Pokemon White Version 2 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 272 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the Pokemon White Version 2 game, players can explore new areas, discover gyms with new leaders and see how everything has changed in the last two years.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Pokemon Black Version 2/White Version 2 Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    95
    A second visit to the Unova region doesn't quite hit 100 percent perfection with this series veteran.
  2. Oct 12, 2012
    90
    Pokémon Black Version 2 and Pokémon White Version 2 are technically fantastic, taking the core of a remarkable series and building in all manner of new and intriguing features to keep fans enamoured with what is basically a simple formula rinsed and constantly repeated over the years. The only aspect holding back these first ever direct sequels is the standard of presentation, with only minor upgrades since originally gracing the world over 15 years ago, no matter how much the point is argued. That being said, for the gameplay and story elements alone, this is undoubtedly an essential purchase.
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    85
    Are Pokémon Black and White 2 just as impressive as other Pokémon games? No. Can you enjoy the games just as much as any other Pokémon game? Yes! Pokémon Black and White 2 are refined versions of the first Pokémon Black and White games that offers enough new content to keep you entertained for forty, sixty or even a hundred hours of Pokéfun. Just don't expect any revolutionary changes.
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    80
    It's a good-looking DS game as well, slick new presentation and more emphasis on cut-scenes and 3D visuals making this an obvious transitional title on the series' inevitable march towards the 3DS.
  5. Oct 21, 2012
    80
    Pokémon Black & White 2 is more of an expansion than a true sequel, therefore whoever has played the previous edition might find it less interesting than it really is. Newcomers instead should not be afraid of taking this new, excellent adventure on: not the best Pokémon to date, but damn close.
  6. Oct 10, 2012
    76
    As for those who played Black and White, the question is: how much Pokémon can you take? If you're rearing to play another Pokémon game, this is a good one. If you're feeling apathetic about the series as it stands, Black and White 2 are not going to change your mind.
  7. Oct 19, 2012
    60
    If you are an avid Pokémon fan, what you get with Black & White Version 2 is a true Pokémon experience.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    I am shocked. The series has really gone downhill since the 3rd generation, and I expected this to be as bad as black and white. I took theI am shocked. The series has really gone downhill since the 3rd generation, and I expected this to be as bad as black and white. I took the risk anyway and got this game and after beating it I have realized that this may very well be the best Pokemon game of the entire series. It had so many improvements and key features removed from previous games. The story was far better than expected, the Elite Four was a huge improvement from the last game, the gyms were far more interesting to go through, the rival is far more likable, and most of all the regions are all mixed together in this game. From the very beginning generation 1 Pokemon are able to be caught as well as 2-5. I have to say, I've played since Blue version and I never expected something this good. Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Ah, Pokemon White 2. Recently I have done a soul link nuzlocke on this game with a friend and what can I say, this game is absolutely amazing.Ah, Pokemon White 2. Recently I have done a soul link nuzlocke on this game with a friend and what can I say, this game is absolutely amazing. When playing this over discord with a friend, the dialogue in the game and interactions with other characters suddenly becomes hilarious and can make for many inside jokes. Even by itself, this game is a blast to play through, with a fun main campaign and so much to do once you have become the champion. I can't think of any other Pokemon game that comes close to this one in regards to post game content (excluding the second region in the Johto games). Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. Franchise veterans will love the extremely polished mechanics like the simplification of nature breeding, better pacing, andAmazing game. Franchise veterans will love the extremely polished mechanics like the simplification of nature breeding, better pacing, and achievement system (Medals). Younger gamers and newcomers will find the presentation quite astonishing, especially for a DS title. The 3D cut scenes are really cool and will blow you away. Lots of replay value, beautiful in-game sprites, the World Tournament, the new Move Tutors, hidden burrows, incredible music, gym layouts, and many other simple tweaks like the sunlight blinding you when you come out of a building or cave make this game a perfect one in my eyes. It is the ultimate realization of the Pokémon formula. Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    Advancing on the already set up story in White & Black, Pokemon B/W2 steps more int he right direction for the series. With harder challenges,Advancing on the already set up story in White & Black, Pokemon B/W2 steps more int he right direction for the series. With harder challenges, and interesting tournament mode, and mix of Pokemon from all regions, going back to Unova already isn't as bad as it seems. Collapse
  5. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    I've always been a massive fan of the Pokemon series, so I guess it might be a little biased. But I absolutely love this game. New featuresI've always been a massive fan of the Pokemon series, so I guess it might be a little biased. But I absolutely love this game. New features like Pokestar Studios might be a little unnecessary, but the game itself is a triumph. I'm still addicted after months of getting it. Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2017
    9
    Mezclar la grandísima historia de los Pokémon Blanco y Negro y unirla con todos los Pokémon de la saga hace de este un juego extremadamenteMezclar la grandísima historia de los Pokémon Blanco y Negro y unirla con todos los Pokémon de la saga hace de este un juego extremadamente divertido. Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2018
    1
    One of the worst pokemon games. Do not play it: nothing to do anywhere, horrible story, ugly even for a handheld game, almost no new contentOne of the worst pokemon games. Do not play it: nothing to do anywhere, horrible story, ugly even for a handheld game, almost no new content except at the very start that's super slow, less daring than black white 1, nothing new or different, ulgy characters. Now that the game is almost a decade old, you may find younger people pretending otherwise, but those are just blinded by nostalgia, there's at least 15 mainline pokemon games better to play than this one. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

2
2
#2 Most Discussed DS Game of 2012
3
#3 Most Shared DS Game of 2012