo DS. I have never heard of a nintendo DS before and at first glance I thought it was a phone (please note that i was 7 at the time). I open my other gift and it was a game for the nintendo DS: pokemon diamond. All the games I have ever played so far were games on miniclip and random arcade games on my ps2, but never full fledged RPGs. It took me a while to dive into the game, but I was surrounded by friends older than me who helped me through the play-through and it took 1.5 years to beat the game. i was amazed by the amount of pokemons and by the colorful world, but that was about it. I eventually moved on to other games. But as I was growing up, I kept being attached to this game, coming back and beating it again, and again. And in every play-through, I would read more of the dialogues and pay attention to details. I went on youtube and researched pokemon theories. I was (and still am) in love with the game.

    Actual review: Let me tell you that pokemon is a masterpiece of a video game on a portable handheld system that shook up the world. It is filled with amazing music. The music is filled with passion, hope and depth. It really gives a soul to any area of the game. It is truly fantastic. In some ways, it gives me hope, hope to do better in life and that everything will be okay. The music is the main thing that keeps me going back to the game, it keeps on telling me that everything will be okay and that you will be a great person, like you have always wished you'd become. The music gave me a small taste of what my real life journey is about and what it should be, full of passion, hard work and determination. It is truly fantastic symphony that introduces you the lovely world of pokemon.

    The game has a darker and deeper story than any previous pokemon game. It doesn't look to appeal to the masses but to actually stand by its own identity and I love that. Am I blinded by nostalgia? Yes, I am. It is the game that introduced my the RPG genre and to story based video games. It showed me that a video game can be much more than just a small time breaker but actually a world you can get submerged in with the amazing visuals, backstory and music. The legendary fights were legendary, the story line was the best I had ever encountered. If I had the power to go back in time and select the game that I would fall in love with, I would choose this game without a doubt. It is a timeless triumph of video games and I really wish the pokemon game franchise would go this direction once again. What I truly regret was not falling in love with its music earlier as it is something you hear in the background while you go through your journey as a trainer. However, whenever I hear its music I should tear up, reminding me of the happiest days of my life. I don't know if anyone will actually read this review as it is coming from a "no one", however, dear reader, i want you to know that this game is really dear to my heart as it kept me busy while I was going through a really rough phase in my childhood. It gave me hope and it gave me a second, virtual home that only made me happy whenever I booted it up. This game will forever be in my heart, thank you GameFreak and Nintendo, for making my childhood, a happy one.

    TLDR: I give this game, or should i say, this timeless masterpiece a well deserved 10/10.

    This review was written at 1am, by a 20 year old who wants to do well in this world. Thank you for reading my first ever review.
    Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2013
    8
    Largely due to the fact that it was pretty much perfect in the first place the Pokemon series has changed very little in the last fifteenLargely due to the fact that it was pretty much perfect in the first place the Pokemon series has changed very little in the last fifteen years. Despite this the developers have listened to some of the criticisms levelled at the games and included a number of the improvements fans have long been asking for.

    The game of course still sees the player taking on the role of a child travelling from town to town collecting Pokemon and using them to battle all manner of opponents. Despite the familiar concept Pokemon Black is a more streamlined experience. Little things like combining the Pokemon Centre and Poke Mart into one building for example cuts down on pointless travelling whilst battles also run at a slightly quicker pace.

    Two new types of battle are also included. Triple battles obviously allow for three Pokemon to fight at once whilst rotation battles allow the player to switch out Pokemon before each attack adding a new level of strategy to the game. Some Pokemon can now also combine moves to create more powerful attacks making the selection of a balanced team even more essential.

    For the first time since the Game Boy original this version features a completely new set of Pokemon. Many of these are not as well designed as the original group but it does make exploration more interesting. No longer will you enter a cave to be greeted by yet another Zubat or Geodude. It is possible to get some of the older Pokemon once you complete the game or by using some of the bonus features but as per usual most have to be transferred from your save games on previous iterations.

    Wrongly looked upon as 'a game for kids' Pokemon remains once the most in depth and strategic RPGs available on any console and with its more streamlined approach the Black or White game are as good a place to start as any.
    Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Although it was a great game that utilized the DS's capabilities, it still could have been a better game. I felt disconnected to the pokemonAlthough it was a great game that utilized the DS's capabilities, it still could have been a better game. I felt disconnected to the pokemon in this game and the region it placed me in. Other then feeling dissociated from the world I was playing in, it was a solid pokemon game that gave me many hours of game play. Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2019
    7
    Un gran juego, no sólo a nivel mecánico sino también a narrativo, con un desarrollo de personajes bastante fluido y buen ritmo que hace de laUn gran juego, no sólo a nivel mecánico sino también a narrativo, con un desarrollo de personajes bastante fluido y buen ritmo que hace de la experiencia más fructífera y menos pesada.

    A nivel jugable es como cualquier pokémon, pulido, bueno y con más pokémon nuevos para que te puedas fascinar paso por paso viendo diseños muy bonitos, nada que no se haya dicho antes.
    Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2021
    0
    Really boring, stretched gameplay, almost no useable Pokemon, characters have no lore at all and way to many caves.

See all 84 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Pokemon Games of the 21st Century

    The Best Pokemon Games of the 21st Century Image
    Published: August 4, 2016
    Find out where Pokemon Go fits into our ranking of the best Pokemon games released since the turn of the century.

Awards & Rankings

4
2
#2 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
4
#4 Most Shared DS Game of 2007