Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
Buy On
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    95
    A second visit to the Unova region doesn't quite hit 100 percent perfection with this series veteran.
  2. Oct 6, 2012
    94
    The title definitely packs a heck of a lot of bang for your buck and wins the top spot out of all Pokémon titles in my books. At the end of the day, if you are a fan of the series or not, this latest Pokemon title is a must have game for the DS, plain and simple.
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    92
    Loads of new content, with minor additions and huge ones, sticking to the core of the series and totally recommended for anyone interested in them.
  4. Oct 25, 2012
    91
    These Pokémon adventures will likely be the swan song of the ageing Nintendo DS system, so I'm glad to see it go out on such a high note. Whether you're a Pokémaniac, a rookie trainer, or a nostalgic Red & Blue fanboy, Black & White 2 are must-play games.
  5. Better than Black and White, but lacking their freshness. A cracking swansong.
  6. Oct 28, 2012
    90
    Training Pokémon and battling trainers (earning badges) and Pokémon alike is still bulletproof and as addicting as ever. The ever-increasing challenge over the course of so many hours, broken up by a bit of exploring and insipid story beats, is great.
  7. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    Newcomers and hardcore fans who played the original titles will be served with the best Poké-game ever made and one of the best and deepest action-adventure-RPG titles on Nintendo DS.
  8. Oct 12, 2012
    90
    Pokémon Black Version 2 and Pokémon White Version 2 are technically fantastic, taking the core of a remarkable series and building in all manner of new and intriguing features to keep fans enamoured with what is basically a simple formula rinsed and constantly repeated over the years. The only aspect holding back these first ever direct sequels is the standard of presentation, with only minor upgrades since originally gracing the world over 15 years ago, no matter how much the point is argued. That being said, for the gameplay and story elements alone, this is undoubtedly an essential purchase.
  9. Oct 9, 2012
    90
    A game filled with wonderful new ideas in the margins, but dependable, predictable gameplay in the middle. A game that honours the past but never seeks to stray too far from it. A game that elicits absolute unguarded delight and devotion from its young fans, even as they dream of what might be possible in the future.
  10. Oct 5, 2012
    90
    Pokémon Black and White 2 are easily the best in the series to date and an absolute must-buy for fans. Even if it's been ages since you've picked up a Poké Ball, there's no better time to jump back in and start catching them all.
  11. Oct 1, 2012
    90
    If you already own the originals and were left wanting more then you'll be well-served with Pokémon Black and White Version 2. If you're new to the series, or you've just missed a couple of entries, you can't afford to miss this terrific RPG-lite adventure.
  12. Nintendo Gamer
    Aug 26, 2012
    89
    This is a hearty meal of a game, one we're gleefully wolfing down, savouring every mouthful as it dribbles down our chins. [Sept 2012, p.97]
  13. Games Master UK
    Oct 17, 2012
    88
    Sticks to what works while adding enough new features to keep it fresh. [Dec 2012, p.72]
  14. Oct 18, 2012
    86
    Game Freak keeps the original Pokémon gameplay in a game that isn't revolutionary, but it's still a great title in the series. Maybe, the videogame with more content in the Pokémon history.
  15. Oct 25, 2012
    85
    Are Pokémon Black and White 2 just as impressive as other Pokémon games? No. Can you enjoy the games just as much as any other Pokémon game? Yes! Pokémon Black and White 2 are refined versions of the first Pokémon Black and White games that offers enough new content to keep you entertained for forty, sixty or even a hundred hours of Pokéfun. Just don't expect any revolutionary changes.
  16. Oct 12, 2012
    85
    Simply put, White and Black 2 are the best Pokémon experience available on Nintendo DS, and a must have for every RPG enthusiast.
  17. Oct 10, 2012
    85
    Pokémon strikes back with the first numbered sequel of the franchise so far. Black & White 2's stunning new features will make both fans and RPG lovers have tons of fun with deeper gameplay and a few nice additions. It's very much more of the same, but nonetheless it takes all the necessary steps to become a must-have on the NDS game library.
  18. 85
    Yes, it's as excellent as ever, but it doesn't strive to eclipse its predecessor. The poorly paced plot and lack of freshness leads me to believe the original may be better. Black 2 is fully worth a purchase, but beating the game only left me wanting more, and not in a good way.
  19. Oct 27, 2012
    83
    Pokemon White and Black 2 is not as brilliant as HeartGold and SoulSilver but is one of the best in the series and, undoubtedly, one of the best rpg's on portable consoles.
  20. Pelit (Finland)
    Nov 15, 2012
    80
    Pokémon Black and White 2 are the best Pokémon games thus far. The amount of activities you can participate in is delightful, the storyline surprisingly engaging, and the new gym design fun. The biggest complaint stems from the horrible implementation of new difficulty levels. I loved the idea of having a harder difficulty for my quest, but implementing it only in one game of the pair, and even then unlocking it after I've actually played through the game, is simply old fashioned and bad game design. [Nov 2012]
  21. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    Fans of Pokémon already knows what to expect from this game, and it has as usual the same high quality standard we are spoiled with. The lack of new regions or a lot more Pokémon's makes the game feel a little bit too familiar with the previous one, so much that I would call this an extremely well done expansion rather than a new game.
  22. Nov 13, 2012
    80
    The best thing about a new Pokemon game is that it's more Pokemon. The core of the series continues to be sound, but in the end the series needs to get better at following up on the story that it teases us with. After such a strong departure for the series the original Black and White, it's a shame to see Version 2 take a step back and offer such inferior characters and story beats. Despite being the follow up to the best Pokemon games in years, though, Black and White Version 2 have to settle for being "pretty good," leaving us waiting for the next real evolution in the series.
  23. Nov 10, 2012
    80
    Another solid addition to the Pokemon franchise that will definitely please the fans of the series.
  24. Nov 6, 2012
    80
    Unova may not feel as fresh as it did before, but still has plenty of charm.
  25. Nov 6, 2012
    80
    What 3DS features are present in Black and White Version 2 are negligible and feel tacked on. It's instead best to consider Version 2 as the Fire Red and Leaf Green of the original Black and White pair. In the end, it's possible to skip these two, but the hardcore won't let it go. After all, you can't be the very best if you're not also exacting your commanding power over the latest installment in the series. Still, lapsed trainers would do well with Version 2, despite feeling like a stepping stone to the next generation of Pokemon games on the 3DS.
  26. 80
    Despite the paper thin story and the fact that the basic gameplay is still pretty much a carbon copy of the very first Pokémon game, Pokémon Black/White 2 is a feast of delicious new content for all fans of the series.
  27. Oct 28, 2012
    80
    Pokémon Black Version 2 & White Version 2 don't just make giant progressive steps, but also refine the original duo that were released one and a half years ago. There's still a sense of déjà vu, which every new entry in the Pokémon-franchise has. Despite that, Black & White 2 are loads of fun to play.
  28. Oct 25, 2012
    80
    Pokemon White Version 2 is an enigma. It's simultaneously a solid Pokemon game, with loads of content and value out the wazoo, but also deeply disappointing thanks to the developers continued refusal to revamp the core of the age-old experience.
  29. Oct 21, 2012
    80
    Pokémon Black & White 2 is more of an expansion than a true sequel, therefore whoever has played the previous edition might find it less interesting than it really is. Newcomers instead should not be afraid of taking this new, excellent adventure on: not the best Pokémon to date, but damn close.
  30. Oct 19, 2012
    80
    More of a 1.5 episode than a true sequel duo, White 2 and Black 2 still are very satisfying for the fans or those who haven't played a Pokméon for some time, thanks to nice additions and a successful blend of gameplay elements.
  31. Oct 15, 2012
    80
    Refining most of the series' hallmarks make Black and White 2 top of their class, but they highlight as many ageing qualities as they do endearing ones.
  32. Oct 15, 2012
    80
    If Pokemon Black & White 2 are only sequels, it would be a shame not to play two of the most complete titles of the IP. With a good production, yet recycled, and gameplay mechanics that remain addictive, Pokemon Black & White 2 will held players spellbound for hours, offering an exotic adventure thanks to a well-balanced progression. But maybe it's time for Game Freak to move on and to develop the next episode on 3DS.
  33. Oct 15, 2012
    80
    Pokemon White Version 2 is unlikely to convert anyone who was previously unconvinced by the installments of old, or ensnare many newcomers from the older demographic, but the series has always had a Marmite quality to it.
  34. Nintendo Power
    Oct 3, 2012
    80
    These are superior versions of already great games, but they don't offer a different enough experience to justify the "2" in their titles. [Oct 2012, p.80]
  35. Oct 2, 2012
    80
    Pokémon White Version 2 is a perfectly fine expansion for people who want more of the original.
  36. Oct 2, 2012
    80
    It's a good-looking DS game as well, slick new presentation and more emphasis on cut-scenes and 3D visuals making this an obvious transitional title on the series' inevitable march towards the 3DS.
  37. Oct 2, 2012
    80
    Pokémon Black 2 and White 2 feel like the "true" versions of Black and White, much as Crystal, Emerald, and Platinum felt like the real versions of their respective generations.
  38. Oct 1, 2012
    80
    Pokémon is as complex as it's ever been but still extremely accessible to those who want to play for the first time. With Black 2 & White 2, Game Freak has actually created an entirely new story to accompany its usual 3rd (and 4th) installment to generation 5. Unfortunately, the story feels like a less enthralling narrative than the original installments.
  39. Oct 1, 2012
    80
    While it's cool to see characters return and discover what's become of them since the last game, the plot feels like an unnecessary retread. The narrative takes a step back, especially when Black and White's story actually had me interested to see what would happen beyond the next gym badge.
  40. Oct 1, 2012
    80
    They still do too little to attract non-fans to the series, but for the vast crowd who have already been taken in by its charms, B&W2 will be yet another excuse to catch 'em all.
  41. Oct 15, 2012
    79
    Ultimately, it's hard to get into these games the way we did when its predecessors hit a year and a half ago, but that doesn't mean that we're not going to keep going until we've exhausted ourselves again.
  42. Mar 20, 2013
    78
    They're still good games, but there's nothing overtly special about them that makes them stand out from the rest of the series or, more importantly, Black and White 1.
  43. Oct 10, 2012
    76
    As for those who played Black and White, the question is: how much Pokémon can you take? If you're rearing to play another Pokémon game, this is a good one. If you're feeling apathetic about the series as it stands, Black and White 2 are not going to change your mind.
  44. Nov 7, 2012
    75
    Overall, I think creating an actual sequel to the existing dual releases seems to be a more interesting approach than simply crafting a third standalone game that offers up refinements but rehashes the general plot and setting, which is pretty much the way handheld Pokémon adventures have operated since the beginning.
  45. Oct 4, 2012
    75
    Normally, I could forgive Pokémon for so poorly handling a fairly legitimate moral issue, but the plot has been so deeply integrated, and spans such a large portion of the game that I really can't let it go.
  46. Oct 1, 2012
    71
    It manages to deliver everything you'd expect out of a Pokémon game, and it's still a decent RPG, but it fails to take any chances or offer real innovation.
  47. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    Actually a good game with a lot of content and many Pokémons to catch. But at the same time it feels as this has been done before, as the layout and many Pokémons are reused from earlier games.
  48. Oct 16, 2012
    70
    It's fun, but grounded in the fond repetition of nostalgia.
  49. Hyper Magazine
    Oct 8, 2012
    70
    You have been here before, and you'll be back again. [Nov 2012, p.74]
  50. Oct 4, 2012
    70
    Ultimately, what I took away from Pokemon White Version 2 was this: that the series, much like the monsters that call it home, desperately needs to evolve.
  51. Oct 2, 2012
    70
    There are times when Pokemon Black and White Version 2 feel a little too familiar, especially when you're exploring the same towns, roads, and caves from the previous game.
  52. 70
    If you've never played a Pokémon game this is an excellent place to jump aboard, and you can add at least one extra point to the score as a result. But for anyone else this is an easy to ignore stopgap.
  53. Oct 1, 2012
    70
    In fact, Black and White 2 takes a major step back from the bravest thing about its predecessor: Its story.
  54. Oct 8, 2012
    65
    For the Poke-Maniacs out there, these two games are easily the definitive versions of this generation, but only because they offer a few added side missions and graphical enhancements. For anyone that played and enjoyed the two games before, Black 2 and White 2 can be skipped without question.
  55. Oct 3, 2012
    65
    The story takes a step backward, and the new game modes aren't that impressive. Mostly, it's just the same ol' Jigglypuff song and dance from Pokemon Black/White 2.
  56. Sep 30, 2012
    65
    Despite being plenty of fun and sporting a few new tweaks, Pokemon White 2 fails to outshine its predecessors.
  57. Oct 19, 2012
    60
    If you are an avid Pokémon fan, what you get with Black & White Version 2 is a true Pokémon experience.

Awards & Rankings

2
2
#2 Most Discussed DS Game of 2012
3
#3 Most Shared DS Game of 2012
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 272 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 272
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    I am shocked. The series has really gone downhill since the 3rd generation, and I expected this to be as bad as black and white. I took theI am shocked. The series has really gone downhill since the 3rd generation, and I expected this to be as bad as black and white. I took the risk anyway and got this game and after beating it I have realized that this may very well be the best Pokemon game of the entire series. It had so many improvements and key features removed from previous games. The story was far better than expected, the Elite Four was a huge improvement from the last game, the gyms were far more interesting to go through, the rival is far more likable, and most of all the regions are all mixed together in this game. From the very beginning generation 1 Pokemon are able to be caught as well as 2-5. I have to say, I've played since Blue version and I never expected something this good. Full Review »
  2. Dec 26, 2012
    1
    I'll admit that I dislike most pokemon that appeared after Silver and Gold but I still bought all of the games and I did enjoy playing them,I'll admit that I dislike most pokemon that appeared after Silver and Gold but I still bought all of the games and I did enjoy playing them, even if my pokemon looked like a lab experiment gone wrong! I managed to get through White but couldn't bring myself to go another lap around the Pokemon White track. Now I've faced my biggest challenge of all, Pokemon White Version 2... I had my doubts when I bought the game and to be honest I shouldn't have tried it but I made that mistake and I can honestly say that this was Terrible. Pokemon is about being able to like your pokemon and be happy and a little proud at how well you're little guys are doing, this game made me want to drown each and every one of the ugly critters. What happened to pokemon that looked cool or cute? Now we have pokemon that are just blobs stuck together and make pained gargling sounds.
    The new Rival system that seems to have come about is tedious as I don't feel the need to beat them like I once did, Oaks grandson thought he was the sun and we all revolved around him, I played that game not to be the best trainer but to knock him from his high horse. When I played Silver my rival was a crook who I was determined to show the error of his ways, even Ruby, which had your rival as a friend was great as it felt fresh and like a new direction. Now we receive the same back story almost like the developers are scared of inter human violence! The game is about animal beating the stuffing out of each other for crying out loud! There are many issues that I have with this game but the bottom line is that I find it unplayable. I am not interested in the pokemon or the characters and I couldn't care less if the Unova region sank into the sea. The thing I realised from this game is that 'Just because you have millions of ideas, doesn't mean you need to show them all off as sometime it destroys what you already had'
    Of course this is just my view on the game. I will always think that the Kento and Johto pokemon are the best.
    Full Review »
  3. LHy
    Sep 28, 2013
    7
    Enjoyed it all around except I was not really keen on the story line, it could of been a lot better in my opinion, but other than that, prettyEnjoyed it all around except I was not really keen on the story line, it could of been a lot better in my opinion, but other than that, pretty okay game, try it out. Full Review »